PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade for farcry / Hl2 etc.... Advice needed....



shamone_mo_fo
12-13-2004, 12:12 PM
Hi,
Got a few questions and would appreciate any feedback/advice you can give...

Firstly though ... specs...
epox 8rda mobo. non +.
AMD XP2000 @1.6, stock cooling (can`t oc)
1gig geil pc3200 cas 2.5
BBAti radeon 9800 pro 128mb 256bit
Maudio delta 66 professional sound card...
1 x seagate 80gb hd 2 x maxtor 20gb hd.

as you can see from my specs.... my cpu is getting on a bit and probably needs an upgrade..
What do I go for??? My budget is low, the max cpu my MB can take is xp3000 barton 333fsb. should i go for that (and if i do what sort of performance increase will I see) or should I get a new mb as well and go for an xp3200 with fsb400 so I can take advantage of the PC3200 ram (again, what difference will it make...?)

I wanna get 60min fps in farcry / ut2004, at the mo in farcry I get about 23 - 130fps... some places it gets really high, indoor areas mainly and sometimes really low, using binocs etc. in ut 2004 i was getting 20 - 40 fps with my radeon 9000se so i upgraded to the 9800 pro and havnt seen much increase.. still goes low (20ish) but can get a tad higher than b4...
Im guessing my fps stays low because of the cpu so want to upgrade...but what sort of difference will i see with a xp3000 or new mobo and xp3200.
also one more question... should i run my ram at 133mhz or 200mhz whilst using the xp2000 (133fsb), what are the pros/cons of each setting. my mobo will let me do either so which is best??
any suggestions???

shamone_mo_fo
12-13-2004, 12:12 PM
Hi,
Got a few questions and would appreciate any feedback/advice you can give...

Firstly though ... specs...
epox 8rda mobo. non +.
AMD XP2000 @1.6, stock cooling (can`t oc)
1gig geil pc3200 cas 2.5
BBAti radeon 9800 pro 128mb 256bit
Maudio delta 66 professional sound card...
1 x seagate 80gb hd 2 x maxtor 20gb hd.

as you can see from my specs.... my cpu is getting on a bit and probably needs an upgrade..
What do I go for??? My budget is low, the max cpu my MB can take is xp3000 barton 333fsb. should i go for that (and if i do what sort of performance increase will I see) or should I get a new mb as well and go for an xp3200 with fsb400 so I can take advantage of the PC3200 ram (again, what difference will it make...?)

I wanna get 60min fps in farcry / ut2004, at the mo in farcry I get about 23 - 130fps... some places it gets really high, indoor areas mainly and sometimes really low, using binocs etc. in ut 2004 i was getting 20 - 40 fps with my radeon 9000se so i upgraded to the 9800 pro and havnt seen much increase.. still goes low (20ish) but can get a tad higher than b4...
Im guessing my fps stays low because of the cpu so want to upgrade...but what sort of difference will i see with a xp3000 or new mobo and xp3200.
also one more question... should i run my ram at 133mhz or 200mhz whilst using the xp2000 (133fsb), what are the pros/cons of each setting. my mobo will let me do either so which is best??
any suggestions???

fabulouscoops
12-13-2004, 01:06 PM
Unless you run your games at the lowest resolution, you will have a hard time getting 60 fps in Far Cry with a 9800 pro no matter what the CPU speed is. Look at my specs and fps in Far Cry as an example. I am running an overclocked P4 chip at 3.7 GHz and a softmodded 9800 Pro to XT conversion and 50 fps ave. is about all I can muster. (To make a proper comparison, use benchemall to get an average score for fps and not just eyeballing a number in the corner of the screen.)
That said, I play Far Cry all the time with zero problems and it looks and plays great. I have also played HL2 (1024x768 high graphics, AAx2 and AFx4) and DOOM3 with no problems.
If you want to keep your video card and just upgrade your mobo and CPU. I say go for it but do not expect that will get you >60 fps.
The 9800 pro should be far, far superior to a 9000, not just a little better. Check that your AGP is 8x not 4x since the 9000 is a 4x card. You may need to do a BIOS upgrade and update your chipset drivers. Or maybe that mobo does not support 8x.

I would say run 133 MHz using the 133 fsb CPU. When memory and CPU speeds are matched, the system usually performs better.

Hope some of this helps.

Worf101
12-13-2004, 01:31 PM
I had the exact same rig up until last July. In order to make any "serious" dent in todays games, Far Cry, HL2, Doom3 or even Call of Duty, you're gonna have to upgrade. There's nothing in that system you can truly reuse cept maybe your keyboard, mouse and monitor. I swapped out my Mobo, ram and HSF and gave the rig to my son. I built a new one FX-53 for myself.

Da Worfster

shamone_mo_fo
12-13-2004, 06:01 PM
Thanks for the feedback...

