PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to enable Anti-Aliasing at all?



Pankratz1980
01-05-2011, 03:21 AM
I know there's an in-game AA option, but all it does is blur the entire image - to be honest, it makes the game look rather ugly... It's not REAL AA. On the other hand, without it, the omnipresent jaggies don't make the game pretty, either.

I tried forcing AA through drivers, to no effect.

Anno 1404 looks gorgeous with AA turned on - the image is sharp, devoid of jaggies so you can appreciate all the details - that's unfortunately not the case with Settlers 7, can something be done about it?

Coolworm
01-05-2011, 06:42 AM
Couldn't agree more, it just blurs the whole image and makes it look like it's running on a severely non-native resolution.

And this is on a large 22" 1680x1050 high-res screen with everything at the correct native monitor/resolution settings.

I have to leave AA off and live with the jaggies. :|

Pankratz1980
01-14-2011, 05:27 AM
So, no way to enable AA at all? What a shame, the game would look so gorgeous if we could get rid of the jaggies...

Irmalover
01-14-2011, 12:35 PM
I used to switch anti-aliasing off to improve the speed of my graphics card, which is an ASUS EN-9500 GT. The resolution is also monitor native, 1920 x 1080 pixels. I experience no problems with anti-aliasing.

Decina
01-14-2011, 08:20 PM
AA can be enabled only through external application. I use RivaTuner Direct3D Overrider.

Pankratz1980
01-24-2011, 06:05 AM
Originally posted by Decina:
AA can be enabled only through external application. I use RivaTuner Direct3D Overrider.

I have an ATI/AMD card, do you know what I would need to enable AA?

Irmalover
02-03-2011, 04:09 AM
Originally posted by Pankratz1980:
I have an ATI/AMD card, do you know what I would need to enable AA?
Does your video card have its own software to adjust its settings? If so, check it out.

Leifern
02-05-2011, 06:48 AM
Enabling ATI-AA in control center completely messes up the in-game graphics. Most items and buildings disappear and the game runs incredibly slow.

S7 1.11
Newest 4870 drivers and ATI-CC

Pankratz1980
02-23-2011, 07:06 AM
Originally posted by LeifEsten:
Enabling ATI-AA in control center completely messes up the in-game graphics. Most items and buildings disappear and the game runs incredibly slow.

S7 1.11
Newest 4870 drivers and ATI-CC

I just tried out the latest 11.2 drivers - yes, the same results you've reported. When I try to force any form of AA through Catalyst Control Centre - MSAA, SSAA, MLAA - verything becomes transparent.

It's really sad. Such a great looking game and it doesn't support AA, period.