PDA

View Full Version : Cannot load Splinter cell



quiksilver77
03-06-2004, 05:54 AM
This problem is driving me up the wall. I installed Splinter Cell the other day, applied the v1.2 patch and eveything worked fine (got to the CIA level). Switch off, went to work and came back to continue and the game wont work.

The game loads to the 1st splash screen, then the second, after that I get the WinXP critical stop sound and I go back to the desktop.

I re-installed windows xp, same problem only this time I cannot patch Splinter Cell, when I goto chose my language it says "Could not retrieve version number".

Im running compatable hardware, drivers, and DX9.0 (it worked only a day ago!!) - any suggestions would be greatly appreciated - I've tried everything I can think of.

quiksilver77
03-06-2004, 05:54 AM
This problem is driving me up the wall. I installed Splinter Cell the other day, applied the v1.2 patch and eveything worked fine (got to the CIA level). Switch off, went to work and came back to continue and the game wont work.

The game loads to the 1st splash screen, then the second, after that I get the WinXP critical stop sound and I go back to the desktop.

I re-installed windows xp, same problem only this time I cannot patch Splinter Cell, when I goto chose my language it says "Could not retrieve version number".

Im running compatable hardware, drivers, and DX9.0 (it worked only a day ago!!) - any suggestions would be greatly appreciated - I've tried everything I can think of.

WhiteKnight77
03-06-2004, 05:11 PM
Post your DxDiag here for more help.

Staff GhostRecon.net (http://www.ghostrecon.net) | Aggression (http://www.agr-s.com)
WhiteKnight77 (http://whiteknight77.homestead.com/index.html) | Team Aggression (http://teamaggression.homestead.com/index.html)
http://whiteknight77.homestead.com/files/wksig01.gif
"I don't know where I'm going, but I hope I know where I am when I get there.