PDA

View Full Version : Hard lock-ups



ianboys
03-18-2005, 03:12 PM
Hi all,

Anyone else getting hard lock-ups? I've had 2 today and they're a nuisance when you're into a long patrol.

Ian

TASKFORCE1x1
03-18-2005, 03:40 PM
Non for me but whats your PC specs? Processor,speed,RAM,video,etc...

Remember you need this as minimum--

Also besure to download the latest patch. 1.1
Also can you see what screen its lokcing up on?
There is a work-a-round for particle systems which when you use the UZO it could possibly be causing your crashes.
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Workaround for nVidia bug mentioned in the Readme (now it will be possible to switch on /off the particle systems using €œCtrl+P€) [QUOTE]


[QUOTE] As quoted from SHIII's DVD ################################################## ##############################

1. Minimum/Recommended specifications

################################################## ##############################


-Minimum Configuration:
Win 2000/XP Only
DirectX 9.0c
1.5 GHz Pentium 4, AMD Athlon, or equivalent
512 MB RAM
64MB DirectX 9.0c compatible graphics card with Pixel Shader 1.1 capability
DirectX 9.0 compatible sound device
DVD-ROM 8x or faster
2.8 GB hard drive space
Windows-compatible mouse required

-Recommended Configuration:
Win 2000/XP Only
DirectX 9.0c
2 GHz Pentium 4, AMD Athlon or equivalent
1024 MB RAM
128MB DirectX 9.0c compatible graphics card
DirectX 9.0 compatible sound device
DVD-ROM 8x or faster
2.8 GB hard drive space
Windows-compatible mouse required
Internet connection for play on Ubi.com (minimum 56k modem or broadband) <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

iggy42
03-18-2005, 04:24 PM
Yes - I got a hard lock during the deck gun exam. Very annoying - sound distorted briefly before then complete lock. Patched to 1.1

TASKFORCE1x1
03-18-2005, 04:57 PM
When you installed SHIII did any of the "checks" for your system show red? Possibly 1 red mark on your system could create this problem which is showing up later.

You can check your system specs easy with--

Goto Start button
In RUN type dxdiag
Thats a DirextX diagnostic tool and will show you your complete system layout.

TASKFORCE1x1
03-18-2005, 04:58 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> Ubisoft offers Technical Support. When you call, please be as specific as you can be about the problem you are experiencing and have the below details available:

- The name of the manufacturer of your computer system
- The brand and speed of the processor
- How much RAM you have
- The version number of windows you are using (if you aren€t sure, right-click on the my computer icon on your desktop and select €˜properties€)
- The manufacturer name and model number of your video card, modem, and sound card. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is if all else fails.

TASKFORCE1x1
03-18-2005, 05:00 PM
C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\SilentHunterIII\Support\DetectionToo l\SH3DetectionTool EN


This is the default systems check if you need to do that again. SHIII will see if it can run on your system.

TASKFORCE1x1
03-18-2005, 05:02 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> The game has been tested successfuly on Win 2000, Win XP, Win XP SP2

Not Supported:
Windows 95
Windows 98
Windows ME
Windows NT
Directx9.0b and previous versions. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

ianboys
03-18-2005, 05:42 PM
I got all green during the hardware check. Since the problems I've turned Sound Accel down a notch and things are OK. I also don't play on time acceleration that shows orange (1024x), only green (512x).

altstiff
03-18-2005, 06:24 PM
Ian are you O/C at all? I know that on some games O/C flys well but on others it will lock up.

It depends on the game sometimes.

TedHealy
03-18-2005, 06:37 PM
I had a 2 hard lock ups yesterday. I cut back my overclock on the cpu a bit and things worked just fine today.

asus p4p800
2.6 ghz p4 oc to 2.8 (was 3.2 ghz)
9600xt
1024 mb ram