PDA

View Full Version : Open Source / Freeware Video Editors/effects for Windows?

grimfalcon
08-05-2006, 03:06 PM
I was reading through the forums here trying to find what you all are recommending for a freeware editor/effects engine for windows? I'd prefer one that has an GUI to it since I'm fairly new at all of this.

I've not the capital for programs like Premiere/After-effects but have used them in the past and was wondering if there's at least stable programs out there that are similar that are free or at least, for someone with a smaller budget? I've tried a few open source (Jahkasara,etc) and so far, they're not very stable.

I'm looking for a program I can add text at specific frames in specific placements, freeze frames, colorize individual frames, add camera shake and include music tracks if that helps.

I know this probably gets asked 100x a day but I couldn't find a thread pointing at such software for us Windows folks.

grimfalcon
08-05-2006, 03:06 PM
I was reading through the forums here trying to find what you all are recommending for a freeware editor/effects engine for windows? I'd prefer one that has an GUI to it since I'm fairly new at all of this.

I've not the capital for programs like Premiere/After-effects but have used them in the past and was wondering if there's at least stable programs out there that are similar that are free or at least, for someone with a smaller budget? I've tried a few open source (Jahkasara,etc) and so far, they're not very stable.

I'm looking for a program I can add text at specific frames in specific placements, freeze frames, colorize individual frames, add camera shake and include music tracks if that helps.

I know this probably gets asked 100x a day but I couldn't find a thread pointing at such software for us Windows folks.

Maj_Solo
08-05-2006, 04:39 PM
VirtualDub has a GUI and some filters