PDA

View Full Version : Blank book & character



Inonuttin
12-07-2003, 09:40 AM
I'm guessing it's my graphics card (Radeon FSC) -- I can see everything fine but my character is totally black and when I click on my book(s) there is only a black square on the screen. Any hints?

Inonuttin
12-07-2003, 09:40 AM
I'm guessing it's my graphics card (Radeon FSC) -- I can see everything fine but my character is totally black and when I click on my book(s) there is only a black square on the screen. Any hints?

xtruckers10
12-07-2003, 09:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Inonuttin:
I'm guessing it's my graphics card (Radeon FSC) -- I can see everything fine but my character is totally black and when I click on my book(s) there is only a black square on the screen. Any hints?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

what type of video card do you have and with how much memory? you will need at least 64 meg..

hippichiq
12-07-2003, 10:13 AM
I have the same problem, and can't figure it out!! I know it it has to be something simple... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Debbie http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

xtruckers10
12-07-2003, 11:05 AM
we really need to know some of the details for your video card, select run and type dxdiag this will give you an idea of what memory you have, let me know what you find and i may be able to help.. Brian

hippichiq
12-07-2003, 11:29 AM
Hi Brian,
I'm having a hard time telling exactly what I have, but I think it's a NVIDIA - Riva TNT2 vanta 16mb 2x card?

maztec
12-07-2003, 11:48 AM
Riva TNT2 is not adequate for playing this game. You may be able to pull it off, but you will find yourself with problems eventually.

If that is the case, it's time to upgrade.

You can find out more about what's in your system by checking out your dxdiag.

You are also welcome to post your dxdiag here.

Also, make sure you have shadows turned off in-game .. those may be the cause of that black problem on some systems.

hippichiq
12-07-2003, 12:08 PM
Ok, this is what I've found at the dxdiag...
Is this what you are looking for? There's a lot of info there. I tryed to pick out what might be useful.
Do you think a ATI Radeon 9600 Graphic Card would work with my system? Lokks like there's some good deals on eBay.
Everything seems to work except the people are black and things like the cones and books and whatever else might be important. It definitly does not look like the tv advertisments.

Thanx for trying to help.
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 12/7/2003, 11:56:46
Machine name: HPPAV
Operating System: Windows Me (4.90, Build 3000)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: 00101730 8860
System Model: 15294100001050
BIOS: Phoenix
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) Processor, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.0GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Page File: 264MB used, 1272MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0b (4.09.0000.0902)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 4.09.0000.0902 32bit

Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA Vanta/Vanta LT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type:
DAC type:
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_002C&SUBSYS_FFFE1043&REV_15\000800
Display Memory: 16.0 MB
Current Mode: 800 x 600 (16 bit)(optimal refresh rate)
Monitor: HP P1284A Pavilion MX90 Multimedia 19 inch Display
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nvdisp.drv
Driver Version: 4.13.0001.2832 (English)
DDI Version: 7
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 3/9/2002 10:53:00, 111360 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: *vdd
Mini VDD: nvmini.vxd
Mini VDD Date: , 0 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-436C-11CF-E378-FFDFB7C2C935}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x002C
SubSys ID: 0xFFFE1043
Revision ID: 0x0015
Revision ID: 0x0015
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
Deinterlace Caps: n/a
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

[This message was edited by hippichiq on Sun December 07 2003 at 11:37 AM.]

xtruckers10
12-07-2003, 12:38 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by hippichiq:
Hi Brian,
I'm having a hard time telling exactly what I have, but I think it's a NVIDIA - Riva TNT2 vanta 16mb 2x card?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hi again, looks like maztec is right youwill need to upgrade your video card min 64 meg, i recommend g-force 5200 128 meg, have a look around for the best price.. if you live in alberta you can get them pretty inexpensely..good luck..Brian

maztec
12-07-2003, 04:09 PM
Looks like your existing card is PCI.. you will want to check to see if you have an AGP slot to put an AGP card into -- most newer video cards are AGP. The Radeon 9600 would be just fine.

There's quite a few threads here with information on how to see if you have an AGP slot, use the search function http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

You can also get a PCI video card that's a Radeon 7200 or better or a nVidia GeForce of some type... That should work, newer the better.

hippichiq
12-07-2003, 04:12 PM
OH MY GAWD!!! I went and got that g-force 5200 128 meg that you recommended, and did that ever work like a charm. Totaly awesome!!!
Thanx so much for your help http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

maztec
12-07-2003, 04:26 PM
Glad to hear everything is working hippichiq

xtruckers10
12-07-2003, 05:08 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by hippichiq:
OH MY GAWD!!! I went and got that g-force 5200 128 meg that you recommended, and did that ever work like a charm. Totaly awesome!!!
Thanx so much for your help http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Great News, glad to help, hope you enjoy the game at new level now!! best regards.. Brian http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif