PDA

View Full Version : cd/dvd emulation problem



tara41
03-27-2004, 11:58 PM
cant run game have uninstalled clone cd still wont work pc specs as follows
p43Ghz 800mhz fsb
512mb ddr400 ram
MSI 865PE motherboard
pioneer DVR-106 Multi format burner
FX5900 128Mb graphics card
80Gb hard drive

tara41
03-27-2004, 11:58 PM
cant run game have uninstalled clone cd still wont work pc specs as follows
p43Ghz 800mhz fsb
512mb ddr400 ram
MSI 865PE motherboard
pioneer DVR-106 Multi format burner
FX5900 128Mb graphics card
80Gb hard drive

Chrisps455
03-28-2004, 04:38 AM
If you have Nero, disable the image drive in CtrlPanel, also disable daeomon tools if you have it

You could also CD-Crack it, but i have heard this might ban you from MP :S

Old_Sweep
03-28-2004, 05:15 AM
I uninstalled CloneCD. And it helped....

Chrisps455
03-28-2004, 07:36 AM
TrippleDES says he has stopped the program from detecting CloneCD and D-Tools by locking parts of the registry - sounds a sensible way of doing things - try talking to him - he might write a batch file or prog for you to do it

Richie_B43
03-29-2004, 11:33 AM
Hi Guys,

Ubisoft Tech Support deals with Error Messages/Freezes caused by Alcohol 120% and/or CloneCD being detected. (No mention of Nero or any other similar programs).

It states that it is not necessary to uninstall the software, and that the game will work if the program(s) is/are simply disabled...and advise how this can be done. (nice Ubisoft http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif)


[www.ubi.com/uk > Support > Ubisoft Tech. Support Centre > FAQ's > Search (Select Product: Platform: pc / Title: Far Cry) > Error Msg/Freezes.]

Hope this of some help....

Richie.

[This message was edited by Richie_B43 on Mon March 29 2004 at 03:17 PM.]

wargasm718
03-29-2004, 12:12 PM
wouldn't be easier to create an account (winxp/win2k) install the program there and have all those cd burning proggies not be available on that account ?

Wargy
http://www.thelper.net

chrisp455
03-30-2004, 03:53 AM
Yes - it is slightly complicated by the fact that it needs to be run as admin

ccieslin
03-30-2004, 05:45 AM
Tara41? Ok just marry me ok!!!

Rolffen
03-31-2004, 09:54 AM
Hi. I have the problem too... I disabled the virtual drive. It still said: "Blah, blah disable DVD emulation". I then deleted the Virtual drive... Same f*cking problem... I AM ANGRY.

- Proffessional idiot

chrisp455
03-31-2004, 10:14 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Rolffen:
Hi. I have the problem too... I disabled the virtual drive. It still said: "Blah, blah disable DVD emulation". I then deleted the Virtual drive... Same f*cking problem... I AM ANGRY.

- Proffessional idiot<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Welcome to the club, you are member #2452656.

We will be sending you your club card soon, which entitles you to other great services, like not being able to play other games you have bought, non-existant tech support, and graphical glitches.

If you have any queries, please email support@ubi.com, but dont expect an answer anytime soon

Rolffen
04-01-2004, 06:35 AM
Heh. The game is twisted http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

1.
- When I bought the game, the security box thingy didn't want to open for 10 mins. so they broke it open.
2.
- When I isntalled the game, I couldn't play it because it wanted me to disable emulation software(Fixed by removing CloneCD, even though I didn't have a virtual drive enabled at the time)
3.
- It doesn't want to work with ATI unless you put all settings(almost all) to low. Joy. The colours also get funked up. It just restarted my PC too when my Radeon shut itself down...

- Proffessional idiot