PDA

View Full Version : Memory Key/Video Card



tombo1984
05-03-2011, 03:18 PM
Just got myself a new laptop as my Dell PC died.

It's a Alienware one and cost me £1,300.00

Tried loading SHV only for it to tell me i already used the product key. Does that really mean i have to buy the game again?

Also when loading the game it said that my video card didn't meet requirements. Surely this has to be wrong...

I got a Intel(R) Graphics Family...?

KingDaniel0
05-03-2011, 03:47 PM
Originally posted by tombo1984:
Tried loading SHV only for it to tell me i already used the product key. Does that really mean i have to buy the game again?

Also when loading the game it said that my video card didn't meet requirements. Surely this has to be wrong...

I got a Intel(R) Graphics Family...?

Regarding the CD-KEY already used Message, which UBISoft Account are you using now to Log-in and Register again ?

Did you use some other Account/Username by mistake, because the CD-KEY is linked and tied to only 1 UBISoft Account, i.e. your previous and first 'Registered' Account ?

If you log-in using some other Account, then you might get this Message, imo. Also give this link a read:

http://ubisoft-en.custhelp.com...rs/detail/a_id/14023 (http://ubisoft-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14023)


And oh yes, you are below the Minimum Game requirements, as you won't be able to properly play SH5 on this INTEL integrated Chipset, and that too you have a Laptop. SH5 is a very Graphic demanding game, and the Game does not have a proper support for Laptop/Mobile version of Video cards. Though you can try playing the Game on Low Video settings, and Screen Resolution, if you happen to launch SH5.....

Btw, what is the exact Model of the INTEL chipset Graphics processor ? Are you fully sure it's INTEL ?

But anyways, first go here, select SH5 from the drop-down Menu, and tell me the results:

http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/



-----------------------------------------------------------------------

tombo1984
05-03-2011, 04:21 PM
CPU
Recommended: Intel Core™2 Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz / AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ 2.6 GHz or higher recommended
You Have: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz
PASS

RAM
Recommended: 2 GB
You Have: 5.9 GB
PASS

OS
Recommended: Windows® XP (Service Pack 3), Windows Vista® (Service Pack 2), Windows® 7
You Have: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition (build 7600), 64-bit
PASS

Video Card
Recommended: 512 MB DirectX® 9.0c-compliant video card (NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT / 9 / GTX 200 series or ATI Radeon HD 2600 / HD 3000 / HD 4000 / HD 5000 series)
You Have: GeForce GT 555M
Upgrade Suggested: Unfortunately, your Video Card does not meet this requirement. Click here to see some recommendations.
Features: Recommended attributes of your Video Card
Required You Have
Video RAM 1 GB 4.0 GB
Hardware T&L Yes No
Pixel Shader version 3.0 0.0
Vertex Shader version 3.0 0.0


Sound Card
Recommended: Yes
You Have: Microsoft Streaming Quality Manager Proxy
PASS

Free Disk Space
Recommended: 15 GB
You Have: 555.1 GB
PASS

KingDaniel0
05-03-2011, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by tombo1984:
Video Card
Recommended: 512 MB DirectX® 9.0c-compliant video card (NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT / 9 / GTX 200 series or ATI Radeon HD 2600 / HD 3000 / HD 4000 / HD 5000 series)
You Have: GeForce GT 555M
Upgrade Suggested: Unfortunately, your Video Card does not meet this requirement. Click here to see some recommendations.
Features: Recommended attributes of your Video Card
Required You Have
Video RAM 1 GB 4.0 GB
Hardware T&L Yes No
Pixel Shader version 3.0 0.0
Vertex Shader version 3.0 0.0

Ok, it looks the site says you Video card is Not supported i.e. the GeForce GT 555M ?

But this mobile GPU has support for DX11, and Shader Model 5.0, and even though this Model is not listed under the required specs for SH5, you can first try playing the game.

And under the 'Hardware T&L' section/attribute I think it says NO ? Sometimes the results given from that Website are a bit unclear....

Can you launch and play the Game easily ? Ignore any warning messages you might get.......First try to play the Game, and check the overall in-game performance/FPS. If you still can't play it, then look for some other alternative.

Minimum Requirements for Silent Hunter 5, just for reference:

http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/ap...rs/detail/a_id/13228 (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13228)


Btw, what about the CD-key message ? Is that problem solved ? As a side note, make sure you fully Update all your drivers, and the DirectX9 runtime files:

http://www.microsoft.com/downl...C3-AE91-50CEB6D8FA8D (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=3B170B25-ABAB-4BC3-AE91-50CEB6D8FA8D)



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

tombo1984
05-03-2011, 05:44 PM
To be completely honest. I think i'm going to return it.

I tried playing SHV and Napoleon Total War on it and it's just quitting to main windows page with no warning.

Reckon I would have more luck with a m17x? Seems to have a more powerful video card?

tombo1984
05-04-2011, 09:47 AM
Would this be enough theoretically?

Alienware Aurora Matte Black 525W Chassis
PROCESSOR 3.3GHz Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (6MB Cache) Quad Core Unlocked Processor with overclocked Turbo Boost t
OPERATING SYSTEM Genuine Windows® 7 SP1 Home Premium, 64bit, English
GRAPHICS CARD Single 1GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 460
MEMORY 4096MB (2x2GB) 1866MHz DDR3 Dual Channel
HARD DRIVE 1TB - SATA-II, 7,200rpm, 32MB Cache
SOUND CARD Soundblaster¿ XFi¿ Titanium PCIe card

KingDaniel0
05-04-2011, 03:27 PM
Originally posted by tombo1984:
Would this be enough theoretically?

Alienware Aurora Matte Black 525W Chassis
PROCESSOR 3.3GHz Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (6MB Cache) Quad Core Unlocked Processor with overclocked Turbo Boost t
OPERATING SYSTEM Genuine Windows® 7 SP1 Home Premium, 64bit, English
GRAPHICS CARD Single 1GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 460
MEMORY 4096MB (2x2GB) 1866MHz DDR3 Dual Channel
HARD DRIVE 1TB - SATA-II, 7,200rpm, 32MB Cache
SOUND CARD Soundblaster¿ XFi¿ Titanium PCIe card

Yes, I think these specs should be fine, though I can't commit anything. What if the Game again does not run ?

Actually the VIDEO CARD is creating most of the Bottleneck, imho.....Even your previous Alienware Laptop specs are Good, but the GPU is not supported. Though in this case the GTX series is supported by this Game, so the GTX 460 should be fine, but again, I can't say this for sure.

Btw, from where did you took these SPECS ? Is it your Computer ?



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tombo1984
05-04-2011, 04:26 PM
The laptop specs above is my laptop.

It's being returned tuesday though.

The one below it is the desktop i'm planning on buying...

Replacing it with a desktop.