PDA

View Full Version : Persistence of Vision

ChaoticCoyote
02-05-2004, 11:15 AM
I've been thinking about the end of Uru Live. Many people seem angry and bitter, making harsh accusations against Cyan.

I offer a different perspective.

The people at Cyan were (and I hope still are) idealistic visionaries. The original "vision", presented several years ago, eroded over time as reality chipped away at Cyan's goals.

During the "real" beta test last year, it was clear that Cyan's vision exceeded their grasp; nothing being said about Uru Live now is new to those of us who played in the beta last year. The second fall of D'ni was not brought about by a lack of programming prowess, but rather due to a matter of scale.

I program massively parallel systems for a living, and can envision what would be required to realize Cyan's vision. In essence, Cyan wanted to create a Star Trek-style holodeck, albeit one based on a single universe. It wasn't a matter of algorithms, but rather a case of computational horsepower.

From my first experiences, I doubted that Uru Live! would succeed, beause I couldn't see any economic model that would fund the kind of hardware required. Ten thousand people willing to pay even $100 each won't provide the kind of hardware and support required for the scope of Uru Live.

My frustration with Cyan is tempered by an understanding that they were pursuing a dream, and that they did not want to let cold reality destroy that dream. I don't fault people for trying attain the stars, and falling back -- I've been there and done that myself.

If you think it's hard for the fans to give up on their dream, consider what this must be doing to the people at Cyan.

ChaoticCoyote
02-05-2004, 11:15 AM
I've been thinking about the end of Uru Live. Many people seem angry and bitter, making harsh accusations against Cyan.

I offer a different perspective.