PDA

View Full Version : Graphics cards...



U-2323
03-04-2005, 03:57 PM
Better graphics card for SHIII (used with a P4 3.4 or 3.6 GHZ w/ 1 GB RAM).....256MB PCI Express x16 ATI Radeon X850 XT PE or 256 MB Nvidia GeForce 6800 GTO??

U-2323
03-04-2005, 03:57 PM
Better graphics card for SHIII (used with a P4 3.4 or 3.6 GHZ w/ 1 GB RAM).....256MB PCI Express x16 ATI Radeon X850 XT PE or 256 MB Nvidia GeForce 6800 GTO??

julien673
03-04-2005, 03:59 PM
6800 gt... its all depending on your money http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif you can have dual video card if you want http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

U-2323
03-04-2005, 04:04 PM
really? the 6800 GTO is better than the ATI X850 XT?? the ATI is a lot more money though... i guess both would run SHIII easily?

NickNameless
03-04-2005, 04:08 PM
I'm guessing my etcho-sketch deluxe won't cut it then eh?

**** the luck. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

u2336
03-04-2005, 04:08 PM
without any problem.....all you need after will be the game itself.

I have P4 2.54Ghz 1Go RAM and a 6600GT AGP and I am expecting good FPS.

Tomcat41
03-04-2005, 04:13 PM
GTO is not the same as GT

GT is better than GTO i believe.

U-2323
03-04-2005, 04:39 PM
ok well the GTO is the one im talking about... i wonder if the ATI 256MB Radeon X850 XT PE is better than the NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GTO??

JG27_Arklight
03-04-2005, 04:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by U-2323:
ok well the GTO is the one im talking about... i wonder if the ATI 256MB Radeon X850 XT PE is better than the NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GTO?? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The ATI X850XT PE is better then EVERYTHING right now.

AFAIK, it is the fastest card on the market.

The GT is better then the GTO and the X850XT PE is better then the GT. There really is no comparison between a GTO and an X850XT PE.

Of course, the X850XT PE is also $500+ after tax. LOL

Messervy
03-04-2005, 04:57 PM
Ark, I was planing to ask you for an advice regarding a new rig I am planing to assemble after this summer.
My preferences are ASUS, INTEL and ATI.
I guess by that time PCI express will be mandatory, I also set an eye on Intels 1066 FSB proc which will, hopefully be cheaper by the time.
No.1 Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-131-516&depa=0
No.2: Proc: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=19-116-189&depa=0
No.3: RAM =That˙s were I lost track of progress.

When I was assebling my current rig some two and a half years ago I went trough many geek forums to learn the tricks since it was my first "do it yourself" rig.
I am planing to do it again but just for a quick gide:
What`s the deal with the new DDR2 line of RAMs?
They sure have high speeds but latency`s are also very high.
Would appreciate any hint!

JG27_Arklight
03-04-2005, 05:00 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Messervy:
Ark, I was planing to ask you for an advice regarding a new rig I am planing to assemble after this summer.
My preferences are ASUS, INTEL and ATI.
I guess by that time PCI express will be mandatory, I also set an eye on Intels 1066 FSB proc which will, hopefully be cheaper by the time.
No.1 Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-131-516&depa=0
No.2: Proc: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=19-116-189&depa=0
No.3: RAM =That˙s were I lost track of progress.

When I was assebling my current rig some two and a half years ago I went trough many geek forums to learn the tricks since it was my first "do it yourself" rig.
I am planing to do it again but just for a quick gide:
What`s the deal with the new DDR2 line of RAMs?
They sure have high speeds but latency`s are also very high.
Would appreciate any hint! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What are your system specs right now?

Messervy
03-04-2005, 05:11 PM
Asus P-4G8X E deluxe (Works only with 266 RAM)??? - never quite figured why!
P-4 2.4 533 FSB
1024 RAM - Unspecified (266) 2-3-3-6
ATI 9700 PRO
2 X Maxtor 160 Raid 0
1 x Maxtor 160 IDE
etc....

Tomcat41
03-04-2005, 05:15 PM
I'll put in the mandatory strong advice to go the AMD route if your main focus is gaming http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

JG27_Arklight
03-04-2005, 05:15 PM
I would recommend you wait to upgrade. Your system isn't exactly "slow". You should be fine for SH3, I would imagine.

Over the period of the next year or so there will more then likley be 512mb video cards and DDR3 RAM. Not to mention processor prices should drop relatively quickly after the first quarter of the year.

What type of 2.4 is your processor (A, B, or C)?

Messervy
03-04-2005, 05:18 PM
@Tomcat41
Not quite.
I also fiddle a lot with music (midi keyboard and Reason software), I work in a photo lab so a lot of Photoshop, and I hopefully plan to learn 3Dsmax, but this one is far fetched.

Messervy
03-04-2005, 05:23 PM
@Ark
He, he I am one and only who is not actualy asking "will this machine run SH lll".
I know I am fine but it`s my policy to change rigs in 2-3 years.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/CPU.jpg

JG27_Arklight
03-04-2005, 05:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Messervy:
Not quite.
I also fiddle a lot with music (midi keyboard and Reason software), I work in a photo lab so a lot of Photoshop, and I hopefully plan to learn 3Dsmax, but this one is far fetched. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ah, I c.

