PDA

View Full Version : SOFTMODING 6800 128MB?



RocafellaXXX
11-15-2004, 09:05 AM
I have came across this many times and I don't know if its true.
Is it possible to unlock 16 pipes on 6800 128MB and have it run at GT level and if it is, then how do you do it?

The reason I'm asking this is because I have read many reviews for Video Cards (specially 6800 128MB) and visited many forums and there are some people saying that they have 6800 128MB with 16 pipes unlocked, 256MB DDR, ... basically they have it running as 6800 GT.
I know that you can flash your video card, like x800Pro to x800XT but I never heard of 6800 128MB being flashed to GT and that's why it sounded little strange.

Again, if you know how to do this please let me know by posting it up! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

hazards32
11-15-2004, 12:55 PM
When i bought my Asus 6800 128mb i also had a choice of a Asus 6800GT 128mb . Now this would have been exactely the same card that would have been modded by Asus. A reveiw on guru3d told me that this version gives very little performance increase over the standard version. So even though all 16 pipes and all 6 vertex shaders would have been implemented the relatively poor quality of the video memory and lack of it did not allow it to fully utilize the 16pipes or 6 vertex shaders.

Now when all 6800's are manufactured,by IBM i believe, they are all identical . They test them and the best performing get fasttracked for the ultra's , the next best go to the gt's and then some with possible defects get to be normal or se versions . Now the 6800 core is split into 4 parts so versions with 1 faulty section will become normal versions and others with 2 faulty sections will have half the core disabled and become se versions . Now supply and demand mean that sometimes the consumer will want the normal 6800 version in greater supply than the gt or ultra's and so they will manufacture normal 6800's with perfect cores but with some pipelines and a vertex shader turned off. This would mean that you could unlock this part of the core and have a perfect working 16 pipe gpu. Some normal 6800's will have defective cores and will have had part of the core disabled for a reason i.e. that part did not work. , or some 6800's will have a defective vertex shader and will be sold as that for that reason.

GOOD GOD THAT WAS BORING

Anyway ,if you want to check whether you can enable the extra pipes/vertex shader get rivatuner and read the info VERY CAREFULY . Sites like www.overclockers.co.uk (http://www.overclockers.co.uk) or www.guru3d.com (http://www.guru3d.com) will have lots and lots of info about this sort of thing .

So yes,it is possible to unlock the pipes but the normal and small amount of DDR (gt's and ultra's use DDR3 which is much faster) mean that you will not get a massive increase in real gameplayability in farcry or other dx9 games,it will give great figures in unrealistic benchmarks to make you feel good though.

Previous experiments on this forum:look for a thread about HDR by Docseal in the general discussion forum where he unlocked his core and discovered the extra 4 pipes did not work properly but he did enable the vertex shader. Docseral did have a 6800oc 256mb which will give him a much higher memory bandwidth making him more able to utilize the full core.
We do not have 256mb of ram and will therefore only get a slight performance boost that was reported in the asus 6800gt 128mb over its normal brother.

RocafellaXXX
11-18-2004, 10:17 AM
Reporting Back:
---------------

Ok I have downloaded Riva Tuner 15.2 and was able to softmod my PNY 6800 128.
After unlocking all 16 rendering pipes and all 6 vp I decided to run Futuremark: 3DMark05/hotfix_110 with Nvidia ForceWare 66.93 Drivers.

These are my results with the following specs:
----------------------------------------------
P4 2.4C GHz/OC'd 2709 MHz, ASUS P4SD-LA
512MB SmartModular PC-2700 RAM
Segate 80GB HD
PNY 6800 128/OC'd 382/820

3DMark05, 6800 128 with 16x1,6vp: 3870

3Dmark05, 6800 128 with 12x1,5vp: 3600

I was more than amazed with these results because my score went up more than 1000 since first time I ran it and by the way I got my 6800 back to 12x1,5vp because I get artifacts if I unlock all 16 pipes along with 6vp.

hazards32
11-18-2004, 12:16 PM
Well done mate ,i am so glad you did the experimenting for me as i will give it a go next http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif.

Looks like you got a 6800 core with a slight defect. This would have been the reason you got the artifacts and why it was made a non ultra.

Docseal keeps posting in his thread about a NU that he managed to unlock all his pipes and extra VS. Hopefully my NU is undamaged and i can utilize the full core ,but it is very good of you to tell me its easy to revert to 12 pipes again.

Did you do any 3Dmark03 testing as the 05 tests mean almost nothing to me .
My 3Dmark03 is 8040

RocafellaXXX
11-19-2004, 01:41 PM
No I haven't done any 3Dmark03 tests but I'm sure they would go up to.
As far a unlocking pipes just make sure you enable hardware masking or otherwise it won't work.

Good luck and be sure to report back http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

abenicasa
11-20-2004, 05:22 AM
Try keeping at 16 pipelines and going back to 5vp's.
I run a 6800le the lowest card made and get about the same score as yours, 16X5..

DocSEAL
11-21-2004, 01:04 AM
If you look at my post here (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=452106891&m=7601041932&p=2), I was able to unlock both the extra pipes and vertex shader without artifacts the SECOND time/card I tried it on. The problem initially was I unlocked too many things (I checked bit 04, 05, 06...basically all to 16..thinking this was the thing to do.) It is only necessary to check the items that are labelled hardware masked (bits 3 and 11.) By checking too many things I damaged my extra 4 pipes, but I was able to keep the extra vertex shader. When I got the second card, using the proper techniques; I unlocked all without any anomalies.