PDA

View Full Version : what fingers do i use?

MannicM
10-20-2011, 04:10 PM
i'm just getting started, but is there anything in practice mode or somewhere that suggests what fingers you should be using? i never know if i should be stretching my hand or shifting or what... and i end up playing it differently every time. i'm sure in time i'll develop a pattern, but just wondering if there are suggestions somewhere.

loving the "game"!!

r1chard34
10-20-2011, 05:16 PM
Originally posted by MannicM:
i'm just getting started, but is there anything in practice mode or somewhere that suggests what fingers you should be using? i never know if i should be stretching my hand or shifting or what... and i end up playing it differently every time. i'm sure in time i'll develop a pattern, but just wondering if there are suggestions somewhere.

loving the "game"!!

In game when the vertical frets are gold, those indicate hand placement(I think the track also turns a lighter shade, but I'm not sure).

Anyway typically the gold frets might be from 3rd to 6th frets so you park your index finger at fret 3, middle plays 4, ring plays 5, and pinky plays 6 (a lot of people reach with the ring). You might play a riff with the index and ring fingers walking forwards and back across the strings, and then the gold frets slide up to 7th fret and the riff continues this time with the hand at the new location and the index and ring are walking on the 7th and 9th frets.

The chord instructions give very specific finger placement.

AlexLifeson
10-22-2011, 05:42 PM
if you do the riff repeater or leveler or chord techniques I believe it does show you the finders to use like RB3 Pro Mode did.
I saw it last night when playing RS

stuggus
10-27-2011, 12:22 PM
I would like to see perhaps something in the game address the use of which fingers to use also!

The only time in my life I ever picked up a guitar before was to hand it off to someone else. So I am literally starting at zero knowledge.