PDA

View Full Version : do you have to pay?/?/?



scorpio_11
03-21-2006, 08:34 PM
this mite be a dumb question but do you have to pay if you want to play online for the PS2 because some of my friends think you do but I'm not sure because I've never played online before. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

GSG_9_Rage
03-22-2006, 06:05 AM
as far as i know, you don't have to pay for PS2 online

Real720
03-22-2006, 08:35 PM
Originally posted by GSG_9_Rage:
as far as i know, you don't have to pay for PS2 online

I've heard somewhere that if you don't have broadband, then you can pay an additional fee for a faster connection.

GSG_9_Rage
03-23-2006, 09:26 AM
interesting. I just don't like the fact that you have to have a credit card to play xbox live. I have the cards that you get with your subscription, but no credit card to put it on. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

chaoswithin666
03-24-2006, 09:57 AM
I play online with my PS2 everyday...and never had to pay a cent..but I also do have a cable connection so I'm not sure about DSL or Dial-Up.

scorpio_11
03-24-2006, 02:48 PM
Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
I play online with my PS2 everyday...and never had to pay a cent..but I also do have a cable connection so I'm not sure about DSL or Dial-Up.

Me to hawe do you set it up for me it tells me that the cable is not connected ERRRR i want to go online ERRRR http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

captmac07
03-25-2006, 04:48 PM
On the current system the PS2 you do not have to pay, but it's not that great.On the PS3 however Sony is trying to create something similar to XBOX Live and yes you'll have to pay,the details Sony has yet to provide, as far as XBOX yes you have to pay but the credit card is no longer a requirement. Instead you can purchase prepaid cards at a Gamestop or EB games with cash and redeem them for whatever you want on XBOX Live.

chaoswithin666
03-27-2006, 09:13 AM
Originally posted by scorpio_11:
Me to hawe do you set it up for me it tells me that the cable is not connected ERRRR i want to go online ERRRR http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

If it is telling you that your cable is not connected you may possibly have a bad cable. Unless of course it works on your computer. What PS2 version are you using...the slim or standard?

scorpio_11
03-27-2006, 02:33 PM
Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by scorpio_11:
Me to hawe do you set it up for me it tells me that the cable is not connected ERRRR i want to go online ERRRR http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

If it is telling you that your cable is not connected you may possibly have a bad cable. Unless of course it works on your computer. What PS2 version are you using...the slim or standard? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


standard

chaoswithin666
03-28-2006, 09:23 AM
You may want to try setting up a new connection for your network adapter and trying that. You should also look to see if you are running a firewall on your network...if you are you should try and open up ports for your PS2 to get past the firewall this way it can connect to the internet.

scorpio_11
03-28-2006, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
You may want to try setting up a new connection for your network adapter and trying that. You should also look to see if you are running a firewall on your network...if you are you should try and open up ports for your PS2 to get past the firewall this way it can connect to the internet.

NO i have no firewall. Could it be couse i only have like 100gb of memory on my comp. Stupid comp its so slow http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

chaoswithin666
03-29-2006, 09:06 AM
As far as I know that shouldn't matter at all...seems how the PS2 isn't going through your computer to your network, it should be directly connected to the router.

ZDemon_Blade
03-29-2006, 04:36 PM
im pretty sure u dont have to pay

scorpio_11
03-29-2006, 06:33 PM
Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
As far as I know that shouldn't matter at all...seems how the PS2 isn't going through your computer to your network, it should be directly connected to the router.

ok thx for ur time http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

yo ZDemon_Blade http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gifman you finely posted

chaoswithin666
03-30-2006, 09:09 AM
If I helped in any way then im glad I could help you. If not then im sorry i couldnt be of help.

MightyLordRay
03-31-2006, 08:14 AM
What's the deal? Everybody knows that xbox has always been better. Why are people concerned with ps2? If you don't want to pay for xbox live, then use 12 month subscription codes, or 2 month subscription codes.

I'm not going to tell you how, but you can mod your xbox to not have to pay for xbox live at all. Do you guys think that Ps3 is going to be better than 360? I'm curious. I know that I already don't like that ugly controller.

