PDA

View Full Version : how do i make the b-17 flyable?



Superchicken
02-10-2004, 11:06 PM
ok in a missino builder the b-17 is there. and i can plop it down on the runway. but it's not flyable for some reason. if i put another plane with it. like the IL-2 it gives me the option to fly that but not the b-17. how do i make the b-17 flyable in the mission builder?

Superchicken
02-10-2004, 11:06 PM
ok in a missino builder the b-17 is there. and i can plop it down on the runway. but it's not flyable for some reason. if i put another plane with it. like the IL-2 it gives me the option to fly that but not the b-17. how do i make the b-17 flyable in the mission builder?

UMPA_Biggles
02-11-2004, 12:44 PM
You can't, the B-17 isn't a flyable plane - though it will be soon...

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://img1.photobucket.com/albums/v40/BigglesMKIII/big2.jpg
http://avanimation.avsupport.com/sound/Dbomb.wav <Click here and learn it well

plumps_
02-11-2004, 01:23 PM
B-17 has no cockpit and is AI only.

But there are several threads in this forum that explain how you can fly AI only aircraft in multiplayer dogfight missions.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

BP_Zip
02-14-2004, 11:57 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by superchicken:
ok in a missino builder the b-17 is there. and i can plop it down on the runway. but it's not flyable for some reason. if i put another plane with it. like the IL-2 it gives me the option to fly that but not the b-17. how do i make the b-17 flyable in the mission builder?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The B-17 actually will be flyable. There is a bit of a quirk in FB versus IL2. For some reason, you have to fly a regular plane from an airfield, before you can fly an AI one.

This assumes that you made the B-17 available by adding it to the list of planes at that airfield, by using notepad.

I have had some trouble with AI planes, as you described. Sometimes an AI plane will show up and be unflyable. In IL2, you could have externals off, and AI planes were flyable. Now, it seems as if externals must be on to have an AI flyable in a dogfight mission.

I was going to ask about this myself.

Zip

Superchicken
02-14-2004, 09:49 PM
thanks zip!

Schuck
02-20-2004, 09:57 AM
Do you meen how do you make it so you can fly it externally??? Is that what maybe you want to know? If so you can do this by clicking on your mission files and openning them with wordpad. Then just type B-17G in where it says Born Place i think and you will be able to fly it externally. Hope that helps.