PDA

View Full Version : air combat tactics

ibrocken
04-25-2006, 10:40 PM
I am a very good pilot (avg anywhere from 20 to 60 kills depending upon who I'm playing against) however it seems that when I get into circle battles with some players we can be flying the same plane and I do everything I possibly can to turn around on them and they somehow get around on me. My planes have been upgraded and I just can't figure out how they do it especially since it seems we are both doing the same thing so I was wondering if there is some trick to getting around a little quicker in these type of fights

Cmdr_Jameson
04-29-2006, 08:11 PM
Turning 'inside' an opponent is possible for a number of reasons. You have pointed out that in your instance you are both using the same plane and that your planes have been 'upgraded'*, so that leaves flying techniques.

You're probably a good pilot and having upgraded your planes I assume you've completed the campaigns & such. The difference is that the AI hasn't been programmed to the point where you have to really use every trick available to you to win, whereas some of your fellow human pilots are going to need you to know your stuff to beat them.

The main thing that you need to deal with is that physics plays more of a part in Blazing Angel combat than first appears (nor does the manual really help in this regard).

When you're in a turning dogfight, you need to get your nose pointed at (or leading) your enemy, preferably at their tail. Variations in your speed are what's going to help you do that, epecially when used in conjunction with gravity (yes, gravity).