PDA

View Full Version : Far Cry 2 skipping Playstation 3 release?!?



hanz_h
08-15-2008, 10:33 AM
Recently dutch website PS3Only.nl (http://www.psonly.nl/nieuws/16686/Farcry_2_niet_naar_de_PS3?/) noticed something out of order on the official Ubisoft website.

When going to Ubisoft.com and selecting Far Cry 2 you can only select Far Cry 2 for either PC or Xbox360. The PS3 version of the game is not there in the list, whereas other multiplatform games such as Brothers in Arms do show the PS3 in the selection list as it should be:

http://www.farcry2fans.com/e107_images/custom/ps3_1.jpg

http://www.farcry2fans.com/e107_images/custom/ps3_2.jpg

Check out the omission out yourself on the Ubisoft website HERE (http://www.ubi.com/US/Games/Info.aspx?pId=5925).

Is this just a simple innocent mistake by Ubisoft that has no meaning or is there more to this then meets the eye? Is Ubisoft encountering too much problems to port successfully to the Playstation 3 or is it so complicated that the Playstation 3 cannot be released simultaneously with the PC and Xbox 360 version?

PLease Ubisoft explain.

Achilles

hanz_h
08-15-2008, 10:33 AM
Recently dutch website PS3Only.nl (http://www.psonly.nl/nieuws/16686/Farcry_2_niet_naar_de_PS3?/) noticed something out of order on the official Ubisoft website.

When going to Ubisoft.com and selecting Far Cry 2 you can only select Far Cry 2 for either PC or Xbox360. The PS3 version of the game is not there in the list, whereas other multiplatform games such as Brothers in Arms do show the PS3 in the selection list as it should be:

http://www.farcry2fans.com/e107_images/custom/ps3_1.jpg

http://www.farcry2fans.com/e107_images/custom/ps3_2.jpg

Check out the omission out yourself on the Ubisoft website HERE (http://www.ubi.com/US/Games/Info.aspx?pId=5925).

Is this just a simple innocent mistake by Ubisoft that has no meaning or is there more to this then meets the eye? Is Ubisoft encountering too much problems to port successfully to the Playstation 3 or is it so complicated that the Playstation 3 cannot be released simultaneously with the PC and Xbox 360 version?

PLease Ubisoft explain.

Achilles

Staticks
08-15-2008, 10:46 AM
Does this video that came out a few minutes ago answer your question? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/usermovies/253391.html

hanz_h
08-15-2008, 11:02 AM
Ha it answers at least half http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.

Nice find!

Achilles

Jorge-Fonseca
08-15-2008, 12:31 PM
nevertheless they should fix that issue down at ubi.

Also that video was tight, it's going to be fun to use the dualshock 3 to fly around with the glider and drive! But there was one thing that made me nervous of tha video, did anyone notice that as soon as the guy playing the game killed that 1 guy driving the car that he instantly dissapeared? I thought dead bodies would at least lay there until we left the area.. not dissapear right infront of our eyes, ive seen ps1 games that dont do that p.0

lego94
08-15-2008, 12:51 PM
i exspect people have noticed this. there is a sat nav on the right of the screen how cool is that it makes even more relistic, than having a cirlce with a few roads where you are on it showing where you are. also is that railway
active would be so cool if it is

ynck
08-15-2008, 01:20 PM
Good video, but I don't see the point of this thread.

Zulu_598
08-15-2008, 01:29 PM
Has there actually been any other PS3 exclusive demos of the game?

Everything they have shown lately for consoles has been for the 360 if I'm not mistaken except the "console reveal trailor".

Maybe it's just that the 360 version is basically completed & not the PS3 which they do not want to advertise the PS3 version as ready yet. Otherwise all the other online stores have the PS3 version for preorder.

CuZtds_Lst_Stnd
08-15-2008, 01:48 PM
LMAO Hans, nice conspiracy theory but if you follow the links, the PS3 version is available for purchase on the site

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/3189/ps3fz5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Just a simple error on the home page by the looks of it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

cinek2000
08-15-2008, 02:10 PM
look for your self

http://www.ubi.com/UK/Games/Info.aspx?pId=6090

it's all there...

ynck
08-15-2008, 02:12 PM
What? It's not on Action Max?

hanz_h
08-15-2008, 04:24 PM
Ahhh, too bad http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif.

Funny thing is quite a few sites picked up the news from Psonly.nl. See what such a small omission can cause!

Achilles

R1ZN0
08-15-2008, 07:23 PM
He runs right thru the tree in the beginning...? What no branches? lol

CuZtds_Lst_Stnd
08-16-2008, 02:27 AM
I noticed that too, I hope thats not a feature of the released version: whats the point of a glider unless you can get stuck in a tree http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif