PDA

View Full Version : nv4_disp error



MagnusBergner
10-05-2007, 07:15 AM
After some short time of playing the game it freezes, nothing moves except the cursor, I can also hear the music playing in the background.

One of the few times I've been able to exit the game to the Desktop I got the error message that nv4_disp driver malfunctioned. I think this happened each time the game froze.

I have a MSI GF7950GT fanless graphics card on an AMD X2 3800 system with 2 GB of mem.

Anybody else with a similar problem or have you all been able to solve it?

pakkasherra10
10-05-2007, 07:28 AM
yes http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif...
look at this post :
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=60610...481073595#1481073595 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=6061083365&m=3281038395&r=1481073595#1481073595)

OlaHaldor
10-05-2007, 09:43 AM
What version of the display-driver are you using ? If you're running some old driver, get over to nVidia ASAP and get a new driver, try that instead.


THOUGH

If you're running on the newest driver, try downgrading to somewhat older driver - it may often be the simple touch that's needed. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

MagnusBergner
10-05-2007, 10:18 AM
Problem first occurred on 92.?? version driver, tried newest nvidia then (163.??), still the same, tried 162.?? version just now with same result. It's not a heat problem, for although I'm running fanless the temp doesn't exceed 90 degrees centigrade.

I can run a bit longer if I save the game every few minutes but Even then it eventually crashes. Just now tried running the game with NO other program running, shut down EVERYthing, including explorer. Still hangs with nothing but a pointer and the sound still working.

PS. also updated the rest of my system drivers, chipset, networking and sound.

BTOG46
10-05-2007, 10:25 AM
90 centigrade!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif if that's correct it's a wonder it hasn't blown, surely you must mean fahrenheit.

antny129
10-05-2007, 10:28 AM
I have the same issues and I think until they patch it again try this:

I saw this somewhere posted here and it worked for me also

quicksave every 1/2 hour and pause game then alt-tab to desktop click back in then repeat every half hour.

I got through 2 hours of playing doing this without crashing. Without doing this the same thing that happened to you happens to my comp also.

MagnusBergner
10-05-2007, 10:36 AM
The card is rated to work up to 120 degrees centigrade according to the box. Have never seen it go above 95, ever.

Have thought that maybe it was a heat problem and tried mounting a fan (80mm I had in a box) on the card. Didn't do squat besides chilling the card 40+ degrees and seemingly crashing the game sooner. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

MagnusBergner
10-05-2007, 10:39 AM
Yea, I have noticed that saving the game often seems to help it not crash. I'll have to try that exiting the game bit next. Haven't even managed to get passed mission 2 due to crashes. It's slowly driving me insane. *Foams at mouth*

pennyuk
10-05-2007, 10:51 AM
If you Google this error you will find literally 100s of people with the same thing,going back as far as 2001.I had this problem with an older Nvidia card and got so frustrated I binned the card and bought another,as no driver or supposed fix did any good.

It drove me insane for over 2 weeks I got no error messages on screen,so literally had no idea where to even start to look,I couldnt stay in a game for more than 9 minutes before my pc froze and rebooted,yet a friend with an identical spec PC playing the same game never had any such problems.

antny129
10-05-2007, 11:00 AM
no, I think its a software issue.

The devs probably pushed the limits of some feature of the video card in the game. They just need to tweak it a little I think.

or maybe a memory leak, I don't know.

But all my other games work fine with this card. When C&C3 came out it was a nightmare to with crashing and in a few weeks the devs had it all worked out.

I am sure these guys here will get the job done as well.

MagnusBergner
10-05-2007, 11:50 AM
I've tried installing .NET 3.5, didn't work. I'm now trying the Driver Cleaner approach to see if that works.

Maybe It will work a little better with a complete removal of all disp driver wreckage before installing the newest driver.

pakkasherra10
10-05-2007, 11:52 AM
Originally posted by MagnusBergner:
I've tried installing .NET 3.5, didn't work. I'm now trying the Driver Cleaner approach to see if that works.

Maybe It will work a little better with a complete removal of all disp driver wreckage before installing the newest driver.

that won't work ! I tried to use Driver cleaner and reinstalled the latest version of the drivers but that failed!

Please developpers : FIND A SOLUTION !

pakkasherra10
10-05-2007, 02:33 PM
up!

Still have the problem, no solution right now

pennyuk
10-05-2007, 03:09 PM
You expect one at 10PM on a Friday evening??

MagnusBergner
10-05-2007, 04:54 PM
Originally posted by pennyuk:
You expect one at 10PM on a Friday evening??

What, Developers don't work 24 hours a day, 7 days a week...? I'm shocked. I thought you guys (and girls) were superhuman. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

antny129
10-05-2007, 04:58 PM
Yeah, its only 7PM here in US (New York City)

SunSpot
10-07-2007, 07:45 AM
I have the same error with a Nvidea 7900 gfx card. As mentioned before there are two causes to this error.

a) bad driver that can't handle some calls
b) bad programming of the use of the driver

I'm actually hoping it's b) cause that CAN be fixed

pakkasherra10
10-07-2007, 08:24 AM
Originally posted by SunSpot:
I have the same error with a Nvidea 7900 gfx card. As mentioned before there are two causes to this error.

a) bad driver that can't handle some calls
b) bad programming of the use of the driver

I'm actually hoping it's b) cause that CAN be fixed

I think it comes from the game. I have no problem with other games I play Bioshock, Stalker etc. without problem.

Drivers aren't adapted for the game and the game has a bad programming.

I don't understand why they sell a game which doesn't work : it is full of bugs.. it's a joke or they take us for sheeps..that sucks.

Then we have NO feedbacks from developpers !!!!!

I'd like to go to german forums because the community is more active. Maybe we could find issues but I don't speak german..

pennyuk
10-07-2007, 08:32 AM
You dont have to speak German go and ask a question in English,if anyone can help you they will always answer you,but dont expect a member of the dev team to reply http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

pakkasherra10
10-07-2007, 08:55 AM
Ok.

I've posted a message in the German forum
http://forums-de.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3451082194/m/3241000695

If someone would like to improve my post because my english skills are limited, tell me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

BTOG46
10-07-2007, 09:16 AM
Originally posted by antny129:
Yeah, its only 7PM here in US (New York City)

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif
At the time penny posted that it was already gone 11pm where the Devs are though http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Oedi057
10-09-2007, 04:57 AM
I am not sure if you are running two monitors however i was getting this problem and what i did was disabled my second monitor and it has seamed to go away.