PDA

View Full Version : How come Sam's sniper can't zoom like other snipers.



stealthmaster736
10-16-2004, 08:00 PM
I don't get it.In SC Sam's sniper couldn't zoom at all.And in SC:PT Sam's sniper only had 3 zoom modes.How come Sam's sniper can't zoom like snipers in other games.Is this different in SC:CT.

stealthmaster736
10-16-2004, 08:00 PM
I don't get it.In SC Sam's sniper couldn't zoom at all.And in SC:PT Sam's sniper only had 3 zoom modes.How come Sam's sniper can't zoom like snipers in other games.Is this different in SC:CT.

Desert Hawk
10-16-2004, 08:04 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by stealthmaster736:
I don't get it.In SC Sam's sniper couldn't zoom at all.And in SC:PT Sam's sniper only had 3 zoom modes.How come Sam's sniper can't zoom like snipers in other games.Is this different in SC:CT. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

In CT you'll only be able to zoom in sniper mode, i believe. This is going on the E3 video back in may, but it doesn't seem to have changed.

Zikor4
10-16-2004, 08:11 PM
You could most deffinetly zoom in SC1 I'm 99,999999999999999% positive.

As for CT I've also heard what Desert Hawk is saying, that only in sniper mode, you'll be able to zoom for real, I don't know about the other modes, maybe the zoom will be limited for those, but when the gun is in sniping mode, it should zoom just like the old games.

stealthmaster736
10-16-2004, 08:16 PM
I'm not talking about the other modes like shotgun and stuff.I mean just the plain sniper like in the first 2 SC's.You couldn't zoom in SC1.

KU_
10-16-2004, 08:18 PM
Well, considering this is a stealth game and all, IMHO you shouldn't be sniping people any ways.

stealthmaster736
10-16-2004, 08:22 PM
Uh...sniping was extrememly useful in the first 2 SC's.How does it make the game not stealthy.

KU_
10-16-2004, 08:25 PM
Well, let's see. Your not exactly supposed to b going around getting headshots. This isn't a FPS ya know.

Zikor4
10-16-2004, 08:28 PM
KU_ I disagree, there's nothing like a well placed long distance head shot IMO. But don't think I do it all the time http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Can someone clarify that you could or could not zoom in SC1? If I'm wrong, and you can't snipe, then please, someone... Shoot me...

If you can't snipe in SC1, there's something wrong with my game...

lex727
10-16-2004, 09:09 PM
Yep. You can snipe in SC1. Easily. But games do run differently on different machines. Although this is strange.

KU_
10-16-2004, 09:12 PM
Yea, you can snipe in SC1. So don't worry, your sane. (For now! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif) I agree sorta. I enjoy putting a bullet to the skull, but I much rather prefer using stealth to sneak past.

bballkid1289
10-16-2004, 09:14 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>You couldn't zoom in SC1. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Uh...sniping was extrememly useful in the first 2 SC's <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


In your first post, u put that you couldnt zoom, while in the 2nd post you put that itr was usefull. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Nightmarecast24
10-16-2004, 09:56 PM
im a sniping fanatic I must say. I am stealthy and all but I dunno... it is something about seeing a gaurd's head move back and forth while on patrol, it is like a shooting range at a carnival or something... if you have the means then you will use them(I will anyway), so i will be sniping and all in SCCT, like I said before in previous posts, everyone will tear this game apart with killing and headshots and shotguns and grenades and such eventually, maybe not at first but you will, if not then Ubi wasted their time giving you the chance and choice to do so, I will utilize everything Ubi put in SCCT like I did with the first 2 games, I will be playing SCCT for a long time.

cellfan88
10-16-2004, 11:20 PM
this is a little http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/353.gif but im going to ask this anyway instead of making a new thread. When Sam holds his breath does he stay completely still? I always thought it was a little unrealistic. I think he should still move a little.

chaos_theory16
10-17-2004, 12:45 AM
Well, first of all, yes both SC and SC:PT do allow you to zoom in with the sniper. And why would they include the SC-20K if there was no sniping. I also liked it a lot better when you were allowed to zoom in three times and then zoom out three times. That was awesome. Does anyone know if being able to zoom in more than once is in the game...

PhilosopherCop
10-17-2004, 04:04 AM
I hope you can zoom in

SoulFire382
10-17-2004, 05:35 AM
Yes, you can snipe in SCCT, assuming that it hasn't changed since E3 in may.
It also zoomed much smoother, not with just 3 increments.

Cheeserdude
10-17-2004, 07:34 AM
From what I saw, you could zooom in 15 TIMES http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Cheeserdude
10-17-2004, 07:35 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by cellfan88:
this is a little http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/353.gif but im going to ask this anyway instead of making a new thread. When Sam holds his breath does he stay completely still? I always thought it was a little unrealistic. I think he should still move a little. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
True.

