PDA

View Full Version : Myst 10th Ann. Crashing



TheMcDuffster
11-30-2003, 03:35 PM
When playing Myst from the 10th Anniversary edition, it often crashes to the desktop. It appears to be quicktime related, because i get dropped back to the desktop and the taskbar shows myst running and also quicktime (within the same program group). But there is no way to get back into the game. I have uninstalled and then reinstalled the most recent version of quicktime. I have emailed tech support, but i'm wondering if anyone here has run into this same problem.

TheMcDuffster
11-30-2003, 03:35 PM
When playing Myst from the 10th Anniversary edition, it often crashes to the desktop. It appears to be quicktime related, because i get dropped back to the desktop and the taskbar shows myst running and also quicktime (within the same program group). But there is no way to get back into the game. I have uninstalled and then reinstalled the most recent version of quicktime. I have emailed tech support, but i'm wondering if anyone here has run into this same problem.

Fyrehawk
12-01-2003, 07:42 PM
What graphics card are you using? Are you running the latest drivers?


"There is a thin line between insanity and genius. I have erased this line".
--Oscar Levant

TheMcDuffster
12-01-2003, 10:13 PM
I have a GeForce 3 Ti 200, with the latest drivers.

maztec
12-02-2003, 04:39 PM
try playing the game in windows98 emulation mode.

Fyrehawk
12-02-2003, 05:59 PM
Assuming you're on XP http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


"There is a thin line between insanity and genius. I have erased this line".
--Oscar Levant

maztec
12-02-2003, 07:57 PM
or 2000...

Fyrehawk
12-02-2003, 08:03 PM
Where is compatibility mode on 2000?


"There is a thin line between insanity and genius. I have erased this line".
--Oscar Levant

shortmancom
12-03-2003, 12:37 AM
I was about 2 hours into the Myst anniversary DVD when it popped me to desktop and I hadn't saved at all. I was annoyed and so haven't started it up again yet, maybe never will. I'm using GeForce 4 TI4200. I crashed to desktop only once during Uru prime and didn't lose any progress thanks to autosave.

Fyrehawk
12-03-2003, 08:18 AM
shortman,
Are you running an AMD processor system?
Because if you are, there is a known issue with that processor and certain calls from DirectX.


"There is a thin line between insanity and genius. I have erased this line".
--Oscar Levant

maztec
12-03-2003, 10:31 AM
Fyrehawk -- except I have no problems with it and I'm AMD & DirectX.