View Full Version : Silent Hunter 3 installation Problem

03-26-2005, 06:25 AM
I have tryed installing on 2 different pc's
1st pc cant even detect the disk
2nd pc i get this error message :
error 1335 the cabinet file data11.cab required for this installation is corrupt and cannot be used.
I have also sent the 1st copy i had back and had a replacement sent but still have the same problem. Can any one shed any light on this problem as im baffled.

03-26-2005, 11:06 AM
I'm having the same issue. Any ideas as to a fix?

03-26-2005, 11:25 AM
Well, I'm no expert and since we're stabbing in the dark--read this:


To see a list of things that might explain this:

just run a Google search on the error number 1335.

I guess you're using a DVD player to install SH3?

03-26-2005, 11:28 AM
cabinet file

A cabinet, or CAB, file is single file that holds a number of compressed files. During installation of an application, the compressed files are decompressed and copied to your computer. Cabinet files are efficient because they save space and time when distributing software. A cabinet file usually has the file extension .cab. Missing or corrupt files may prevent installations from completing. It may be necessary to replace missing or corrupt operating system files or InstallShield files by extracting them from a cabinet file.

03-26-2005, 11:51 AM
Have you guys ever ran and cleaned out the spyware that accumulates on your computers?

Are you closing/turning off your virus protection and firewalls BEFORE you install?

03-26-2005, 04:28 PM
I think your problem is there is a MS utility or program on your computer that has become corrupted--thus stopping the install of SH3.

Read this MS bulletin which might shed some lite
on this problem.


03-27-2005, 09:54 AM
After trying many things mentioned looks like im going to have to buy another cd rom or order
another sh3 which would be the third one or maybe both.

03-27-2005, 11:10 AM
Thanks for the advice. I got it loaded finally. Its on the 'puter now but still on hold as I have the same Starforce key code problem that everyone else has. Email sent to SF..waiting for new code key.....

03-27-2005, 03:13 PM

Hey bud, you need a DVD player not a new CD-ROM.

03-29-2005, 08:21 AM
How did you fix the problem????????????

I cannnot install mine. See my post---