PDA

View Full Version : sys specs and stuff



helmatic
02-16-2005, 12:20 PM
i was just wandering - the system specs say that i'll need a 64 MB video card. Theoretically i will not be able to run this, cause i have only 32.
But why could i then run POP WW (which also required 64 [said so in readme.txt]? The only thing that does not work in WW are the blurr effects.
So, what I am trying to say is - will UBI do some optimization on CT so as to let players with **** video cards like me play it. I do not suppose it would be much of a problem, to disable some of the more advanced effects. Well, i'm not a game dev, but that is my opinion.
It's just that, well, I could even run Doom3 on card with my vid card AND 256 MB RAM with NO derious lags? Then why shouldn;t i be able run CT?
I'd gladly pay an extra 10 or whatever $ if i can play the thing.
Either way, I'm waiting for the game, run it or not. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
Thank you in advance. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

PS.
Just checked out the beta. Great.... Can't run it.
Doesn;t UBI realize it is losing a LOT of cutomers this way? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

helmatic
02-16-2005, 12:20 PM
i was just wandering - the system specs say that i'll need a 64 MB video card. Theoretically i will not be able to run this, cause i have only 32.
But why could i then run POP WW (which also required 64 [said so in readme.txt]? The only thing that does not work in WW are the blurr effects.
So, what I am trying to say is - will UBI do some optimization on CT so as to let players with **** video cards like me play it. I do not suppose it would be much of a problem, to disable some of the more advanced effects. Well, i'm not a game dev, but that is my opinion.
It's just that, well, I could even run Doom3 on card with my vid card AND 256 MB RAM with NO derious lags? Then why shouldn;t i be able run CT?
I'd gladly pay an extra 10 or whatever $ if i can play the thing.
Either way, I'm waiting for the game, run it or not. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
Thank you in advance. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

PS.
Just checked out the beta. Great.... Can't run it.
Doesn;t UBI realize it is losing a LOT of cutomers this way? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Knot3D
02-16-2005, 12:33 PM
You have 32Mb VRAM videocard !? That's ancient stuff. Indeed I'm surprised those other games of yours booted up at all.

Seriously, why in G's name do ppl think they can get high end PC games running reasonably with the crappiest hardware !?

Soul.Five was only able to do 800x600 without AA on his AMDxp1600 with 1Gb ram and a Radeon9600Pro 256mb !

Either you have a > 3Ghz cpu with that old videocard or else you'll be playing the interactive SC:CT Slideshow...

Time to upgrade dude.
* edit ; alot of customers ? hahah really, what most ppl have is at least twice as good as your little 32mb video card ; think Radeon9600 128mb and GeforceFX5700...and even those are considered low end today.

helmatic
02-16-2005, 12:39 PM
i doubt i can upgrade a laptop. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
[i have a Dell Inspiron 8200] - theoretically it can be upgraded, but they don;t ship the parts to my country (that would be Latvia). http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
And i am in no condition to buy a new PC. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif ;(

SikoraB
02-16-2005, 01:27 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by helmatic:
i doubt i can upgrade a laptop. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
[i have a Dell Inspiron 8200] - theoretically it can be upgraded, but they don;t ship the parts to my country (that would be Latvia). http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
And i am in no condition to buy a new PC. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif ;( <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Your doomed, just like me. Laptops aren't meant for gaming, unless they are REALLY expensive.

Buy yourself an Xbox, it's worth it!

Ninj3r
02-16-2005, 01:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Knot3D:
You have 32Mb VRAM videocard !? That's ancient stuff. Indeed I'm surprised those other games of yours booted up at all.

Seriously, why in G's name do ppl think they can get high end PC games running reasonably with the crappiest hardware !?

Soul.Five was only able to do 800x600 without AA on his AMDxp1600 with 1Gb ram and a Radeon9600Pro 256mb !

Either you have a &gt; 3Ghz cpu with that old videocard or else you'll be playing the interactive SC:CT Slideshow...

Time to upgrade dude.
* edit ; alot of customers ? hahah really, what most ppl have is at least twice as good as your little 32mb video card ; think Radeon9600 128mb and GeforceFX5700...and even those are considered low end today. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

HMmmmmm people would be so much better off with an xbox

Chaos theory looks practically the same on both platforms and it saves u maybe $500 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Ah well, Just my opinion http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

quillan
02-16-2005, 01:40 PM
I'd agree with Ninj3r here. I can understand you not being able to buy a new computer right now, and you're right, you can't generally upgrade a laptop. Buying an Xbox would be a better deal to use for gaming, at least games like this. You'll miss out, or least have to wait a long time, for some of the really high end games (Doom 3, Half Life 2, etc), but a lot of PC games also come out for Xbox, and the Xbox has a few the PC doesn't.

Buder08
02-16-2005, 08:03 PM
how do you see system specs

HarkoninVSC
02-17-2005, 12:50 AM
Lmao it may look practically the same on a low or midrange machine but they are worlds apart on a high end rig. Kind of like an old nintendo up against the playstation.

Heres 1 Example of the difference, mind you these don't depict the huge difference in light and texture renderings but do illustrate depth and resolution.

Xbox screen -&gt;

http://67.81.23.67:3000/vetserver/screens/xboxpic.jpg

PC screen =&gt;

http://67.81.23.67:3000/vetserver/screens/pcpic.jpg

helmatic
02-17-2005, 08:42 AM
i gues i would buy an XBOX if i could, but the prices are WAY TOO HIGH here in Latvia. an XBOX would cost about 1000$, and a PC to suit the recommended reqs for CT would be like over 3000$.
[I am trying to convert my currency into dollars, so the figures are not too acurate].
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif