PDA

View Full Version : On Distributed Servers (Uru Live) (long)

bfioca
11-22-2003, 10:34 PM
Hi all,
I've been reading this forum for a few days now (read: lurking), and I figured I'd try my hand at shedding some light on the issue of maybe why the Online version isn't quite ready yet.

Here's some background first. I was a beta tester, so I've seen Live. I'm also a software developer who works in the field of internet distributed systems. The company I work for, in fact, has recently been experiencing issues not unlike (presumably) those of Ubi/Cyan on their live servers.

The main issue is this: real-time distributed systems are *hard*. There are many reasons for this, the main one being the nature of the internet - firing packets off, some getting lost/dropped, resends, out-of-order communications, etc. The internet was never designed with real time systems in mind. In fact, much of the work going on with the next generation internet (IPv6) has to do with this issue.

Another major issue is intra-server concurrency. When you have hundreds of people on a server, all in contention for the same resources, there are many, many possibilities for failure, including deadlock issues, out-of-synch problems, the list is pretty large.

Compounding the complexity of planning for and solving these issues is the fact that for a system such as an online game, there are no load-testing programs out there you can use to test for bugs. You are basically forced to test in the production environment, since there is almost no way of simulating a real-world load in the QA cycle. No matter how much design and testing you do, until you get your software out there being hammered on you won't really know how it behaves under stress.