PDA

View Full Version : Graphics =( not bad but not stunning either



XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 03:15 AM
I really liked the game so far, but the thing that just ticks me off is the graphics. I believe the graphics has been toned downed way too much. It doesn't really feel right when I play. The only weapon in the game that looks as if the DEVs took a while on is the m4 because it looks quite awesome and same with the sa80, mp5, smp5. But there are some weapon model problems such as the shotgun which you can see the hand is out of place and it is not holding it. Also the ak looks bad because of the hand model. The snipers suck too because u cant prone. I think these problems could have been improved and the surrounding walls, cars, and first person suits or camo could have been more detailed even though it lags, who cares it was just like Halo where sometimes it didn't run smooth but fps isn't what I think is important. The feel of more detailed realism is what I think that counts. I have no reason to brag or whine about this to the DEVs and everyone because they really did make a awesome game and worked extremely hard on it, but I think they shouldn't say the graphics are stunning because they really aren't. I wish there was some way to have like a patch or some new update by a disc (because I don't have live) to help the graphics and make it like splinter cell because splinter cell didn't always have a smooth fps but it was still good. It would be funny and tight if this version was a pre alpha build of the real game because it seems like the game was made too quickly and there was no time to do finishing touches.

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 03:15 AM
I really liked the game so far, but the thing that just ticks me off is the graphics. I believe the graphics has been toned downed way too much. It doesn't really feel right when I play. The only weapon in the game that looks as if the DEVs took a while on is the m4 because it looks quite awesome and same with the sa80, mp5, smp5. But there are some weapon model problems such as the shotgun which you can see the hand is out of place and it is not holding it. Also the ak looks bad because of the hand model. The snipers suck too because u cant prone. I think these problems could have been improved and the surrounding walls, cars, and first person suits or camo could have been more detailed even though it lags, who cares it was just like Halo where sometimes it didn't run smooth but fps isn't what I think is important. The feel of more detailed realism is what I think that counts. I have no reason to brag or whine about this to the DEVs and everyone because they really did make a awesome game and worked extremely hard on it, but I think they shouldn't say the graphics are stunning because they really aren't. I wish there was some way to have like a patch or some new update by a disc (because I don't have live) to help the graphics and make it like splinter cell because splinter cell didn't always have a smooth fps but it was still good. It would be funny and tight if this version was a pre alpha build of the real game because it seems like the game was made too quickly and there was no time to do finishing touches.

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 03:17 AM
Get monster cables, you will notice a HUGE difference

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 03:54 AM
Huh? Monster cable? What's that? Does it have to do with multi-player? I was talking about single player. But what is this monster cable and how does it help?

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 03:55 AM
Monster cables are like, graphics enhancers. They increase the graphic quality 70%. Try and pick em up. 30$ i think, i use them and the results are totally amazing. No more jaggies for me =p

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 04:07 AM
How are the graphics enhanced when you played this game. EXAMPLE: how do the graphics on cars and environment look because when i play they have like no detail on them such as the second level in the tunnel the cars are not very detailed. The walls on some levels show what looks like to me like 16 bit colors because i can see other colors on walls that are supposed to be like blue. I don't really have probs with jaggedness but anyway how does this cable enhance. Can you be more specific =) because I don't want to buy this cable right away and lose 50 bucks because i don't know how it will enhance it.

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 01:52 PM
Do you sell monster cables or summat?

Higher grade cables will increase deffinition which, if anything, will increase jaggies as the edges will be more defined.

The jaggies on the shadows are a bit bad but thats because there real time shadows and not just a map, ray tracing uses quite a bit of processor power so they can keep the frame rate up by reducing the quality of the ray trace.
Overall i dont find em too bad, but i have been playing my PS2 alot recently /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

Liquid

"Dont be fooled Timmy, if the cow had a chance he'd kill you and everyone you love"

Most Looking forward to :-
http://www.ireland1.plus.com/images/FSW.jpg (http://www.fullspectrumwarrior.com)

XBL comedy club presents:-
"Don't forget, if you use the binoculars, you can't get a very good gun"
"Shut your British mouth and lets play"
"Threat indicator, That is so G*Y"
"Okay, it just makes it easier for me to kill you"

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 02:35 PM
the graphics and lighting lighting engine are the same as Splinter Cell's. you're gonna tell me that Splinter Cell's graphics and lighting sucks too?

