PDA

View Full Version : HELP!! COPYPROTECTION PROBLEM HELP!



oscar0072004
03-17-2005, 09:04 AM
i installed the game and when i type in the numbers from the copy protection correctly i checks my disc! but it never gets passed this stage. IT JUST KEEPS REEDING MY CD! .Someone please help me out! I new this copy protection would give me trouble . I,ve been trying to get it running for an hour now but i get the same problem. I am pissed off! i tried to reinstall but get the same problem over and over agian.

Also the progress bar of the copy protection never advances it just sits there.

lofaesofa
03-17-2005, 09:22 AM
Hi, I have the same problem.
The copy protection tries to read the DVD and the computer locks up until I eject the DVD from the drive. It hangs on about 1/4 of the progress bar.

Krycek1972
03-17-2005, 09:23 AM
Mine has never asked me for the cd-key and just basically fails the copy protection check straight away.

When is it supposed to ask for the cd-key? After rebooting when it prompts you at first install?

RuKo3031973
03-17-2005, 02:16 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif Try to put the dvd in your drive, and then close everything. Then start the game with the icon on your screen, not via the dvd. It works fine by me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Ps. (And uninstall daemon tools, alcohol 120%).

Greetz 4rom Holland http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

hobnail
03-17-2005, 06:43 PM
Done all that Ruko, nothing seems to help my problem.

There was some talk that the protection doesn't function with certain Pioneer DVD drives (I have a DVD-103), anyone can confirm?

TexasTacco
03-17-2005, 09:55 PM
Here's how I got mine to work€¦€¦

I had 2 Drives"

1 CDRW and a DVD-ROM.

I unplugged the CDRW.

VOILA - the disc still chugs for a bit - 20 secs€¦€¦ Then a consistent launch.

I got the idea from a post I saw that said STARFARCE tries to disable drives.

Annoying. Ubi - you really think this helps keep the pirates away (I bet the devs don't)? Come on managers - wake up.

Hope this helps all you guys. Great game - bad deployment decision w STARFARCE.

Krycek1972
03-18-2005, 01:02 AM
I managed to get it working on a new hard drive that just has windows xp freshly installed on it so it must be some form of software conflict on my main drive.

Trouble is im not running anything unusual on it, no emulation software, no virtual drives and now no burning software as I removed it all in an attempt to get SH3 working.

I dont want to format my main drive just to make this one game work, thats pretty unacceptable as everything else works fine. Ive never had a problem with any software like this before http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

The_Third_Half
03-18-2005, 01:20 PM
It's not your computer. It's a third-party disabler thats also installed with the game.
These are not new, MacroVision has CDilla which disables burners from copying anything that even looks pirated to it. Microsoft includes CDilla in all it's programs. They are annoying, as they very often screw up like this.

Reichstar
03-18-2005, 02:22 PM
This is frustrating. I've installed and played the game without this issue for two days and now all of a sudden I got it. My DVD-ROM drive is read-only and nothing's changed since I last played the game 8 hours ago. The copy protection comes up and the drive chunks around noisily while the progress bar doesn't get past about 25%.

Was having fun, but won't put up with much of this.