PDA

View Full Version : First time user of Il-2 needs advice on patches, etc...

Hinomaru_Hawk
01-11-2004, 09:27 PM
Hi. This is my first time on here, so I'm not quite sure how the forum works yet. I bought the original Il-2 way back in early 2000 (I think), but did not have a fast enough computer to run it at the time. I love flight sims, so I waited for awhile. I now have a fast enough computer, and have loaded the game on...it appears to work fine. Now...

1. Which patches and downloads should I add to update the game? I see there are quite a bunch of them. Should I add all of them from the earliest first up to the most recent?

2. Which controller is best to use with Windows XP Home Edition? I have a Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback Pro which I was using with European Air War on the old computer, but I get a message that its drivers are not compatible with Windows XP...(sigh)

Can I get updated drivers for it, or do I simply have to get a newer joystick. And if so, which one? Should I consider getting a setup with both joystick and foot pedal rudder control?

That oughta do it for the moment...

Hinomaru_Hawk
01-11-2004, 09:27 PM
Hi. This is my first time on here, so I'm not quite sure how the forum works yet. I bought the original Il-2 way back in early 2000 (I think), but did not have a fast enough computer to run it at the time. I love flight sims, so I waited for awhile. I now have a fast enough computer, and have loaded the game on...it appears to work fine. Now...

1. Which patches and downloads should I add to update the game? I see there are quite a bunch of them. Should I add all of them from the earliest first up to the most recent?

2. Which controller is best to use with Windows XP Home Edition? I have a Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback Pro which I was using with European Air War on the old computer, but I get a message that its drivers are not compatible with Windows XP...(sigh)