PDA

View Full Version : loading screen glitch



jtran76
01-28-2007, 10:13 AM
Hi everyone, i just bought this game off ebay and installed it, but i noticed a few problems

for me, the loading screen is always scrambled, does anyone know why?

as well some issues regarding memory, i would get a error reading something like 'memory at such and such location cannot be read'

specs : dell laptop core duo 1.83ghz, 1 gb ram, ati 1400 128 (256 hyper)

jtran76
01-28-2007, 10:13 AM
Hi everyone, i just bought this game off ebay and installed it, but i noticed a few problems

for me, the loading screen is always scrambled, does anyone know why?

as well some issues regarding memory, i would get a error reading something like 'memory at such and such location cannot be read'

specs : dell laptop core duo 1.83ghz, 1 gb ram, ati 1400 128 (256 hyper)

ViciousGuy
01-28-2007, 10:25 AM
Scrambled?
Maybe you should post a screenshot.
Edit:
And for the memory could not be read error:
Does it look like this:
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/954/dmproblembe0.png
For those who cannot understand german:
__________________________________________________ _____________
Dark Messiah of Might and Magic mm.exe - error in application [x]
__________________________________________________ _____________
(X) The instruction "0x2408b229" refers to memories in "0x29420d70". The process "read" could not be accomplished on the memory.

Press "OK" to terminate the programm.
[OK]

jtran76
01-28-2007, 11:33 AM
hey this is the screen shot of the scrambling i was talking about.


http://img252.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitledyz4.jpg


also, im running .net 3 framework, sp2 winxp pro.'

and yes, thats exactly the error im recieving. what does that mean? and what should i do about it?

ViciousGuy
01-28-2007, 12:45 PM
Well, there used to be a "fix" for the "memory could not be read" error. However, it didn't always work and I cannot find it.

For the scrambled screen:
Run this (http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/ubi_srl?registration_option_id=3937) and post the analysis here that might help us.

jtran76
01-28-2007, 01:12 PM
Here are the results, i pass! but i still do not understand this problem.

CPU
Recommended: Pentium 4/Athlon XP or better
You Have: 2 processors running - Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2400 @ 1.83GHz
PASS
CPU Speed
Recommended: 3.2 GHz
You Have: 1.83 GHz Performance Rated at 4.12 GHz
PASS
System RAM
Recommended: 1 GB
You Have: 1022.4 MB
PASS
Operating System
Recommended: Windows XP
You Have: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
PASS
Video Card
Recommended: 256 MB DirectX 9-compliant video card (NVIDIA GeForce FX,6,7 families /ATI Radeon 9,X families)
You Have: ATI Mobility Radeon X1400 (ATI Mobility Radeon X1400 (0x7145))
PASS
Video Card Features - Minimum attributes of your Video Card

Video RAM: Required - 256 MB , You have - 256.0 MB
Video Card 3D Acceleration: Required - Yes , You have - Yes
Video HW Transform & Lighting: Required - Yes , You have - Yes
Vertex Shader Ver.: Required - 1.1 , You have - 3.0
Pixel Shader Ver.: Required - 1.4 , You have - 3.0

Video Card Driver Version (DirectX)
Your driver version number is: 6.14.10.6652
FYI: Make sure you have the latest driver for your video card. Click 'Free Driver Update' and we'll direct you to your video card manufacturer.
DirectX Version
Recommended: DirectX 9 or higher (included on disc)
You Have: 9.0c
PASS
Sound Card
Recommended: Yes
You Have: SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC
PASS
Sound Card Driver Version
Your driver version number is: 5.10.0.4995
FYI: Your sound card driver version is provided for your information, but it is not part of this analysis. But proper sound card driver versions are important to the proper operation of your product.
Free Disk Space
Recommended: 7 GB
You Have: 56.0 GB
PASS
DVD
Recommended: 4x or faster DVD-ROM drive
You Have: SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A

microphage
01-31-2007, 01:31 AM
I'm having the exact same problem (0x24086229 and (0x20420d70) no "read" error. I think the scrambled screen is just a side effect of the memory read error. It doesn't last but about a second then the error window pops up and you can't finish loading...

Anything more about that "fix"???
Thanks.

I was wondering if it was because I'm running an Athlon 64 3700 socket 939 2.4 GHz, but it seems an Intel product is having this also.

I have 1 gig dual channel ram and an ATI Radeon 9600 Pro so I passed the test on both min. and recc. requirements...

Help! I've played TES4 3 times through and this is supposed to be my Action/Adventure/Fantasy/FPS/RPG better than replacement!

microphage
01-31-2007, 03:17 AM
Results of test:

Congratulations, your system passes the recommened requirements!
You should have a great experience running this product.


CPU
Minimum: Pentium 4/Athlon XP or better
You Have: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3700+ PASS
CPU Speed
Minimum: 2.6 GHz
You Have: 2.40 GHz Performance Rated at 3.70 GHz PASS
System RAM
Minimum: 512 MB
You Have: 1023.5 MB PASS
Operating System
Minimum: Windows XP
You Have: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (Build 2600) PASS
Video Card
Minimum: 128 MB DirectX 9-compliant video card (NVIDIA GeForce FX,6,7 families /ATI Radeon 9,X families)
You Have: RADEON 9600 SERIES (ATI RADEON 9600 Series AGP (0x4152)) PASS
Video Card Features - Minimum attributes of your Video Card Video RAM: Required - 128 MB , You have - 256.0 MB
Video Card 3D Acceleration: Required - Yes , You have - Yes
Video HW Transform & Lighting: Required - Yes , You have - Yes
Vertex Shader Ver.: Required - 1.1 , You have - 2.0
Pixel Shader Ver.: Required - 1.4 , You have - 2.0


Video Card Driver Version (DirectX)
Your driver version number is: 6.14.10.6660
DirectX Version
Minimum: DirectX 9 or higher (included on disc)
You Have: 9.0c PASS
Sound Card
Minimum: Yes
You Have: Realtek AC'97 Audio for VIA (R) Audio Controller PASS
Sound Card Driver Version
Your driver version number is: 5.10.0.5830
Free Disk Space
Minimum: 7 GB
You Have: 13.2 GB PASS
DVD
Minimum: 4x or faster DVD-ROM drive
You Have: IDE DVD-ROM 16X PASS

I did get it to load to about 70% before getting the "read" error instead of 30% by updating my video drivers. There is another thread about this problem ( http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/8821027804/m/2591043894/p/1 ) but no solutions that completely worked for me. Apparently many people are experiencing this. Hopefully enough for a "fix" to be made and posted.