Fab - as you can see from my original post... im getting anywhere between 23 and 130ish... my average is 40 outside and 70 - 80 inside... im playing with some medium settings and some high, water is very high.. resolution is 1024x768. I would have though that by jumping to a xp3000 from my xp2000 would give me a reaonable performance boost.. i just ran the benchmark you recommened... i got 37fps average on 1024x768 high details. any good??

worf- I just bought the radeon 9800, surely thats worth keeping... its not the best out there but for the cost (130) I thought it was an excellent deal.... I dont need to play games in 1600xwhetever beacuse I play on a 16ms 19"lcd. So the 9800 should be good for at least another year...

I just bought the 9800pro and wont be changing it for a while so really, what I want to know is, what cpu is best matched for the 9800pro 128mb 256bit. would a xp3000 be enough, too much or just right...

thanks for reading....

fabulouscoops
12-13-2004, 07:35 PM
If the 3000 is the fastest CPU you can put on your mobo then I would say do it. That upgrade will compliment your 9800 pro better than the 2000 you have now for the least amount of money. The 9800 pro/XT is a card that was the top of the line when Far Cry was developed. [With all due respect to Worf] Don't let anyone tell you that you need a x850 or 6800 ultra to play the game. Sometimes PC enthusiasts fall in love with the latest and greatest (which is not bad, I do it myself) but don't always remember that some folks are on a budget.

Before I started overclocking my CPU and vid card I was getting about 37 average fps just like you. With a little tweaking, the right video drivers, and a clean system, you should be able to get up into the 40's in Far Cry which is argueably the most harware intensive game currently available. That should hold you until the next round of super harware intensive games appear.

BTW. many people have noticed that the AI in Far Cry gets noticably better with a faster CPU, so watch your back.

shamone_mo_fo
12-14-2004, 08:46 AM
I probably will go for the 3000, seen one for about 80-90 pounds. not bad I thought.... I just gotta sell my sapphire 9000 atlantis and the spare 256Mb I have to help raise the funds and hopefully I`ll be gettting some cash for Xmas!!!! If not I will just have to starve for a month so I can afford it.... As long as I get a noticable difference with it in UT2K4 and Farcry (and hopefully HL2 depending on how nice santa is this year, he he) then I`ll be happy!

Im running my ram at 133/266 now... seems to be a lot more stable than at 200/400 but loading times are a bit longer ( I expected that though...)
would there be any point in spending an extra 50 on a 3200 and new mobo, would I see a noticable difference between the two?? (XP3000/XP3200) or would I be better of settling for the 3000 now and upgrading to 64bit as soon as I can afford it (could be a while)?

shamone_mo_fo
12-14-2004, 05:11 PM
To add to the above.. a new mobo and 3200 would mean I could use my ram at its default speed... is the extra 67mhz gunna make a difference?

DocSEAL
12-15-2004, 10:27 AM
yes, keeping all else equal, the faster you can get your memory to run the faster your system will run.

pakmanis
12-15-2004, 11:39 AM
We're in the same shoes almost. I have the nforce2 A7N8X deluxe v1.04. The release right before the official 400mhz support. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif

I think it's possible you can OC that board with minimal investment though.

Check out this site www.nforcershq.com (http://www.nforcershq.com) and go to the forums. Join and ask if there is if it's possible to crank that puppy up.

Here's a quote from a recent post in the Epox forum there.

"My XP1700+ DUT3C will run 220FSB X 11 = 2420Mhz
The XP1700+ DLT3C runs 220FSB X 11.5 = 2530Mhz"

Unfortunately this guy didn't post his system specs.

shamone_mo_fo
12-16-2004, 08:24 AM
thanks for the link pakmanis
I`ll be sure to have a look....
Another question... do i need a new cpu HS+F???
Im still using the one i got with the XP2000.. will this be enuf to cool a 3000?? if not whats a good (cheap) HS+F that I could look out for?

jak9114
12-17-2004, 10:18 AM
I'd go with the Athlon 64 3200, and a new nforce 3 mobo. You could probably find a decent board for $100. Sorry, don't know what that is is pounds. Everything else is pretty nice. The memory is fine, and the 9800 may not be a 6800 ultra, but its a good card.

If you buy a retail boxed cpu, it will come with a heatsink / fan, and a longer warranty.

I'm not an AMD guy, but I do think there is a noticeable difference between the xp 3200 and the 64 3200.

And to go along with the board. You have pc 3200, wouldn't it be nice to run it at the speed it is supposed to run at.

shamone_mo_fo
12-17-2004, 05:27 PM
Thanks for the reply jak... unfortunatly my funds are low.. and I dont know if I can stretch to a new mobo and xp3200 let alone the jump to 64bit!! at the mo my funds are only gunna cover an xp3000 to go in my current mobo, to jump to 64 bit would mean doubling the money, unfortunatly, not an option... believe me, I wish it was!
also im having trouble with my setup in general.. sometimes the hds dont boot properly and make wierd noises... Ive replaced my ram and gfx card, I dont know whats up.. I think it might be the hds themselves but im not sure.. Im not sure how to find out... is there anyway of telling whats up without swaping and changing hardware??
Thanks

jak9114
12-17-2004, 09:34 PM
Usually if the hard drive is making a unusual noise, such as clicking, and doing things such as failing to boot, then its on its way out. Abnormal clicking, and booting, and or crashing problems is the classic hard drive is about to die sign. Meaning you don't have much time left. So back up anything important, and say goodbye.

