PDA

View Full Version : Engines Vs Batteries...

Utildai
09-15-2008, 06:13 PM
Hey Everyone,

I am new to the sub game and to Silent Hunter IV. How the HECK do you run on engines under water? Seems to always default to the batteries, which requires me to surface and charge them continually, or is this normal?

The manual is no help. Seems a bit odd to have to do such a thing on long trips through friendly waters.

Thanks!

EDIT... Found my answer, thanks everyone. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Frank_Oconnor
09-15-2008, 09:32 PM
OK ...

1. Any type of internal combustion engine really chews up air (read oxygen).

2. When submerged, submarines tend to be pretty impervious to outside air.

3. Running internal combusition engines whilst submerged would probably work fine for a time .... but the crew tending the motors would probably die of carbon monoxide poisoning (or carbon dioxide poisoning if they were really unlucky) after you'd travelled a few miles. At any rate ... the air would run out real quick.

4. For this reason sub designers of the internal combustion erea decided that running the motors underwater was probably not a good idea.

5. Some bright spark therefore hit on the idea of running on batteries that were charged by the internal combustion engines when the sub was on the surface.

6. This worked real good. The number of crew fatalities due to asphyxiation dropped dramatically, morale soared, and crew recruitment techniques that didn't involve press ganging became popular.

7. Unfortunately, batteries ran down when under contant use.

8. This meant that planned crew facilities like saunas, tanning salons and air-conditioning weren't up to optimum.

9. In the interests of attracting a better class of crew something had to be done ... so the nuclear power plant was invented.