PDA

View Full Version : Resizing map dimensions?

Skybox
05-12-2004, 10:26 AM
This is my first attempt at map making (major props to the FarCry Devs for making SandBox so easy to use!). When I launched Sandbox I used the pre-selected size of (as I recall) 1024 x 1024. Unfortunately in relations to the game's actual environment I couldn't tell this was insanely large for a MP map until I placed my first palm tree.

Forgive me if this question has already been answered elsewhere. I'm writing this from work, so you know how that goes. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Is there anyway to increase or decrease the entire map's dimensions, whilst preserving the landscape and terrain?

Skybox
05-12-2004, 10:26 AM
This is my first attempt at map making (major props to the FarCry Devs for making SandBox so easy to use!). When I launched Sandbox I used the pre-selected size of (as I recall) 1024 x 1024. Unfortunately in relations to the game's actual environment I couldn't tell this was insanely large for a MP map until I placed my first palm tree.

Forgive me if this question has already been answered elsewhere. I'm writing this from work, so you know how that goes. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Is there anyway to increase or decrease the entire map's dimensions, whilst preserving the landscape and terrain?

Lo.TekK
05-12-2004, 10:37 AM
The best way to do this (I'm assuming from your post that you haven't placed any objects yet), would be to export the heightmap from the terrain dialogue (export to .RAW if you have photoshop, or .PGM if you have PaintShop Pro), and use your image editing app to resize the heightmap. Create a new map the size you want it, and import the resized heightmap.