PDA

View Full Version : Critical Exception



nattage
11-25-2004, 09:25 AM
I built a new PC 2 weeks ago. Since then I€ve been trying everything bar re-building it to get Far Cry to work.
I€ve spent hours reading this forum and the tweaking guide and have posted on my usual forum overclockers.
I€ve spent many more hours trying out all the suggestions.

I€ve actually got 2 PCs and they both get the same error when I launch the exe. I get a white square over windows then a second app comes saying:

CRITICAL ERROR>
Exception: 0xC0000005, at Address: 0x001B:0x400480FC
Exception Code: 0xC0000005
Exception Addr: 0x001B:0x400480FC
Exception Module: <Unknown>
Exception Description: Attempt to read from address 0x00000000

The memory could not be "read"
================================================== ===========================
2) function=0x400480FC
1) function=0x400480FC
================================================== ===========================

PC1
MSI K8N Neo Platinum 2 socket 939
A64 +3500
2X512Mb RAM PC3200 (whipped from a Fujitsu PC but has worked with FarCry before)
Radeon 9600XT 256mb
WinXP Sp2
DirectX9.0c

PC2
MSI K8N Neo Platinum socket 754
A64 +3200
1X512Mb RAM PC3200
Radeon 9600 256mb
WinXP Sp2
DirectX9.0c

I can run:
3dMark03
Medal of Honour
Prince of Persia
All the DirectX tests

What I€ve tried:
Memory Tests
Catalyst drivers version 3.9, 4.2, 4.2, 4.11
Removing old drivers each time with Driver Cleaner 3
+ uninstalling Far Cry and re-installing each time (checking the registry for any left over instances of Far Cry or FarCry)
Every possible combination of AGP setting or Anti Alasing setting both within the driver settings and from Bios (before trying another driver version).
Deleting the config file from the root directory

Now OK it€s the demo but I€ve had it work once on PC2 and I€d like to get it working again, get the bug again and then buy it.

nattage
11-25-2004, 09:25 AM
I built a new PC 2 weeks ago. Since then I€ve been trying everything bar re-building it to get Far Cry to work.
I€ve spent hours reading this forum and the tweaking guide and have posted on my usual forum overclockers.
I€ve spent many more hours trying out all the suggestions.

I€ve actually got 2 PCs and they both get the same error when I launch the exe. I get a white square over windows then a second app comes saying:

CRITICAL ERROR&gt;
Exception: 0xC0000005, at Address: 0x001B:0x400480FC
Exception Code: 0xC0000005
Exception Addr: 0x001B:0x400480FC
Exception Module: &lt;Unknown&gt;
Exception Description: Attempt to read from address 0x00000000

The memory could not be "read"
================================================== ===========================
2) function=0x400480FC
1) function=0x400480FC
================================================== ===========================

PC1
MSI K8N Neo Platinum 2 socket 939
A64 +3500
2X512Mb RAM PC3200 (whipped from a Fujitsu PC but has worked with FarCry before)
Radeon 9600XT 256mb
WinXP Sp2
DirectX9.0c

PC2
MSI K8N Neo Platinum socket 754
A64 +3200
1X512Mb RAM PC3200
Radeon 9600 256mb
WinXP Sp2
DirectX9.0c

I can run:
3dMark03
Medal of Honour
Prince of Persia
All the DirectX tests

What I€ve tried:
Memory Tests
Catalyst drivers version 3.9, 4.2, 4.2, 4.11
Removing old drivers each time with Driver Cleaner 3
+ uninstalling Far Cry and re-installing each time (checking the registry for any left over instances of Far Cry or FarCry)
Every possible combination of AGP setting or Anti Alasing setting both within the driver settings and from Bios (before trying another driver version).
Deleting the config file from the root directory

Now OK it€s the demo but I€ve had it work once on PC2 and I€d like to get it working again, get the bug again and then buy it.

Lord_Tea
11-26-2004, 09:32 PM
I keep getting EXACTLY the same error code.

