PDA

View Full Version : 1600x1200x32 4xAA 8xAF @ 32.7fps!



XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 04:25 PM
http://firingsquad.gamers.com/hardware/evga_e-geforce_fx_5900_ultra_review/page13.asp

Expensive but nice! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif Price will drop but its going to be hard to wait.I wonder wath it will do in 1920x1440.

Viking

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 04:25 PM
http://firingsquad.gamers.com/hardware/evga_e-geforce_fx_5900_ultra_review/page13.asp

Expensive but nice! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif Price will drop but its going to be hard to wait.I wonder wath it will do in 1920x1440.

Viking

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 06:55 PM
Sweet! Can't wait to pick one up when they are selling for less than $200. It's good to know what the future holds.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 07:58 PM
You got yourself a deal! PM me in autumn 2005.
Viking

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 08:05 PM
More like 6 months.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 08:17 PM
i've been running exactly the same resolution with the same AA/AF long time ago!! @100mhz refresh rate with my radeon 9700 pro and the FPS is slightly better, my ave FPS with that setting got me 33FPS on black death track.




The Sun is Gone
But I Have a Light

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 08:36 PM
Did you click the link Dyak?
Thats a fantastic 9700 you have there. The rest of them are running half your speed!

Viking

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 10:50 PM
Come on, it´s not just the video card. Your RAM matters, your cpu matters, your op system matters, your mainboard matters, your overclock matters, your video card settings matters.

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 10:54 PM
yes i did.
i think they need to tweak their system before running it /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif



The Sun is Gone
But I Have a Light

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 10:57 PM
forgot to tell that mine is o/ced cpu and o/ced video card running cat 3.4 driver with onboard sound card whic is asus a7n8x dlx. with 2x512 corsair XMS pc3200.



The Sun is Gone
But I Have a Light

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 11:29 PM
What I think it might be here is that they are using fraps.if you just use the built in FPS meter youll get a different score.

Dayak,does it seem smooth at those settings??I feel this is more important than the black death track.

--- --- --- ------ - ------
-- - - -- - - - -
- - - - - - - ----
-- -- - - - -
- - ------ ------ -

XyZspineZyX
06-21-2003, 12:34 AM
Well fraps is fine to measure framerate with. Anyway I got almost the exact computer as you, 1600+ at 1800 Mhz, 180 fsb 2x256 Corsair XMS 3200 at 218 Mhz, epox nforce 2 board with onboard sound "Soundstorm" , 9700 PRO and CAT 3.4 and I am limited to 1280x960x32 at 85 Mhz.

So I guess you got a 3200+ or P4 3.06 Ghz cpu http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-21-2003, 12:48 AM
Wolfstriked wrote:
- What I think it might be here is that they are using
- fraps.if you just use the built in FPS meter youll
- get a different score.
-
- Dayak,does it seem smooth at those settings??I feel
- this is more important than the black death track.

well my rig runs the game very smoothly, no sutter or pauses at all, except playing online..playing online once in while i got less than half second pauses, but it occured rarely, it think its due to netcode.
as you know black death is the heaviest track/game play of all, i hope you got the idea.




The Sun is Gone
But I Have a Light

XyZspineZyX
06-21-2003, 12:50 AM
oqvist wrote:
- Well fraps is fine to measure framerate with. Anyway
- I got almost the exact computer as you, 1600+ at
- 1800 Mhz, 180 fsb 2x256 Corsair XMS 3200 at 218 Mhz,
- epox nforce 2 board with onboard sound "Soundstorm"
- , 9700 PRO and CAT 3.4 and I am limited to
- 1280x960x32 at 85 Mhz.
-
- So I guess you got a 3200+ or P4 3.06 Ghz cpu /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
-

guess what, i have only barton 2500, but o/ced it little higher than 3200+ barton /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
whats more important is very stable never crash or hang!!



The Sun is Gone
But I Have a Light

XyZspineZyX
06-21-2003, 01:01 AM
I just tried 1600x1200 on my 9700 Pro and pull around 33-35 fps.

Sometimes I really wonder what these testers know about drivers and settings.