<center>http://www.msnusers.com/mypicture?user=4263~5AAAAAxAACJVV0sSvYhVmux9B!p1C4 tfLs4GekE6WJeVNW!8NsVSRt!g$$~5AAAAAyAAE5jq1TN73tOS xMSS6w7Hb5*XjRJQLN2iVOGY$

<center>NSAagent's Respect List

<center>Beer
<center>Liquor
<center>Wine

<center><marquee loop="infinite" bgcolor="black" width=300> Why must I be surrounded by frickin' idiots? - dr. evil </marquee>

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 03:01 PM
The cables contain a small piece of gold, EXTRMELY SMALL, which is a good conductor or something. I read somewhere that this helps enhance the graphics. But it gets rid of the jaggies for sure, haven't seen one since i got the game, and i'm using the cables

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 07:18 PM
The only reason people think this game has worse graphics then raven shield is because of its lower resolution. But go and put raven shield on 640x480 and you'll soon see the xbox version has better graphics.

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 08:14 PM
I have the game running on a 42 inch plasma TV on 480p, and the $40 composite monster cables, and I think the game looks really good. The only things that are not good are the character models and most of the cars, but the lighting and the maps are amazing. I really have no complaints.

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 08:21 PM
crispychris420 wrote:
- I have the game running on a 42 inch plasma TV on
- 480p, and the $40 composite monster cables, and I
- think the game looks really good. The only things
- that are not good are the character models and most
- of the cars, but the lighting and the maps are
- amazing. I really have no complaints.


and another satisfied customer....

please come again

<center>http://www.msnusers.com/mypicture?user=4263~5AAAAAxAACJVV0sSvYhVmux9B!p1C4 tfLs4GekE6WJeVNW!8NsVSRt!g$$~5AAAAAyAAE5jq1TN73tOS xMSS6w7Hb5*XjRJQLN2iVOGY$

<center>NSAagent's Respect List

<center>Beer
<center>Liquor
<center>Wine

<center><marquee loop="infinite" bgcolor="black" width=300> Why must I be surrounded by frickin' idiots? - dr. evil </marquee>

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 08:23 PM
Did you mean this: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3056294535&category=41015

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 08:39 PM
No, there are five plugs on the one I have, but it's something like that. The cables are great though.

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 09:29 PM
question about the monster cables - do they make the graphics too clear?

I remember hooking my DreamCast to my monitor and realising that now I was seeing the game how it wasn't intended. Things like Sega Rally looked clean and crisp - alas it made all the naff things like cardboard cutout drivers look 10x worse!

Slightly concerned that a high-def cable will affect the look the designers intended.

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 10:49 PM
I have advanced cables and my game looks great on a 31 inch TV. If your TV can support S-video or Component video and you have surround sound with 5.1 optical the game is stunning, IMHO. I'm also looking at buying a new RCA TV that claims to be "Xbox Ready". After the salesman threw me his best pitch, I decided the stupid #uck didn't know $hit, and www.rca.com (http://www.rca.com) doesn't know much more. But what I did find out is that the TV comes with special cables that only work on that TV and with an Xbox, and for the same price as any other 32". Anyone know any more? I'd appreciate any news.

Oh and the TV says "Xbox Ready" right on it, which appeals to my sense of feng shui.

XyZspineZyX
11-06-2003, 10:57 PM
The game looks great on my TV and it's 42 inches, which would definitley show any imperfections because of the size alone. I use RTCW as my example. Before I got the cables to run at 480p the game was really blurry and almoat unplayable and now it is crystal clear. I was very impressed. I'm sure you will be too.

XyZspineZyX
11-07-2003, 05:48 AM
I noticed that weapons and walls have lots of jaggies and UGH! Will these cables get rid of all the jaggies I'm facing with this game?

Oh and NSA-Agent Splinter cell is way different graphics compared to Rs3. RS#'s shadows are basically more toned down and u can see lots of jaggs on it. Splinter cells lighting was only good because they put lots of detail inot it not like rs3. You can tell because splinter cell doesn't run smooth all the time. But the ps2 versions of splinter cell runs smoother because graphics are toned down. So its the same with Rs3

XyZspineZyX
11-07-2003, 08:03 AM
The jaggies will NOT go away. The Splinter Cell engine will not allow the Devs to use FSAA(Anti-Aliasing) for the Xbox.

The better your tv, the worse they will look. The better the cables, the worse the jaggies will look. The monsters are abrand that is overpriced crap for the most part.

