PDA

View Full Version : Low on torps and shells



dasbloke
07-07-2005, 05:51 AM
Just wondering what happens when I run out: apply for transfer?

Der.Adler
07-07-2005, 05:56 AM
format c: http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Sail back to base and get some might also work.

Rafe1
07-07-2005, 07:15 AM
Find a scuba diver and dive up those dud torpedoes from the ocean floor. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
Or ask if the Brits or Yanks have some spare torpedoes you may borrow. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

legodragonxp
07-07-2005, 08:24 AM
Return to your port. Look under special for "ramming prow" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

jooo9
07-07-2005, 09:11 AM
Or you can just use your deaf Hydrphone operators.

legodragonxp
07-07-2005, 10:06 AM
If you fire a deaf sonar operator at an enemy ship does he make a sound?
-Lego

stinkhammer6
07-07-2005, 11:50 AM
Press ALT+TAB then as quickly as you can hit CTRL+ALT+DEL twice.

Lukey__b
07-07-2005, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by legodragonxp:
If you fire a deaf sonar operator at an enemy ship does he make a sound?
-Lego

No, hes mute aswell.

Maj_Solo
07-07-2005, 07:15 PM
Originally posted by dasbloke:
Just wondering what happens when I run out: apply for transfer?

Those officers who have the non fatigue medals can swim back to base for more torps...

GT182
07-07-2005, 08:17 PM
When you run out of torpedos, radio BdU and you will receive a message telling you to RTB. Shells don't count.... only torpedos.

This also works if you don't want that long tip to a faraway grid with the Type IXs and up. Just patrol where ever you want and do the above.

dasbloke
07-08-2005, 12:09 AM
All very useful advise http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif I should
have added, it's at the base where I'm running out.

BobV_07
07-08-2005, 12:43 AM
Originally posted by dasbloke:
All very useful advise http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif I should
have added, it's at the base where I'm running out.


LOL, hmmmmm! I've never heard of anything like that. I went through my whole carrer without running out of torps at the base. When you return to base you should automaticaly get new torps. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif Do you have any renown?


http://img242.echo.cx/img242/9361/mesub6qj.jpg

dasbloke
07-08-2005, 03:50 AM
About 6500 at the moment. I'm down to about 24 steam & 8 electric. I can't even find any option to replenish deck & flak gun shells. You only get a finite amount, I can't believe no-one else has come across this. I'll use them up and see what happens.

LawDog007
07-08-2005, 08:57 AM
It will probly have you switch bases http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

If not, dock at another base and see if they will loan you some.

Law

quillan
07-08-2005, 09:16 AM
For each flotilla, there is a listing for each year which specifies the minimum and maximum number of torpedoes of each type available. At the start of the war, all you can get are types I and II. As the war progresses, other types become available, and the available number of I and IIs drop. When you return to port, you automatically get the standard loadout for your boat for that year, which costs you no renown even if some of those torpedo types normally do. The min/max numbers are for others you can use to switch out. If you click on the TORPEDOES heading again, you'll notice it makes a new random determination. Also, any torpedoes you remove from your boat by replacing with a different type go into the pool of available torps. So, you'll never really run out. It sounds to me as if you're hitting the period of 1942/43, where the TI and TII torpedoes are starting to go away, but the TIIIs haven't come out yet. Don't worry about it, it'll change soon.

stinkhammer6
07-08-2005, 12:50 PM
Running out of torpedos? Im about to enter 42 and I still have plenty of each type left over. I prefer the steam over the electric due to its setting options and only take out two electrics and use those for the initial attack of a tanker or larger in a daylight convoy so I can sling out a second shot before the first one hits.
Also you can always return to base with a couple of fish left in your tubes and deck gun as much as you can or the weather will allow. Just thought of this and hadnt tried it, if you dock at lets say Lorient and you are stationed at Brest, can you dock there and refuel and re arm? Or wont they let you dock there, and or possibly will it end your current patrol and start your next? Anyone?

GT182
07-08-2005, 06:10 PM
You can rearm at another base but you will have to return home to continue on with your next patrol. Your home base is the only one that will assign you your patrol grid.

stinkhammer6
07-08-2005, 08:10 PM
SO you are saying if Im on mission 16, almost out of deck gun ammo and have 2 torps left, I can dock at another base and rearm, leave the docks back out to sea and continue on with the same mission, meaning Ill still be on patrol 16?