PDA

View Full Version : Is P III 1 GHZ ok for Silent Hunter III?



evergreentree
03-28-2005, 04:27 PM
Is PIII 1 GHZ ok for Silent Hunter III?

evergreentree
03-28-2005, 04:27 PM
Is PIII 1 GHZ ok for Silent Hunter III?

Johnny_JG2
03-28-2005, 04:31 PM
Probably not.

Give it a shot though - but don't expect it to run very smoothly.

I have a P4 3.2ghz with 1gig DDR ram, and a Geforce 6800 vid card - and sometimes it starts chugging when I am on high time compression.

U-49
03-28-2005, 04:37 PM
Just an FYI, the box recommends at least a Pentium III 1.4GHz.

djackson44
03-28-2005, 05:17 PM
I'm running it on a Pentium 4 1.6 GHz. Waiting on my new graphics card because I only have a GeForce2 MX in it now (no water, rainbow colors). However the game is smooth believe it or not (even with the graphics messed up.

I do have 1 GB RAM memory too.

~DJ

smithjj1983
03-31-2005, 08:01 PM
I have a 996 MHz PIII, 512 MB RAM, GeForce Ti 4200 and the game runs surprisingly well.

The only problem I have is with high particle rendering, like the spray from the bow through binocs (I think I heard they fixed something similar in the patch, not sure) and when there are more than 8 or 9 ships being rendered.

So, yes, a 1 MHz PIII is ok, even though the box says otherwise and it fails the minimum system requirements test at install.

farcry454853
03-31-2005, 08:16 PM
Im running SH3 on a AMD Sempron 2400 (1.6ghz), 512 ddr ram and a Geforce fx5200 PCI card. Suprisingly enough i get smooth perfomance with the particles and textures on high. Just a small 1-2 second freeze when a ship explodes which happens occasionally. Also another bug is my GFX card, the periscope and binocs work fine, but the UZO causes extreme lag. Id give it a shot, 1gb of ram would certainly make a difference.

TASKFORCE1x1
04-06-2005, 11:50 PM
Topic moved to Com. Help April 7 2004.