Save some $$ and try Acoustic research component cables. Don't fall for gimics people.

I just learned that anti-aliasing can't be implemented on Xbox for splinter cell and R6 3 because it adversely affect shadows or other lighting. The Xbox's cpu is not powerful enough to have all the goodies running at once. Not enough total system memory either /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Splinter Cell is my fav game of all time, but seeing the jagies on my 53" hdtv always irritated me a bit. These problems won't exist with the next Xbox....I hope..

XyZspineZyX
11-07-2003, 09:03 AM
Def_Tech_Freak wrote:
- The jaggies will NOT go away. The Splinter Cell
- engine will not allow the Devs to use
- FSAA(Anti-Aliasing) for the Xbox.
-
- The better your tv, the worse they will look. The
- better the cables, the worse the jaggies will look.
- The monsters are abrand that is overpriced crap for
- the most part.
-
- Save some $$ and try Acoustic research component
- cables. Don't fall for gimics people.
-
- I just learned that anti-aliasing can't be
- implemented on Xbox for splinter cell and R6 3
- because it adversely affect shadows or other
- lighting. The Xbox's cpu is not powerful enough to
- have all the goodies running at once. Not enough
- total system memory either /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif
-
- Splinter Cell is my fav game of all time, but seeing
- the jagies on my 53" hdtv always irritated me a bit.
- These problems won't exist with the next Xbox....I
- hope..
-
-
I was jsut about to disagree with you on some points there but after thinking about ity Splinter Cell and R63 are the only games I really have that have the jagies. I my self have a HDTV 46inch with a graphics pack and monstercables. for the most part games like Halo and I've even noticed themost beatiful of cames so far is Crimson skies it does not have nay of these problems but I'm really not concerned with this for the most part. What I have I'm hapy with anyway but really good points.


The only easy day is Yesterday
__ Navy Seal Motto__

XBL Gamertag: RoaringMad Mac
<center>
<img src ="http://halo.bungie.org/miscartimages/missioncomplete2.jpg"width=200height=2>

XyZspineZyX
11-07-2003, 05:12 PM
RS3 sure doesn't look as good as Splinter Cell for some reason...

####################
GamerTag: SquirrEll
####################
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/philip.quinn4/SquirrEll/sa80.gif

XyZspineZyX
11-07-2003, 06:55 PM
Jeez people. Just because it uses Splinter Cells engine doesn't mean it's going to look as good. You fools! :-P Hehe

<center>Gamertag: ZeroAmpX</center>
<center>---------------------</center>
<center>http://zeroampx.zacknetwork.net/r6jacob.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
11-07-2003, 08:49 PM
You kids want some cheese with your wine? If you don't like the game don't play it. I think the graphics rock. This game isnt splinter cell. If you want to develop the code and make sure everything works, be our guest.

XyZspineZyX
11-07-2003, 11:33 PM
I don't have that many jaggies at all on my TV with RS3. The best game I have had running on my TV so far though is definitely Metroid Prime in progressive scan mode. I have also had Halo, Crimson skies, RS3, RTCW, and even Otogi. Metroid still looks the best. No jaggies at all on anything, and the textures are ten times more clear than normal.

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 03:43 AM
Well if this is true then it explains the jaggy hell this game is.Can't have any AA with the splinter cell engine..great.just great.And what really bugs me after playing to the montreal skycraper level is how many of the
maps have tons and tons of windows and vertical and horizontal lines in them.This game is fun but its giving me a huge headache.I for sure know I will be trading this game off as soon as I finish the campaign.I don't even feel like playing the campaign again its getting very boring with the exact same enemy placement ,weapons and actions every time.All you do is memorize the enemies and their actions.Terrorist hunt does help a bit though.My old GR and GRIT don't have jaggies like this game.And on some games you don't notice it much but like I said they shouldn't have put in so many levels with horizontal and vertical things like windows,bars,etc just makes it so much more noticeable.I was praying enough people would complain so maybe we could get a download patch to turn on the AA but now think that is impossible.

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 05:38 PM
Looks awesome on my projector. Actually think it looks better than splinter cell, but could easily be projector picking up pallete and stuff better.

XyZspineZyX
11-11-2003, 01:23 AM
will the connector from mad catz work to enhance ma graphice too? i have a ps2 so maybe u guys dont no :l



"HE WHO DARES,WINS."
-SOLID SNAKE