PDA

View Full Version : Joypad



Jetx7
08-08-2005, 11:47 AM
Can i use a logitech joypad in chaos theory?

Boobonys
08-08-2005, 11:48 AM
No need for two topics... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif

MR.Mic
08-08-2005, 11:49 AM
sure you can, you just have to use 3rd party programs, like easy joymouse, to rig it up in some cases. Although, I would highly recommend against using a joypad in versus mode.

JamieLee2K
08-08-2005, 12:01 PM
Talking about joypads, can I use my Xbox joypad? I have it working in some emulators but will it work like the Xbox version

MR.Mic
08-08-2005, 06:16 PM
yes you can get it working exactly like the xbox version, you just need to rig up some button translator like Autohotkey, or something similar.

cheese_thief
08-08-2005, 09:02 PM
The Singleplayer and Coop seem to have native support for gamepads/joysticks. SvM, on the otherhand, will require some workarounds. It'll serve you better in the long run if you learn how to the the keyboard/mouse combo, cause you can do things like snipe and look around easier and faster.

x_raz0r
08-09-2005, 05:31 AM
If you get it working, have fun losing http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

gui_brazil1991
08-09-2005, 02:31 PM
it would be probably difficult to play with joypad...try to play with keyboard is easyer....

DarKA55ASSIN
08-09-2005, 05:06 PM
i think playing on a pad is much easier on splintercell...i think(even tho i aint tried it on pc)that it doesnt really feel like a game which should be played on keyboard,only fps/3ps should be played on pc i think^^

cheese_thief
08-09-2005, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by DarKA55ASSIN:
i think playing on a pad is much easier on splintercell...i think(even tho i aint tried it on pc)that it doesnt really feel like a game which should be played on keyboard,only fps/3ps should be played on pc i think^^

Last time I checked, SC was a 3PS. Try playing it (and getting used to) with the keyboard/mouse format, and then make your desicion.

I've played the XBox and PC version extensively, and while the gamepad is fun to use for the first hour or so, i wanted to go back to the preciseness of the keyboard and mouse.

Time_Sangheili
08-09-2005, 05:12 PM
Good choice!

videogames10
08-10-2005, 12:56 AM
Try using a gamepad and mouse combination. You have the single thumb character movement capability of the gamepad's left analog stick, coupled with the speed and precision of the mouse for aiming and shooting.

Now I'm incredibly uncoordinated when it comes to keyboards and certain PC games, as I have to look at the keyboard every time I want to issue a command (never had a typing class). Thankfully, I've found the perfect compromise for me, personally, via the gamepad and mouse combo. Therefore, those who have trouble with keyboards and shooters, like me, should definitely give this a try.

kevorjs
08-10-2005, 02:45 AM
Keyboard just feels more natural for me.

MR.Mic
08-10-2005, 11:30 AM
Originally posted by videogames10:
Try using a gamepad and mouse combination. You have the single thumb character movement capability of the gamepad's left analog stick, coupled with the speed and precision of the mouse for aiming and shooting.

Now I'm incredibly uncoordinated when it comes to keyboards and certain PC games, as I have to look at the keyboard every time I want to issue a command (never had a typing class). Thankfully, I've found the perfect compromise for me, personally, via the gamepad and mouse combo. Therefore, those who have trouble with keyboards and shooters, like me, should definitely give this a try.

As for using a gamepad in one hand...
That would seriously limit the amount of buttons I would be able to use, since my thumb would be dedicated to movement, and I might be able to get a trigger button if i am lucky. So thats 2 functions performed by my left hand, when i can get a whole 15+ functions if I use the keyboard.

You dont ever need a typing class to learn the keyboard. Hell, I still cant touch type. If you have to look at the keyboard every time you want to issue a command, you might be doing something wrong.

See WASD (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WASD)

For quick reference, i have made a quick picture of the correct WASD positioning.
http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/2782/wasd3ki.jpg

In this configuration, you should never have to move your wrist more than an inch while playing.

NeVerDown144
08-11-2005, 09:33 AM
Yeah and where do you have your sniper button for xtremely quick acces ? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

MR.Mic
08-11-2005, 11:25 AM
Lol, well if you want to know my config...
Here is what I changed from default.
I have had it this way since PT.

Shift=Snipe
F=Use+Charge+whatever
B=Change Fire Rate

ice_cold1979
08-12-2005, 06:00 AM
<span class="ev_code_BLUE">Yeah, i have also changed the snipe button to f and the fire rate button to b, reason is that i never use the fire rate button and b is quite far away from W,A,S,and D so i swapped them.</span>

Tinweasele
08-12-2005, 07:26 AM
middle click for teh snipen <- only change i made from default

Bionic-Blob
08-12-2005, 07:46 AM
i actually have sniper set to V, i just shift my thumb upwards and press.

works for me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif