PDA

View Full Version : radedon 9800 pro problem



XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 04:41 PM
Hi,does anyone know of this problem lomac starts,in about 10 sec the body of the plane starts to flicker tiny white bits all over the plane and 1 minute later crash!!!

P4 2.8
radeon 9800 pro
1 gig mem

plz help

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 04:41 PM
Hi,does anyone know of this problem lomac starts,in about 10 sec the body of the plane starts to flicker tiny white bits all over the plane and 1 minute later crash!!!

P4 2.8
radeon 9800 pro
1 gig mem

plz help

britgliderpilot
11-10-2003, 04:58 PM
. . . . Could this be a manifestation of the dreaded artifacts I have heard so much about?

Radeon OCers step forward . . .



<center>http://www.x-plane.org/users/megile/migeng99.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 05:03 PM
lol just wait till your brand new 9700 pro starts doing the same when you power up your new rig http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

http://xmensquadron.virtualave.net/images/exor.jpg

Hunter82
11-10-2003, 05:06 PM
A few things can be present.

#1 If overclocking reduce the clock speed a few. When using more instructions sometimes the overclock will need to be lower as your chance of artifacting becomes greater with increased in/out.

#2 If present in 3.8 is it still in 3.9 or 3.7? We can narrow down the issue if driver set is the cause.

#3 disable vpu recovery and ati hot key poller...is it still present? (3.8 3.9 sets only)

let me know

=======================================
Ubisoft IL2/Lock On Moderator
ATI Catalyst Driver Beta Tester
Hunter82 wrote:"I did not have technical relations with that question"
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com/) </center>
Catalyst Bug Reporting (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/) </center>
=======================================

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 05:15 PM
I have an overclocked Radeon 9800 Pro and have no prob with LOMAC. However, I had Rainbow6 and my 9800 was more overclocked than it is now and I had the same issue that you are talking about, white dots on my screen. Try lowering yr overclocked settings. Lowering the RAM clock should work, this fixed my problems with R6.

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 05:25 PM
my card isn't overclocked at all,straight from the shop.
i have also tried all the different drivers 3.7---3.9,no result.

Hunter82
11-10-2003, 05:48 PM
did you try any of the listed items under #3?

=======================================
Ubisoft IL2/Lock On Moderator
ATI Catalyst Driver Beta Tester
Hunter82 wrote:"I did not have technical relations with that question"
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com/) </center>
Catalyst Bug Reporting (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/) </center>
=======================================

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 07:23 PM
Visit www.guru3d.com (http://www.guru3d.com) to get the catalyst remover.

Reinstall directx. THEN install your ati drivers again.

Make sure you have the latest drivers for you mobo as well.

If all else fails. Use a hammer http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://www.akktustakki.se/~akst/sigs/pilgrim.jpg

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 07:50 PM
It sounds like your card is overheating, how is your case ventilation ? lots of dust on the fans ? Does it crash with only the demo or in other games also ? First thing I would do is try running it with the side panel off the case. Make sure the fan on the video card didnt die ! it does happen. Other than that what is the wattage of your Powersupply, I think ATI reccomends at least a 350watt unit. Hope this helps and good luck.

Rosebud

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 08:14 PM
I have a highly overclocked 9800nonpro (443/401) and I don't get any corruption.

take the card out of the agp slot and blow it out with compressed air-pop it back in.

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.uploadit.org/files2/051103-A-9-Water.jpg>



"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 08:37 PM
stupid me! the f.... fan is doing nothing,thanx rosebud iám taking this card back!!!
Rogodin wrote:
- I have a highly overclocked 9800nonpro (443/401) and
- I don't get any corruption.
-
- take the card out of the agp slot and blow it out
- with compressed air-pop it back in.
-
- rogo
-
- <center><img src
- =http://www.uploadit.org/files2/051103-A-9-Water.j
- pg>
-
-
-
- "Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I
- look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a
- quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @
- 20,000ft looking downwards.
-
- /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
-
-
-

Hunter82
11-10-2003, 09:39 PM
yep that'll do it /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

=======================================
Ubisoft IL2/Lock On Moderator
ATI Catalyst Driver Beta Tester
Hunter82 wrote:"I did not have technical relations with that question"
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com/) </center>
Catalyst Bug Reporting (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/) </center>
=======================================

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 10:18 PM
Yo dennis,

Its not your card. If it works properly with any other games, its something else.
I have a radeon 8500, no overclocking or anything. I have the same flickering problem as yours. The Tiger Woods 2004 demo makes the same crap.
I think its the drivers, i have 3.8, and someone told me to put in 3.6
I haven't tried it yet, but I think this is it. Try what pilgrim said, it might work.
Anyways, its NOT harware related. If it was, you'll get random crash on any application (trust me, I know what I'm talking about).

Ill try to change the driver tonight and keep you posted.

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 11:15 PM
dennis_the_1 wrote:
- stupid me! the f.... fan is doing nothing,thanx
- rosebud iám taking this card back!!!
Glad you found our what is wrong. At least its not somthing that is major. Fans do die , if ya have them on your motherboard connect the fan to a header that will monitor the rpms. Then set an alarm for it. Thats what I do.

Rosebud

XyZspineZyX
11-10-2003, 11:19 PM
Dennis,

I installed catalyst 3.6 over 3.8 and it WORKS!!!!!

XyZspineZyX
11-11-2003, 11:05 AM
The problem is deffinately driver related.

I tried all sorts of drivers after the 3.5's and got the same problem you talk about..As soon as I installed the 3.5' the problem went away.