PDA

View Full Version : How can I optimize gaming with my Radeon 9600xt?



jawmaster3000
04-18-2004, 12:07 PM
Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
512 mb ram
80 gb hard drive
ati radeon 9600xt
cable modem
samsung syncmaster 763 mb monitor

these are my specs; i just simply want to know how to optimize my graphics and performance.

my computer is basically top of the line and I am not getting very good FPS and quality. (in splinter cell)

jawmaster3000
04-18-2004, 12:07 PM
Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
512 mb ram
80 gb hard drive
ati radeon 9600xt
cable modem
samsung syncmaster 763 mb monitor

these are my specs; i just simply want to know how to optimize my graphics and performance.

my computer is basically top of the line and I am not getting very good FPS and quality. (in splinter cell)

BAM1942
04-18-2004, 01:05 PM
i dont know but the game runs smother on my 2 ghz 512 mb ram with a GF4 TI 4800 128 mb thna on my 3.2ghz 1 gig ram R9800 pro so there have to be sometihng strange myabee it will be fixed with new drivers ...

l3lack_Jesus
04-18-2004, 01:36 PM
yeah, make sure you have the latest catylist drivers from ati for your card. As i write this the current version is 4.4. I have similar specs with a 9500pro and the game run well at 1024 @ medium detail.

There is also a post on this forum on tweaking your default.ini file. I tried it and it worked very well. (same rez, better quality)

jawmaster3000
04-18-2004, 02:43 PM
the game runs pretty smoothly but the fps are kind of iratic and low.

they range from 30-65 fps

is this normal??

and also; does everyone else only get 32 fps in the multiplayer menus??

ViewtifulUly
04-18-2004, 02:57 PM
Yes, that is normal.

There's low demand areas, such as a single room with few light effects been carried out and only one character is inside, and there's high demand areas, such as the lobby in the cryogenics lab, where there are multiple characters, lots of lighting effects, and more detailed geometry. You are always going to have fluctuations in FPS whether you like it or not.

Welcome to PC Gaming, and it does show its face from time to time in console gaming as well.

the_dirty_harry
04-18-2004, 03:42 PM
here's an idea. get an nvidia card, haha.

jawmaster3000
04-18-2004, 03:58 PM
i dont think so; i like ATI

reeferkills
04-18-2004, 04:02 PM
turn graphics quality to low, it barely looks any different and it runs a lot faster.

jawmaster3000
04-18-2004, 08:53 PM
i know I can lower the quality, but i shouldn't have to do that with the computer and graphics card I have.

is it a programming flaw though more than my computer??

WoostaChris
04-18-2004, 09:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by jawmaster3000:
is it a programming flaw though more than my computer??<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I'm not sure I'd call the game's performance a programming flaw. They appear to do many complex calculations when in light-intensive areas, which slows down the framerate.

Many people on the forums have said that the PC version of PT is a direct XBox port (so Ubi developed the game for the XBox and ported it to the PC). This could explain why performance on the PC is less and optimal at times.

Would it be nice if things were optimized a bit more for the PC? Certainly. But those optimizations take time to develop and tweak.

We'll see if Ubi addresses the situation with future patches and updates.

let me add this: try some of the tweaks suggested in The Ultimate Tweak Guide (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=723100331&m=766100633&p=1) -- they may improve performance/FPS for you.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by jawmaster3000:
does everyone else only get 32 fps in the multiplayer menus??<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I haven't checked, myself, but others here have said the same thing. Are you really worried about the low framerates in the menus? I don't see a reason why the framerates need to be higher in the menus.