Try using the scan disk in XP and see what it tells you. Sometimes its just the mechanism in the drive itself that goes, so I don't know if scan disk will pick up any bad sectors. Either way, its one more expence for you. How many hard drives do you have? I doubt if both are going, so you could just use one, if you have two.

shamone_mo_fo
12-18-2004, 04:35 AM
Thank again for the reply!!.
Ive got 3 drives 1 x seagate barracuda.(which i think is working fine. and 2 x maxtor 20gb... I think if it is the drives then it will be the 2 maxtor drives.(about 4 years old now) as opposed to the seagate (about a year and a half old) Funny thing is that it has been happening on and off for the past 2 years or something.... If it was the drives surely they would have died by now!!! Im confused..... Im gunna try a new mobo cpu combo if i can afford it. (seen 3200xp + good mobo for 110) if that doesnt work then i will know for sure that it is the drives/drive. And after I buy the new mobo / cpu i`ll be able to sell my xp2000 on ebay for about 30 - 40ish so will be able to buy a new drive (probs another 80gig so i`lll have 160gb in total) If alll goes well over xmas and the next few weeks then this will be my system,...

ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo (or similar)
AMD Athlon xp3200+
1GB Geil DDR400
BB Ati radeon 9800 pro 128mb 256bit.
Maudio Delta 66 professional sound card
2 x 80 gig h/d (1 x seagate barracuda 1 x new??)

What do you think?
Hows a setup like that gunna perform with next years games...
Thanks

jak9114
12-18-2004, 10:23 PM
I'm sure people will tell you its not good enough, but as long as you don't have to turn all the settings to the max, it should be fine. I ran Far Cry with a P4 3.2, and the 9800 pro at 1156x768, and everything at very high, no AA, just fine. You have plenty o RAM.

What I don't understand is why get the XP? I just checked. The Athlon 64 3200 is $193, and the xp 3200 is $205. Isn't the 64 bit 3200 faster then the xp, as well as cheaper? You said money was a factor, so since you just said you're getting a new board, go 64 bit. Its cheaper, and I think faster.

xp 3200
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-390&depa=1

64 3200
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-483&depa=1

Like I said, I'm not an AMD guy, but I thought the 64 is faster then the xp, but if its not... please enlighten me as to what is going on here

slugworth01
12-19-2004, 02:05 AM
If he gets the Athlon 64 instead of the XP, he'll needa mobo update as well.

If you are thinking of going that route, check out the Epox 8KDA3J mobo. I'm running that with an Athlon 64 3200+ and am very happy.

shamone_mo_fo
12-19-2004, 03:30 AM
I really want to go for the 64 bit but looking at the prices, I`m gunna need about 180 pounds for a new mobo and 3200 64bit.. with the xp3200 (non 64) I can get a new mobo and cpu for about 120 pounds, as I said my budget is very tight and im not too sure if I`ll even be able to afford the xp3200 and new mobo so might have to settle for just a new xp3000 to go my current mobo... Believe me, if there is any possible way I can go for 64bit then I will.. I`ll look at ebay.com and see if I could get a new cpu / mobo from the US. might work out cheaper... heading over there now...
Farcry runs great now as it is, with all settings on medium and res at 1024x768 im getting 35 - 55 fps outside and 50 - 120 fps inside...Its perfectly playable but I wanna turn up the eye candy and play it as it was ment to be played...
anyways... hopefully i`ll be able to pick up a 64cpu and mobo cheap but i`ll have to see what happens...
Thanks for the posts....

shamone_mo_fo
12-20-2004, 03:55 AM
Well... Ive made a purchase....
I got the xp3000, I couldn`t resist.. It was such a good deal I thought I`d better go for it!!!
Got the cpu from ebay for 61 inc postage... a good deal seen as most places are selling the same cpu for 85+, now i`ve got that sorted I`ll probs get myself a new 80gig drive to see if I can get rid of these boot problems Im having... Should be here tommorow so i`ll post when its installed to tell you If it helped...

DocSEAL
12-20-2004, 05:50 AM
yes, keep us posted http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

shamone_mo_fo
12-22-2004, 05:43 PM
Typical.....
Got my cpu from ebay... next day delivery...
3 days later still no cpu!!!
Should be here tommorow (hopefully)
Will post my results from a quick benchmark... got 5400 on 3dmark03 with my current setup so will post the new results tommorrow.. hopefully a decent increase...

shamone_mo_fo
12-23-2004, 03:43 PM
Hey...
Got the CPU.. got it installed no probs... everything seems to be running fine...
I can get to all high/very high settings at 1280x1024 and keep well over 35 - 40. It has made a massive difference in UT2004. Getting about a 20fps difference and Ive maxed out all settings @ 1280x1024. So Im happy with the performance Increase, I reckon I`ll be able to get a year out of this system now (as soon as I get a better H/D.)So I`ll have a happy xmas and hopefully santa will come knocking on my door with a brand spanking new copy of HL2... should keep me amused for a few days....he he....
Merry xmas all and thanks for your advice!!