SH3 should run decently I think. Not sure about 3D Studio Max and whatnot. Photoshop ran great on my older machine which was lower spec'd then yours and I had FS2002 running in the background. lol

*EDIT*

It looks like you have a 2.40C (I don't have CPU-Z installed at the moment so I can't match up my system). You would havppen to have the box with the batch number, etc. on it would you?

BobV_07
03-04-2005, 05:26 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tomcat41:
I'll put in the mandatory strong advice to go the AMD route if your main focus is gaming http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Thats correct!


http://adjunct.diodon349.com/photopoint/0037/0046.jpg

Messervy
03-04-2005, 05:31 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JG27_Arklight:
I would recommend you wait to upgrade. Over the period of the next year or so there will more then likley be 512mb video cards and DDR3 RAM. Not to mention processor prices should drop relatively quickly after the first quarter of the year.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well this is neverendig story and I guess one has to bite the bullet sometimes. I just read today that intel has announced their new line of dual core processors so I might just as well wait for those to be available.
No...I think I`ll go for the top of the line in autumn but with proven technology. No SLI and other nonsence.

JG27_Arklight
03-04-2005, 05:31 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BobV_07:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tomcat41:
I'll put in the mandatory strong advice to go the AMD route if your main focus is gaming http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Thats correct!


http://adjunct.diodon349.com/photopoint/0037/0046.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


The past few intel systems I have had and tested kicked the **** out of my AMD setups. Not to mention there has NEVER been a stability issue with my Intel rigs.

My current system is just as fast as an FX-53 and about 1/3 the cost.

IMO, I would stick with Intel. AMD is all fine and dandy but Intel is in bed with Microsoft. The 64bit OS is not going to come out till Intel can compete with AMD....so owning a 64bit right now is pretty pointless. Having a 64bit processor with NO 64bit OS and NO 64bit games is pretty useless.

By the time the 64bit OS comes out and 64bit games start to appear, all the 64bit processors that are out now that everybody is buying are going to be inferior. That's why I always LMAO when I hear about everybody running out and buying 64bit cpus right now.

Messervy
03-04-2005, 05:35 PM
Originally posted by BobV_07:

Thats correct!

Bob do me a favour and try to paste this link in your avatar URL line:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/BobV_07.gif

I`ve been trying to figure out why it doesn˙t work and rearanged it a bit.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/Messervy/BobV_07.gif

JG27_Arklight
03-04-2005, 05:37 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Messervy:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JG27_Arklight:
I would recommend you wait to upgrade. Over the period of the next year or so there will more then likley be 512mb video cards and DDR3 RAM. Not to mention processor prices should drop relatively quickly after the first quarter of the year.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well this is neverendig story and I guess one has to bite the bullet sometimes. I just read today that intel has announced their new line of dual core processors so I might just as well wait for those to be available.
No...I think I`ll go for the top of the line in autumn but with proven technology. No SLI and other nonsence. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Good choice.

IMO, SLI is overrated. Add in the fact that having dual video cards in SLI mode creates more heat then a Louisiana *****house in July and I would be inclined to wait as well.

I used to go out every year and upgrade my computer to the highest spec in existence but after about 5 years I stopped. Why? The cost was MUCH more and the performance difference was not what I wanted it to be. Therefore I started oc'ing. Now I have an older cpu (somewhat) that can compete with some of the latest cpus out there...but do it at 1/3-1/4 the cost.

Despite popular belief, oc'iing does NOTHING to hurt your system if you do it right. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Messervy
03-04-2005, 05:56 PM
Agreed. When I started oc`ing I bought some extra fans and temp probes so that I could monitor the heat buildup. I managed to get my cpu to 2998 then it begun to be unstable. I still think it could go further but with my 266 ram it was areally being pushed to the limit.

macker33
03-04-2005, 11:00 PM
Well i've just bought a sapphire radeon 9600pro 256ddr 8xAGP off ebay for about $110,it was either that or a radeon 9800se 256ddr 8xAGP.

Anybody know if i have done the right thing?I know arklight said something about overheating.

JG27_Arklight
03-04-2005, 11:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by macker33:
Well i've just bought a sapphire radeon 9600pro 256ddr 8xAGP off ebay for about $110,it was either that or a radeon 9800se 256ddr 8xAGP.

Anybody know if i have done the right thing?I know arklight said something about overheating. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, the Radeon 9800 256 mb cards blow. IIRC, the 9800XT was the next, and fixed, incarnation of the failed Radeon 256.

That's why the 9800 256 was so limited in production.

That card should do well, I'm guessing, in SHIII. We will all just have to wait and see.

I'd hate to see another LOMAC situation. Luckily, I think there is very little chance of that occuring!

macker33
03-05-2005, 12:28 AM
ok,spill the beans on lomac,what happaned?