PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic Lighting missing... who knows why?



XyZspineZyX
01-23-2004, 07:31 PM
Hey all,

I haven't seen any posts concerning missing dynamic lighting (or dynamic shadowing). I've tried all the settings but on none of them I see the cool effects as in some of the screenshots and movies I've seen. To give an example: In the hallway at the end of the demo I have seen smoke and shadows on it of some grating that is positioned in front of some light... There are no lights in this hallway on my system and no cool lighting effects either... Does anyone know why this is? Has it sth to do with the same reasons that are responsable for the missing jeep and shark? (see http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_farcry_general&id=zzcfe).

Here is some screenshot of the mentioned hallway WITH the cool effects:

http://www.therealuntouchables.net/screenshots/farcry/demo/unreal/FarCry0015.jpg


-= A program is never finished; it just gets released =-

Message Edited on 01/23/0407:40PM by skauwnmokker

XyZspineZyX
01-23-2004, 07:31 PM
Hey all,

I haven't seen any posts concerning missing dynamic lighting (or dynamic shadowing). I've tried all the settings but on none of them I see the cool effects as in some of the screenshots and movies I've seen. To give an example: In the hallway at the end of the demo I have seen smoke and shadows on it of some grating that is positioned in front of some light... There are no lights in this hallway on my system and no cool lighting effects either... Does anyone know why this is? Has it sth to do with the same reasons that are responsable for the missing jeep and shark? (see http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_farcry_general&id=zzcfe).

Here is some screenshot of the mentioned hallway WITH the cool effects:

http://www.therealuntouchables.net/screenshots/farcry/demo/unreal/FarCry0015.jpg


-= A program is never finished; it just gets released =-

Message Edited on 01/23/0407:40PM by skauwnmokker

XyZspineZyX
01-23-2004, 07:36 PM
are these Dynamic Lighting?

http://bbs.gzeasy.com/uploads/post-1-1074686848.jpg


http://bbs.gzeasy.com/uploads/post-1-1074687032.jpg

XyZspineZyX
01-23-2004, 07:44 PM
Yep! Thats what I mean... See those TL light thingies on the ceiling?... None there when I do that on my machine... I have very low specs so thats probably why...

P3 750Mhz
Gforce 4 ti4200
latest drivers and all....

-= A program is never finished; it just gets released =-

XyZspineZyX
01-23-2004, 07:50 PM
one my friend uses Ti4200, he got Dynamic Lighting here as I did, Lighting Qualit option set to CUSTOM