PDA

View Full Version : QUESTION: Dual-Core Processors Clock Speeds...



ksgtarheel
01-02-2008, 12:03 AM
So let's say I want to buy a laptop/desktop which features a dual core processor which has a listed clock speed of 1.8 GHz...

Does that mean each processing core has the potential of a clock speed of 1.8 ghz?

Or does it mean that each processing core is 900 Mhz?

Thanks for your help in advance!

Surlyduff50
01-02-2008, 03:07 AM
I'm not too sure, but I can tell you that it doesn't just mean two cores at 1.8ghz adding up to 3.6ghz...

JohnsHomegirl
01-02-2008, 03:42 AM
My sweetie will know this! He's sleeping right now, but he'll post when he wakes up. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

scworld
01-02-2008, 04:52 AM
Both at 1.8GHz

MeloniesHomeboy
01-02-2008, 07:28 AM
Yeah both, it means each core is 1.8ghz each, but that does not add up to 3.6ghz XF

ksgtarheel
01-02-2008, 11:55 AM
Thanks a bunch for the answer!

Kyle G.

GrImReApEr192
01-02-2008, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by ksgtarheel:
Kyle G.


If your name happens too be Kyle Gass,your my hero.

Tenacious D anyone?

ROLNIK
01-02-2008, 12:04 PM
They're both working at 1.8 but it doesn't mean that you get twice the processing power. Don't think that if you buy a dual core 2.8 you're gonna have same results as 5.6.

ksgtarheel
01-02-2008, 12:25 PM
I've been wondering for a while. So thanks to all for your answers.

I read last night that the software has to be written to take advantage of the dual cores...and that makes total sense too.

halo_99
01-02-2008, 01:05 PM
Originally posted by GrImReApEr192:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ksgtarheel:
Kyle G.


If your name happens too be Kyle Gass,your my hero.

Tenacious D anyone? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

No.