PDA

View Full Version : BIOS be the problem?



pmillett
11-02-2007, 08:21 PM
Could the fact that my processor is an Intel P4 3.0GHZ running at 1.5GHZ be a problem?

lecek
11-02-2007, 11:29 PM
Yes but...also your bus speed settings could be set to half of what it is supposed to.

The way your processor speed is set is by the multiplier and the bus speed. If you bus speed is say 400 MHz and your multiplier is say 7.5 then your CPU speed should be 3000 MHz (or 3 GHz).

So if you know your processor is supposed to be at 3 and you find out that your multiplier is set at 15 then your bus speed should be 200.

Usually your multiplier is proveded and locked by the CPU so your BIOS should tell you what it is.

Double check your math though because if you accidentally overclock your CPU you can void your warrenty and kill it at the same time. (And possibly take your mobo with it.)

Masterhawk405
11-03-2007, 05:42 AM
If your CPU is rated at 3gighz and running at half that, then ya might have a major problem. What operating system ya running, how old is the computer?

pmillett
11-03-2007, 06:12 AM
All the parts are brand new. I built the pc myself. I use a tool from intel to see what my processor speed is. and it is running at 1.5. How do I change that?

Masterhawk405
11-03-2007, 06:48 AM
Get ahold of the tech suport for your motherboard, they should be able to help you