PDA

View Full Version : the rvs patch 1.6 not working ??? causing games crashes on start



Frontpage
10-25-2004, 05:44 PM
hi i just updated to the new patch and my system keeps crashing anyone else with the same problem ... i even reinstalled and re applied the patch and crash again ... sigh .. going to go play never winter nights i think...

Frontpage
10-25-2004, 05:44 PM
hi i just updated to the new patch and my system keeps crashing anyone else with the same problem ... i even reinstalled and re applied the patch and crash again ... sigh .. going to go play never winter nights i think...

GSU-D3M0N
10-25-2004, 05:46 PM
A few people i know have had this problem. You tried a re-install etc? Just keep trying different things m8. If you find away around it be sure to let the others know k?

Shabadu
10-25-2004, 06:05 PM
i started a post on this as well. Having the exact same problem. Its just not fair that i dont get to complain about the patch like everyone else because i can't even experience it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

rickertsnaak
10-25-2004, 06:06 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Shabadu:
i started a post on this as well. Having the exact same problem. Its just not fair that i dont get to complain about the patch like everyone else because i can't even experience it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Leave it like this

Blud_E_Gutz
10-25-2004, 06:08 PM
Crash to desktop with athena---runaway loop again
Rainbow will run but when I try to activate athena through RVS --Crash to desktop.
Thanks again UBI!

NiteMage666
10-25-2004, 07:12 PM
I also crash with a runaway loop when I try to launch or activate AS. What gives?

Gunny Highway
10-25-2004, 07:15 PM
Have tried the old fix and see if it works?

link (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=327106611&m=702100142&r=941101703#941101703) or use the RVS_NoLoop.bat in system dir.

Shabadu
10-25-2004, 07:42 PM
no soup gunny

Major_A
10-25-2004, 07:49 PM
Crashing here and there same with AAO, and they both use the same game engine.

Shabadu
10-25-2004, 08:28 PM
As i posted in my thread, you have to use the RvS_NoLoop.bat file to start the game, which is in your RavenShield/system folder. If you can't switch to AS after you are in RvS, i don't know what to do.
Thank Gunny, he figured it out.

Blud_E_Gutz
10-25-2004, 08:35 PM
forget the noloop thing do this


right click on your RavenShield desktop icon

go to properties and add -norunaway

like this
"D:\Program Files\Red Storm Entertainment\RavenShield\system\RavenShield.exe" -norunaway
do the same to athena like this

"D:\Program Files\Red Storm Entertainment\RavenShield\system\RavenShield.exe" mod=AthenaSword -norunaway

note: space before the -norunaway
should work

XyZspineZyX
10-25-2004, 08:38 PM
I would like to say thank you to those of you that are posting fixes for this problem. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

theoretically
10-25-2004, 08:44 PM
why should we find and post fixes by ourselves?
it should be a Ubi's job, the lazy and stupid dev team out there

XyZspineZyX
10-25-2004, 08:46 PM
you know, if you have nothing constructive to say, then don't bother to post.

Gestankfaust
10-25-2004, 08:49 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by freakishly:
you know, if you have nothing constructive to say, then don't bother to post. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Especially on your first post

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

dranoel_awc
10-25-2004, 08:51 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Gestankfaust:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by freakishly:
you know, if you have nothing constructive to say, then don't bother to post. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Especially on your first post

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

And after being banned once already tonight.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-25-2004, 09:02 PM
yeah he is gone again.....some peoples kids.... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

MSP_Thor
10-28-2004, 10:05 AM
Blud_E_Gutz - Thanx for the fix. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif I was none too happy when I alloed 1.6 to update and I couldn't start a multi-player game in RavenShield, and I couldn't get Athen Sword to start at all. When I reported this error to UBI, all I got was their stock "check your drivers" letter and no mention of this simple fix. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Anyone at UBI listening? How about a comprehensive 2.0 fix before you go adding any more mods that could make this software more buggy than it already is. I already have to restart the server every several games due to one or another critical error.

Thanx again.

Thor

Blud_E_Gutz
10-28-2004, 02:39 PM
Glad it worked for you!!! adding -norunaway fixed alot of the crashing issues.

Gunny Highway
10-28-2004, 02:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MSP_Thor:
Blud_E_Gutz - Thanx for the fix. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif I was none too happy when I alloed 1.6 to update and I couldn't start a multi-player game in RavenShield, and I couldn't get Athen Sword to start at all. When I reported this error to UBI, all I got was their stock "check your drivers" letter and no mention of this simple fix. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Anyone at UBI listening? How about a comprehensive 2.0 fix before you go adding any more mods that could make this software more buggy than it already is. I already have to restart the server every several games due to one or another critical error.

Thanx again.

Thor <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

This simple fix as you call it is already mention in the Post Game Fixes Here!! (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=327106611&m=702100142) thread, so it isn't impossible for you to find if you read the stickies in the Help forum. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

UbiSoft solution center mentions it as fixed link (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1130&p_created=1049299982&p_sid=56E7r6ph&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PWRmbHQmcF9ncmlkc29yd D0mcF9yb3dfY250PTM2JnBfc2VhcmNoX3R5cGU9MyZwX3Byb2R fbHZsMT04OCZwX3Byb2RfbHZsMj0yNTcmcF9jYXRfbHZsMT1_Y W55fiZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_li=) , in the latest patch though http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif (latest patch i.e. at RvS 1.1 I think), but this is probably when the error occoured long time ago, and was reintroduced in 1.56 I believe, at least after 1.56 some ppl had the problem still.

It is also mentioned in the readme.txt under Patch 1.1 and they made a batchfile for launching the game with the -norunaway option.

Blud_E_Gutz
10-28-2004, 03:53 PM
Yep, that's what I like to do , go through 4 pages of stuff that has been posted for Many months that anybody can post comments to.

Maybe a sticky that is locked for each fix.
So you would have it labelled sticky 1:FIX norunaway loop.
Sticky 2: fix unlock resolution,
fix3: blahh blah blah
fix4: whatever here
instead of the messy way that it is set up here.
Heck, the guy even phoned UBI tech support and they don't have a clue!!
The support is a mess, and my answer helped him, he's happy and didn't have to read through pages of unorganised do do. Maybe if a tech from UBI was around to do their job , we might not have all these questions. Maybe if the patch makers did their job, we wouldn't have a problem that was fixed MANY months ago.
Sorry Gunny,Ubi should set up a proper and official tech forum!!!

Ofcr_Lawless
10-28-2004, 04:04 PM
If they did that the entire first 3 pages of the forum would be stickies.
Official tech support? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Each fix has a heading and it doesn't take all that long to look thru. I do it every day to get people the info they are looking for and I usually post a shortcut, like Gunny does, linking them straight to the fix.