PDA

View Full Version : Few Game Questions



Felicity_V
12-16-2007, 02:50 PM
Hi there http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I'm sorry in advance for this annoying topic but if any of you could help I'd much appreciate it.

I'm looking at buying Assassins Creed but before i spend the money I'd just like to know what I'm in for from you people who own and play it...

1) Is the game open world? Like do you have to be doing missions at every particular moment or can you have free roam and do what you wish like GTA etc? Can you just go from city to city at any time you like?

2) I've searched around and seen a lot of topics about game freezes and updates being needed etc. I would be buying this game on PS3 but my PS3 is "old" (one of the first batches out) and i do not have access to broadband internet for it so i cannot download any updates onto it. Considering that is it still worth getting the game? Is it going to freeze up uncontrollably or something?

3) How many missions roughly is there? As i do not have access to online multiplayer gaming i will be stuck to single player only so is the game worth the cost for that alone? (I don't even know if it has multiplayer - just checking).


Thanks heaps for any help!!

Defender219
12-16-2007, 03:37 PM
I do not have the game, but believe me, I have seen every interview, every gameplay video, every review. 1) Yes, you can free roam anywhere you want, but in the beginning, I think you have to unlock some cities?
2) The game should be fine, if it isn't just return it for a new one.
3) It is only single player but it's one helluva ride!

spazzoo1025
12-16-2007, 06:24 PM
unlike Defender, I have the game, so

1. Yes it's open, you always have a mission, but you can do anything you want first.
2. It might freeze a bit (i have a 360) but from what I've read, only 2 or 3 ppl have had it so bad they've had to restart their PS3's like 20 times.
3. There's 9 main targets, each having up to 6 missions for each, plus assassination. Also, there's saving citizens which is probably 10+ mroe missions per city

ebassist
12-16-2007, 07:00 PM
Well saying ten more "missions" is a bit misleading. Essentially you have nine targets and during each of these missions you can opt to take up small tasks, which are the same each mission.

Whether you view these tasks as a bore or fun is down to your personal opinions.

Felicity_V
12-16-2007, 08:06 PM
<span class="ev_code_PINK">Thanks for the replies guys, much appreciated! Reading all these threads about the freezing issues really has me worried though.. My PS3 has never had its firmware etc updated from standard due to no access to broadband and i wont be able to download game updates either, so this is seeming like a huge risk... The occaisional freeze i can live with but everyone seems to be making out it happens every 20 minutes or something http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif Don't know what to do here...</span>

BTOG46
12-16-2007, 08:12 PM
The best thing might be to rent it first and see if it runs ok for you. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Felicity_V
12-16-2007, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by BTOG46:
The best thing might be to rent it first and see if it runs ok for you. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Yep that would be ideal but i live in a very rural area of Australia and its hard enough to get mobile phone network coverage, let alone a video rental store! haha

BTOG46
12-16-2007, 08:45 PM
hmm, that explaind why you say you can't download game updates, I take it there's no broadband there?
There is a way to download updates through your computers internet connection, it's explained on this thread here.
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/4721051016/m/9251047516
But it will be slow on a dial up connection.

Felicity_V
12-16-2007, 08:54 PM
Originally posted by BTOG46:
hmm, that explaind why you say you can't download game updates, I take it there's no broadband there?
There is a way to download updates through your computers internet connection, it's explained on this thread here.
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/4721051016/m/9251047516
But it will be slow on a dial up connection.

Ok thanks for the link, I'll check it out.

As for the freezes though, are they as bad as people are making out, like if it happened 5 or so times over the course of the 20hrs or so it takes to complete then i wouldnt care, but some people are acting like its every few minutes?

BTOG46
12-16-2007, 09:24 PM
You'll have to ask others about that, I'm still waiting for the Pc version, but a lot here have said they have no problems.
The thing to remember is that people who can run the game ok aren't likely to post saying the game runs fine, but those with problems do post complaints, and often make multiple posts about it, so it's easy to get a false idea of how well a game runs.

Robbinho1992
12-17-2007, 12:12 AM
If it did froze (got ps3 version), it was like ater a 4 hour period of playing it non stop, and maybe 5 times overall. But since the new patch its been fine. So its up to you.