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-21-2003, 01:36 AM
That was what I thought http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif I need to upgrade. I just had to try it out and I could pull an average of 30+ something but that was of course when flying in smolensk in the quick mission builder. There was actually no difference in performance between 1600x1200 with 4x antialiasing and none antialiasing. Not smooth all the time but it was beautiful http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif I think I will stick with 1280x960x32 though or maybe see how much the IQ is hurt my setting detail and mip map levels lower.

Was running on excellent settings btw.

quote:

guess what, i have only barton 2500, but o/ced it
- little higher than 3200+ barton /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
- whats more important is very stable never crash or
- hang!!
-

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 09:19 PM
hmm 29fps average at 1600x1200x32 4xAA 8xAF on my R9700pro non overclocked. XP 2100+ @ 2255Mhz 512MT And ofcource on black death track.

XyZspineZyX
06-22-2003, 09:52 PM
oqvist wrote:
- Well fraps is fine to measure framerate with. Anyway
- I got almost the exact computer as you, 1600+ at
- 1800 Mhz, 180 fsb 2x256 Corsair XMS 3200 at 218 Mhz,
- epox nforce 2 board with onboard sound "Soundstorm"
- , 9700 PRO and CAT 3.4 and I am limited to
- 1280x960x32 at 85 Mhz.
-
- So I guess you got a 3200+ or P4 3.06 Ghz cpu /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
-
-


I notice you are running your system asynch. cpu@180 and ram at 218. AMD and the nforce chipset do not like to run asynch and you will get less performance. You also only have half the ram. Thats a huge difference in this game.



PF-Coastie

<p align="center">http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/images/419x100phantomfighters01.gif (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/default.asp)

http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/)

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 04:23 AM
I find using the internal fps meter on that settings I seem to get much higher fps than I should. I can get heavy stuttering and the fps still don´t go below 24. I should maybe run FRAPS instead.

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 04:28 AM
Well I have tried to run them synced but it was no difference noticeable in games. All I did notice was that I got lower scores in memory benchmarks. And I think they are somewhat synced. I am running the memory at 120% of the fsb.

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 04:51 AM
My black death track with a 9700 non pro and amd 2100+ and 768mb pc 2700 with 4xaa and 8x performance af is 27fps.

since the black death is the most intensive track you can run their scores are fubared.

rogo



"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 04:58 AM
btw

I'm going to oc the 2100 to 2.5ghz as soon as I get my new vantec 800u copper cpu heatsink. And then my samsung PC 3200 that i will OC.

I will give you all my latest scores in tbk (black death) as soon as I get it all done.

nvidia sucks.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

rogo

a dagger to rbj





"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 06:55 PM
Are they using perfect settings? I believe they are, so that is probably the reason for the low ATI scores.

--lbhkilla--

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/FW190.jpg .

"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"We could do with some of those razor blades, Herr Reichsmarshall."
When Erwin Rommel that British fighter-bombers had shot up my tanks with 40mm shells, the Hermann G¶ring who felt himself touched by this, said: "That's completely impossible. The Americans only know how to make razor blades." and the above was Rommels reply.

XyZspineZyX
06-24-2003, 06:03 AM
That or nvidia has "optimized" their drivers for IL 2 FB too. It has been discovered that nvidias det fx drivers have over 100 strings that hacks the in game shaders to improve performance on their nvidia cards to make them look better.

I have always wondered why the nvidia drivers are so many megabytes compared to ATI:s drivers... That is why renaming 3dmark to 3dmurc for example make the benchmark look so much better but also run at least 20 % slower...

XyZspineZyX
06-24-2003, 06:27 AM
remember Quake, Quack ati drivers? Everyone has cheated, now can we have a conversation about videocards without fanboys coming in and crying cheat. BTW nvidias drivers could be so big because they support all their cards back to the TNT,(maybe later cant remember). Thats a whole lot more cards than the Cats have to support.

--lbhkilla--

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/FW190.jpg .

"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"We could do with some of those razor blades, Herr Reichsmarshall."
When Erwin Rommel that British fighter-bombers had shot up my tanks with 40mm shells, the Hermann G¶ring who felt himself touched by this, said: "That's completely impossible. The Americans only know how to make razor blades." and the above was Rommels reply.

XyZspineZyX
06-25-2003, 04:34 AM
Sure ATI did cheat but the thing is now only nvidia is cheating and why would we support that? It is really we video card buyers who get cheated...