PhilosopherCop
10-17-2004, 08:00 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Cheeserdude:
From what I saw, you could zooom in 15 TIMES http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Where and great if that is true!

Are binoculars in again?

Zikor4
10-17-2004, 08:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PhilosopherCop:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Cheeserdude:
From what I saw, you could zooom in 15 TIMES http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Where and great if that is true!

Are binoculars in again? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Binoculars are still in yea, I remember reading about it some while ago, but seriously I think the binoculars thing is a feature on Sam's über 1337 googles, I don't think he's running around with binoculars...

I don't know about the zooming, but it would be cool if the zooming action was very smooth, and didn't have like 3 levels of zoom like in PT.

PhilosopherCop
10-17-2004, 08:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zikor4:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PhilosopherCop:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Cheeserdude:
From what I saw, you could zooom in 15 TIMES http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Where and great if that is true!

Are binoculars in again? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Binoculars are still in yea, I remember reading about it some while ago, but seriously I think the binoculars thing is a feature on Sam's über 1337 googles, I don't think he's running around with binoculars...

I don't know about the zooming, but it would be cool if the zooming action was very smooth, and didn't have like 3 levels of zoom like in PT. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Glad that Binoculars are in again

FXH Reaper
10-18-2004, 12:04 PM
i love the binoculars but i only snipe when a guy is in darkness and ive tried different things to get past but fail and thats when i snipe http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

pdogsniper
10-18-2004, 12:48 PM
when you have your SC-20K, You don't need to be able to zoom past the 3rd mark (6x). when you have the 20 mm sniper attachment, you should have more zoom power though. otherwise you won't be able to get the full capability of the attachment. and if you are using this attachment, it's probably going to be only for long range applications where the enemy won't be able to hear where the shot originated from. let the distance mop up any sound. If you need to use more than the 6x while using the 5.56 round, you're too far away, and should be able to sneak up to him, or go past the guard without being noticed.

Zikor4
10-19-2004, 01:51 PM
The SC20K is silences always except when in shotgun mode right?

Xan-99
10-19-2004, 01:56 PM
You know whats stupid, even though this is a steath game, and your only one man against many, how easy it is to just shoot everyone on a map, admittedly Sc A.I sucks but still, maybe they should tone down the effectiveness of an automatic weapon in a stealth game, or atleast make it so the guard are capable of fighting back....

Zikor4
10-19-2004, 02:21 PM
I think the guards will quickly take cover if they find out someone is shooting at them, and then call for backup, and then systematicly search for you... And they will deffinetly fight back, I think an alarm would kill you, caus the guards is getting so much more tough. And I dont think Sam can take as many bullets as in previous games...

Xan-99
10-19-2004, 02:32 PM
Good, and i hope that whole "Stage 1 flak jacket on" is gone too, if they have flak jackets why not wear them all the time.... not that it made any difference, due the stupid a.i every shot was a sniper shot.

Terrax213
10-19-2004, 02:40 PM
An option to allow no alarms whatsoever would be a nice addition .. do away with the 3 strikes and you're out rubbish. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Real NSA spies wouldn't get leeway like that.

Xan-99
10-19-2004, 02:45 PM
Nah that would be bad too, and if they had the random failures again it would drive you mad, what would be better is, if your seen they up defenses, start camping out doors/turning on lights that sort of thing, so it makes it harder without this stupid, oh you got seen 3 times, thats it your out, i mean once isn't enough?

Xan-99
10-19-2004, 02:51 PM
Oh i also hated the non lethal attack only thing.. So your're allowed to be seen, allowed to beat the guy in the face till he falls unconious, shoot out lights, and run past people, but shoot one and its mission failure.... now surely it's worse to leave a witness than a corpse...

NSA Agent
10-19-2004, 02:52 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Nah that would be bad too, and if they had the random failures again it would drive you mad, what would be better is, if your seen they up defenses, start camping out doors/turning on lights that sort of thing, so it makes it harder without this stupid, oh you got seen 3 times, thats it your out, i mean once isn't enough? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I agree, once your spotted and an alarm is raised to an entire infantry your presence is already known. Who knows, with what we have seen on the AI for CT, they may have these features, almost certainly uprising the security. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

collywog2004
10-19-2004, 02:56 PM
Well, In SCCT they aren't doing the level check for bodies in the open, at certain points, like in the previous games so you shouldn't get random failures.

I liked the increased defenses, if an alarm went off, but if there were armies gaurding something, they would definately check out the alarm, not just put something on, and carry on as normal http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

Xan-99
10-19-2004, 03:02 PM
Oh yeah, i loved that, i killed everyone in a building where the only way in was from a window, yet somehow someone found them, even though i was blocking the only path there.....

mikeiron0404
10-19-2004, 05:33 PM
I heard the the AI "remembers" past events, so if you make a sound they'll be suspicios, and if you make another sound, they'll be twice as suspicious because the heard the sound before, blah blah. so yeah, they probably have some cool alarm thing
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif