PDA

View Full Version : FX 5600 Difficulties



csargemg
04-17-2004, 05:04 AM
I'm having two problems with my 64MB DDR GeForce FX5600.

First, I cannot see any of the movies. This is confusing me, as I've never had this difficulty anywhere else.

Second, I am getting odd graphical glitches...a little water 'breakthrough' and the reported problem that seems to be a big blotchy 2d patches showing up in front of the screen, blocking off the view.

I'm quite surprised that I've had these difficulties, as I played Far Cry with no problems whatsoever.

I'm running DirectX 9.0b, I have my desktop set to True Color (32 bit), I have the latest drivers from NVidia's page (the Forceware drivers, 56.72. I've got 512 megs DDR ram, a 2.2 GHz Pentium 4...I don't see why I should be having these glitches. Can anyone help?

Thanks

csargemg
04-17-2004, 05:04 AM
I'm having two problems with my 64MB DDR GeForce FX5600.

First, I cannot see any of the movies. This is confusing me, as I've never had this difficulty anywhere else.

Second, I am getting odd graphical glitches...a little water 'breakthrough' and the reported problem that seems to be a big blotchy 2d patches showing up in front of the screen, blocking off the view.

I'm quite surprised that I've had these difficulties, as I played Far Cry with no problems whatsoever.

I'm running DirectX 9.0b, I have my desktop set to True Color (32 bit), I have the latest drivers from NVidia's page (the Forceware drivers, 56.72. I've got 512 megs DDR ram, a 2.2 GHz Pentium 4...I don't see why I should be having these glitches. Can anyone help?

Thanks

csargemg
04-17-2004, 05:06 AM
Sorry, disregard. I don't know why it posted into here. Thought I was in the right section.

EsP_OzZie
04-17-2004, 07:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by csargemg:
64MB DDR GeForce FX5600.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Are you sure the GeForce FX5600 does a 64MB model. From what i know its only 128 and 256mb.

http://www.web-systems.co.uk/photos/610.jpg
My new tower case!

Subcidal
04-17-2004, 09:50 AM
ive never seen a 64 mb but my 128 5600 runs sc smooth as butter so i think you better check your graphics card because i dont think ge force has 64 mb 5600's

http://www.elitesoldiers.net/hosted/sig.jpg

jaysacount
04-18-2004, 04:34 PM
is your card a PCI card or an AGP card (PCI and AGP being the slop the card plugs in to) i had the same problem with max payne 2, u can only see movies if you have an AGP card on max payne 2, may be the same with Splinter cell PT

Colevant
04-18-2004, 04:40 PM
i hear so many people with crappier cards and comp specs saying games run smooth as butter all the time. Thats gotta be some bad eyesite alot of u have, cuase i can tell how bad this runs with my stuff that is better. maybe you have playd console games to long and it just seems alot smoother than those, but for people who play pc games alot, we can tell how bad a game actually runs. Smooth is like 60+ fps constnat.

MP Name(PC): CCCRRAAACCKKK

Subcidal
04-18-2004, 07:58 PM
ture that cole http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

http://www.elitesoldiers.net/hosted/sig.jpg
Taunt - "Sphank Teh Hippo"(c)