PDA

View Full Version : V.O.I.P in GRAW PC ????



wlsdndn
04-02-2006, 01:52 AM
I just wondering GRAW PC possible VOIP chat
in MULTIPLAY likes XBOX360????

DeadandBuried
04-02-2006, 10:23 AM
Well there is VOIP in GRAW, so it might be similar, if thats what your asking..

Coheed_JX
04-02-2006, 10:30 AM
I think i was asking if there was one..not if there are the same...but meh :P

SpecOps.Briggs
04-02-2006, 12:02 PM
ZOMG, are therez controllerz like da xB0xz 3-citty?

Coheed_JX
04-02-2006, 02:16 PM
huh?

spm1138
04-02-2006, 06:17 PM
Oh please, no.

Or make it optional at least.

VOIP killed Half-Life mods for me.

Tell you what I would kill for and that is a function that lets the rest of the squad know who is talking on TS (i.e. bind a key in GR to my TS2 talk key and when I hit it a talk icon is added to me on my squad-mate's HUDs).

claybillings
04-03-2006, 08:03 AM
Yes that would definately be helpful. The only real way to know who is talking is if you know these peoples voices and a lot of the time thats not the case. I think that the VOIP in BF2 was good, probably the only good thing about it. Also, strangely enough, Dungeons and Dragons Online had a good VOIP as well.

Freshmixture
04-03-2006, 09:58 AM
Originally posted by spm1138:
Tell you what I would kill for and that is a function that lets the rest of the squad know who is talking on TS (i.e. bind a key in GR to my TS2 talk key and when I hit it a talk icon is added to me on my squad-mate's HUDs).

Your prayers answered: Teamspeak Overlay (http://www.teamspeakoverlay.com/)

It works brilliantly......now go on...start killing http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Fresh

Cobblers
04-03-2006, 10:03 AM
For console users you need access to in game comms full stop. For PC games, well nothing can beat TeamSpeak 2 and the like.

Take Counter Strike: Source for example. It has in built comms, but nothing there a high enough codec to compete with TeamSpeak 2.

@ Freshmixture - yeah, many people I know use the TeamSpeak overlay....they rate it highly...pity I couldn't get it to work on my system. Although I never tried very hard after getting inital problems with it.

SpecOps.Briggs
04-03-2006, 10:14 AM
TeamSpeak 2? Such a thing exists?

Explain Cobblers.

Cobblers
04-03-2006, 10:19 AM
@ SpecOps.Briggs - Your a PC player right and you've never heard of TeamSpeak 2? Shame on you!!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Basically, it is a free to download/use software. The quality, so long as you don't use the lowest codec then you will get almost telephone like quality. You will obviously require a mic and headphones/speakers to use it.

Most clans use TeamSpeak 2 and will gladly advertise their comms IP address (you need the IP address to access their channel) for you to jump on and join in the chat/banter whilst gaming with them.

Go to HERE (http://www.goteamspeak.com/index.php?page=news) for the TeamSpeak 2 web page. Go to the top right where it says "Download Now" (if you really needed to know that) for the, yes, you guessed it, the download of TeamSpeak 2.

Enjoy.....just as many gamers have freely for years before you.

Oh, if you don't like TeamSpeak 2, you could also try out Ventrilo (http://www.ventrilo.com/). also free and has some slightly different options available to you. One being when a person joins, you can have the software actually tell you, ie: "Cobblers has joined channel" in a computerised voice. At least it used to.

SpecOps.Briggs
04-03-2006, 10:28 AM
I've heard of and use Teamspeak ( 1? ) and Ventrilo, was on rugg's Vent last night. I didn't know there was a Teamspeak 2! Is there a difference between the two or is it another person who made it?

TedSmith
04-03-2006, 10:39 AM
Originally posted by SpecOps.Briggs:
I've heard of and use Teamspeak ( 1? ) and Ventrilo, was on rugg's Vent last night. I didn't know there was a Teamspeak 2! Is there a difference between the two or is it another person who made it?

Teamspeak 2 has been out for years. Chances are that's what you used, rather than the original. Teamspeak 3 is slated to come out sometime in the first half of 2006

SpecOps.Briggs
04-03-2006, 10:40 AM
Teamspeak : Advanced Warfighter

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

spm1138
04-03-2006, 11:01 AM
Oh, if you don't like TeamSpeak 2, you could also try out Ventrilo. also free and has some slightly different options available to you. One being when a person joins, you can have the software actually tell you, ie: "Cobblers has joined channel" in a computerised voice. At least it used to.

One of the big reasons I run dual displays.

SpecOps.Briggs
04-03-2006, 11:19 AM
I just distuingish between voices. Works wonders!

Coheed_JX
04-03-2006, 02:42 PM
LAWL=lol

BPR_MiK
04-03-2006, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by Freshmixture:

Your prayers answered: Teamspeak Overlay (http://www.teamspeakoverlay.com/)


Get rid of the dual display and take advice from those that know !! Great tool especially when you first startwith TS

spm1138
04-03-2006, 04:32 PM
I never had any luck getting TSO to work with Planetside.

Besides, monitor 2 = Teamspeak, MSN, iTunes ... and I was posting in reply to the post about Ventrillo speaking people's names when they hop in channel.

silent_op
04-05-2006, 12:30 PM
In my opinion, nothing beats TeamSpeak2. If any of the console guys could use it, they would understand the greatness that is TeamSpeak2 as well. I still can't believe this app is free. TS2 is so crisp, clear, and stable.

I'd rather have GRIN spend more time working on a solid modding tool than trying to out do TeamSpeak2.


silent_op

Ghost9
04-05-2006, 12:49 PM
i hope voip is included in GR:AW like someone above said. As long as you can mute it when you need to on a server and single player based level. It's fun to be able to talk to your team, especially in a game like this.

RWG_Jackal
04-05-2006, 01:00 PM
I ve spent the last several days looking for an article I read regarding GR:AW. In it they mentioned that GR:AW would NOT have VOIP.

That was several months ago and may have changed.

If anyone knows the article Im talking about please post a link.

big_perm
04-05-2006, 02:35 PM
Ive always thought that ventrilo sounds much better than TS. I havent been on a TS server in 2 years though so maybe they got better.

SpecOps.Briggs
04-05-2006, 02:58 PM
I tend to use both, people sound different on them but it's not a big difference.