Logged at Friday, November 26, 2004 21:04:16
FileVersion: 1.1.11.1133
ProductVersion: 1.1.11.1133

Exception Code: 0xC0000005
Exception Addr: 0x001B:0x4000DD62
Exception Module: &lt;Unknown&gt;
Exception Description: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION, Attempt to read from address 0x00000000

The memory could not be "read"

Call Stack Trace:
2) function=0x4000DD62
1) function=0x4000DD62

my PC:
Dell 8400 System with
Intel Pentium 4 540, 3.2 GHz
2x512 Mb RAM DDR2 533 MHz
Radeon X800 XT PCIe driven by Catalyst v4.11
WinXP SP2 Home Edition
DX9.0c

-----------------------

other games run flawlessly. So, what's going on?

nattage
11-29-2004, 08:56 AM
there's usually a response like yours followed by deafening silence.
Can anybody help us?

nattage
11-30-2004, 01:37 AM
odd only way I can find this post now is to search on my name. Please help us ;-)

Lord_Tea
11-30-2004, 08:54 AM
well, deafening silence will definitely not increase their sales. And I want to buy their game (or shall I say wantED???). So, still waiting for an answer.

BTW NONE of the two demos seem to work.

nightcrest
11-30-2004, 09:30 AM
I had this problem when I first installed the game (not the demo). I captured all of my progress in a thread which can't be located any more. Like you, I spent many hours tweaking, including under and over clocking, changin my RAM timing, every conceivable permutation in the video option, flashed my BIOS, downloaded every new driver and even tried a few old ones. What ultimately worked was setting my page file minimum=my RAM amount and my maximum=3X my RAM amount. I then downloaded a program called Cacheman, set it to the gamer profile, and never had the problem again. I was on Windows ME at the time. Interestingly, I recently installed XP Home SP2 on a spanking new hard drive, the Catalyst 4.11 w/ Control center drivers, and then Far Cry. The game works better than ever, not one issue.

Good luck.

ATI 9600 PRO
XP Home SP2
Athlon XP2800
1 GB Corsair Value Select
Onboard nforce2 sound
6mm-12mm dustbunnies

nattage
12-01-2004, 02:35 AM
I'll give that a try tonight (UK) thanks nightcrest

Lord_Tea
12-01-2004, 11:18 PM
ok it seems Ubisoft don't give a ****. I've tried alot of things including playing around with my RAM settings without any success. I'm now removing this **** from my harddisk. Downloading these so called "demos" was a 100% waste of bandwidth. Whatever....

DocSEAL
12-02-2004, 03:15 AM
In the machine that has 2 512 sticks...did you try to take one of them out??? If the game runs on 1 stick you know the other is bad. Same holds true for other PC.

nattage
12-02-2004, 03:59 AM
I'm contemplating another avenue of investigation to see if this game will work once more before purchasing it. ( the demo did work a few months back but on an older machine, with older MB drivers and Catalysts).
It involves E-mule. If I can get the full patched version to work then I'll buy it.
I'm not one for stealing software so I will buy it.

So here's where they're missing a trick in sales later on in the product's lifecycle. If the window of technology for which the demo will work is so shortlived, surley they should build updates to the demo into their plan?
Seems a bit daft if the demo can only reliably work for most PC users in the first half of the game's selling period

nattage
12-02-2004, 04:02 AM
yep I had a memory stick swapping session ;-)

DocSEAL
12-02-2004, 06:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by nattage:
If the window of technology for which the demo will work is so shortlived, surley they should build updates to the demo into their plan? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

To my knowledge the two demos released don't have a time lock on them.

nattage
12-02-2004, 10:09 AM
not a time clock. I mean if technology (in terms of mobos, processors and graphics cards and their respective drivers) develops such that the demo can't operate with them, then they should consider releasing updates that update the demo as well as the full game, or people who buy a fast new PC and then think "ooh I'll try that Far Cry game now I've got a rig that can handle it...." when they try the demo it don't work!

DocSEAL
12-02-2004, 01:41 PM
OIC says the blind man...dunno...I haven't been paying attention to demo doesn't work threads, but I don't think it's that common.