PDA

View Full Version : What is PB good for anyway?



XyZspineZyX
11-29-2003, 03:12 PM
Well, maybe I'm stupid but I could really use an answer for this question. From my point of view, PB should detect and block cheaters and/or hackers from playing on servers using the PB protection agent. Am I right, or am I right?

Why am I asking the question? Because I have installed fresh copy of RvS, downloaded the latest patch and the PB agent and installed them as well. Then I started up the game made the UBI.com account, entered my CD-KEY and went forward to create a online game where I enabled the PB. After launching the server (not standalone or dedicated just hosted the game while I was playing myself) I got booted from it with a message from PB that I'm not authorised to play on that server! My server...

So what the hell is that?

XyZspineZyX
11-29-2003, 03:12 PM
Well, maybe I'm stupid but I could really use an answer for this question. From my point of view, PB should detect and block cheaters and/or hackers from playing on servers using the PB protection agent. Am I right, or am I right?

Why am I asking the question? Because I have installed fresh copy of RvS, downloaded the latest patch and the PB agent and installed them as well. Then I started up the game made the UBI.com account, entered my CD-KEY and went forward to create a online game where I enabled the PB. After launching the server (not standalone or dedicated just hosted the game while I was playing myself) I got booted from it with a message from PB that I'm not authorised to play on that server! My server...

So what the hell is that?

XyZspineZyX
11-29-2003, 04:44 PM
the PB servers have had a prob updating lately...I got the same thing from our server the other day

I joined another server....played a while then went back to ours without a prob

http://home.comcast.net/~mgirten/GJSIGTWL.jpg

XyZspineZyX
11-30-2003, 09:37 AM
you need to update your pb manually if you're having this problem. go to www.evenbalance.com (http://www.evenbalance.com) to get the latest update, and you should be fine. Your computer is pretty much checking with evenbalances server for hacks, and it noticed a version mismatch, so you just need to update.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid80/p1e620cd395c91d7e43083a19a0db6a20/fb058cbe.jpg

|OWNT|