I'm going to buy one of them so I need to know if I should wait or go ahead and buy the 360. I guess it would be the 360 because Vegas will come out on it. I think the 360 is going to better than the Ps3. Ofcourse, xbox has always kicked Playstation's butt.

chaoswithin666
03-31-2006, 09:14 AM
Personally I do believe the PS3 will be better than the 360. For one the internet that it uses for players to play online and download games is going to be completely free...no subsciptions or anything. It is also going to have 7 controler ports built rite into it and from what im told the 360 only has 2 or 4. Also the PS3 is supposed to make it so you can play foreign games..such as games released in Japan before the US..most games are suposed to come with built in translations but not all will. Also the new Blu-Ray disc format is a huge step toward making better graphic and longer more thorough games seems how they will be able to hold a significant ammount more than the PS2 format discs could. To finish it off, what is your opinion?

scorpio_11
03-31-2006, 03:00 PM
Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
Personally I do believe the PS3 will be better than the 360. For one the internet that it uses for players to play online and download games is going to be completely free...no subsciptions or anything. It is also going to have 7 controler ports built rite into it and from what im told the 360 only has 2 or 4. Also the PS3 is supposed to make it so you can play foreign games..such as games released in Japan before the US..most games are suposed to come with built in translations but not all will. Also the new Blu-Ray disc format is a huge step toward making better graphic and longer more thorough games seems how they will be able to hold a significant ammount more than the PS2 format discs could. To finish it off, what is your opinion?

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

<span class="ev_code_RED">W8 AND GET A PS3 BELIEVE ME YOU WONT REGRET IT.</span> http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

scorpio_11
03-31-2006, 03:19 PM
Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
As far as I know that shouldn't matter at all...seems how the PS2 isn't going through your computer to your network, it should be directly connected to the router.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gifsorry i didnt read this poste good do you need to have a cable connected frome ur PS2 to ur router.

chaoswithin666
04-02-2006, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by scorpio_11:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
As far as I know that shouldn't matter at all...seems how the PS2 isn't going through your computer to your network, it should be directly connected to the router.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gifsorry i didnt read this poste good do you need to have a cable connected frome ur PS2 to ur router. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes,connect your cable from your router directly to the netwrk adapter on your PS2..if you dont have an extra calbe just unplugged your computer one and plug it into your playstation. Let me know if this works.

scorpio_11
04-03-2006, 01:30 PM
Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by scorpio_11:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by chaoswithin666:
As far as I know that shouldn't matter at all...seems how the PS2 isn't going through your computer to your network, it should be directly connected to the router.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gifsorry i didnt read this poste good do you need to have a cable connected frome ur PS2 to ur router. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes,connect your cable from your router directly to the netwrk adapter on your PS2..if you dont have an extra calbe just unplugged your computer one and plug it into your playstation. Let me know if this works. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

My PS2 is in a different room then my comp the cable doesn't reach. I'm getting a new comp with a wireless router with a wireless router you don't need a wire or a cable from ur router to ur PS2 do u? i don't think so but I'm not shower after all its called a <span class="ev_code_RED">WIRELESS!</span> router.

akedo29
04-04-2006, 12:39 AM
no you wont need a cable then... but you will need a wireless reciever/adaptor.. for the ps2.
its about 99$ at gamestop or where ever... do you have anyone who can help you configure it? if not goto the playstation site and look thru the connection forums... good luck dood

chaoswithin666
04-04-2006, 09:18 AM
Why pay $99 for a reciever when u can just relocate your t.v/PS2 to someplace where the cable will reach. Even if you can't do that just buy some cable it is very cheap...I mean it's cheap enough that one of the classes im in at school gives away like 50 feet at a time for free.

scorpio_11
04-04-2006, 05:00 PM
Originally posted by akedo29:
no you wont need a cable then... but you will need a wireless reciever/adaptor.. for the ps2.
its about 99$ at gamestop or where ever... do you have anyone who can help you configure it? if not goto the playstation site and look thru the connection forums... good luck dood

hawe can i tall if i got that adaptor dos it say somthing.It came on my PS2 win i but it and im not to sure


chaoswithin666: Why pay $99 for a reciever when u can just relocate your t.v/PS2 to someplace where the cable will reach. Even if you can't do that just buy some cable it is very cheap...I mean it's cheap enough that one of the classes im in at school gives away like 50 feet at a time for free.

If i dont have the right adaptor for what akedo29 tolled me abut thats what i'll have to do.



<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">P.S THNX 4 ALL UR TIME</span>

thundershot1987
04-04-2006, 06:01 PM
from what ive heard of yes ps2 online is free so is ps3 but i do know dat every ps3 game u buy dat is online enabled u have 2 pay a monthly fee for dat game so sorry microsoft has the edge

i am not a informant of ps3 but hold substatial amount of info about the console