PDA

View Full Version : Problem With Windows Vista



hockeyfreak862
02-09-2008, 11:35 PM
I am having a problem with this game on windows vista 64bit i re-installed the game and applied patch 1.4 i am using a MSI 8800gts 640 w/ a 600w psu Intel core 2 quad 2.4 4gb ram. The problem is i cannot get to the menu, i can see the opening 2 videos from ubisoft and the one that is silent hunter, after that the screen goes blank, by the way no other game i have does this like crysis FSX BF2 etc., and in a min it says SH4 has stopped responding. I had the game working on a Temp Card that was an 8400gs but i don't use that anymore as i have an 8800gts. Any Help would be nice thanks.

Yooperbacker
02-10-2008, 12:17 AM
Hello hockeyfreak862, I believe you have to install the Directx that came with the game. It won't mess with your Directx 10 but adds some dll files you are missing. If I remember right this may fix your problem.

hockeyfreak862
02-10-2008, 11:08 AM
It is still doing this after i installed the Direct x on the disk. Keep in Mind im using the 64bit and it was working on an 8400gs. By the way i waited 1 min on the black screen, and i can hear the menu music but i cannot see it

hockeyfreak862
02-10-2008, 02:34 PM
Can anyone PLEASE help!

StaticEclipse
02-10-2008, 08:55 PM
I had a problem with Battlefield 2142 with Vista and the 8800GT OC. There is an issue with the 8800 card and some games. There is a patch out there. I'm sorry I don't remember where. I'd just google it. I think it was a vista64 website that gave me the link to a patch from microsoft. Lots of people had this issue. I moved my 8800 to a new pc with vista 32 and still had the same issue as I did with vista 64.

Frank_Oconnor
02-10-2008, 08:55 PM
I'm assuming you have anti-aliasing set at 4X.

If so, set it at ANY OTHER value.

Worked for me.

StaticEclipse
02-10-2008, 09:51 PM
Great info can be found at http://www.vistax64.com

The solution for my 8800 problems was found at http://www.nvidia.com/object/windows_vista_hotfixes.html
#2 fixed my problem.

Microsoft Windows Vista Hotfixes

Microsoft® has made available the following Windows Vista® hotfixes. NVIDIA recommends that its customers always stay up to date with the latest hotfixes from Microsoft.

The following hotfixes are recommended for GeForce 6, 7, and 8 series customers running 3D applications on Microsoft Windows Vista:

1) *NEW* Hotfix for GeForce SLI customers running DirectX 9 and DirectX 10 applications:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/945149. This hotfix resolves some scenarios in which the performance of games can be lower than expected when running in SLI mode. This performance fix does not apply to all scenarios and games.

2) Hotfix for GeForce customers running DirectX 9 and DirectX 10 applications:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/940105. This hotfix resolves abnormal application behavior such as crashes and extremely low frame rates when running some 3D applications at very high graphics settings. This issue is not limited to, but has been most commonly noticed on high-end graphics cards and the following applications: Battlefield 2, Battlefield 2142, Civilization IV, Company of Heroes, Half-Life 2, Lord of the Rings: The Battle for Middle Earth II, Supreme Commander, and Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas.

In order for this hotfix to be effective, GeForce customers must also update to the latest Release 163 or later Vista drivers:

3) Hotfix for SLI customers running DirectX 10 applications:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/936710. This hotfix resolves occurrences of low frame rates on some DirectX 10 applications when SLI is enabled. Performance improvements will vary depending on the application and the graphics driver version.

4) Hotfix for GeForce customers:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/938194. This hotfix improves the compatibility and reliability of Windows Vista. It can be downloaded from this link or from Windows Update.

5) Hotfix for GeForce customers:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/938979. This hotfix improves the performance and reliability of Windows Vista. It can be downloaded from this link or from Windows Update.

hockeyfreak862
02-11-2008, 04:49 PM
i have all these hot fixes installed. And how am i supposed to change the AA when i cant get to the menu? I still cannot get into the main menu.

Frank_Oconnor
02-12-2008, 09:09 PM
Ummm ...

1. You said you have an Nvidia video card

2. If so, open the Nvidia Control Panel.

3. Change the anti-aliasing to any value except 4x in that Control Panel. (Hint: 4X is the default setting for Quality, and if you set the puppy for Balanced it will be a generic 2X)

In other words ... my advice still stands, and this fixed the puppy for me.

Regards,

hockeyfreak862
02-13-2008, 04:06 PM
Frank you're my hero. ET ITS WORKING!!!!

Frank_Oconnor
02-14-2008, 12:44 AM
Excellent.

Now whack a few mods on the puppy (the various ROW modules for example improve the graphics, TM makes the game play a tad more challenging etc) and enjoy.

Regards,