PDA

View Full Version : HELP INSTALLING RADEON 9600xt



tru_flip56
07-22-2004, 04:20 PM
i have a POWERCOLO RADEON 9600xt ULTRA and i want to install it to my COMPAQ PRESARIO S6300NX...i have a little problem...when i put the card in it turns on but the monitor stays black...PLEASE..IF YOU HAVE A CPMPAQ PRESARIO AND INSTALLED AN ATI CARD>>>GIVE ME THE STEPS OF WHAT YOU DID>>>THANK YOU

tru_flip56
07-22-2004, 04:20 PM
i have a POWERCOLO RADEON 9600xt ULTRA and i want to install it to my COMPAQ PRESARIO S6300NX...i have a little problem...when i put the card in it turns on but the monitor stays black...PLEASE..IF YOU HAVE A CPMPAQ PRESARIO AND INSTALLED AN ATI CARD>>>GIVE ME THE STEPS OF WHAT YOU DID>>>THANK YOU

Useless Spammer
07-22-2004, 05:50 PM
Do you get any beeps? if so what type of bios do you have?

it sound like the card is not working to me. does it need separate power?

Athlon XP 2500+ (Barton)
MSI Geforce FX5200 @440Mhz
(a.k.a a **** graphics card)
Direct x 9b

'I'm giving you a warning. If you do it again, I'm kicking you'

gnogtr
07-22-2004, 07:44 PM
Check out your other post, I put you some info in there.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

tru_flip56
07-23-2004, 11:32 AM
gnogtr: i have already tried the bios...my manufacturar said i cound not turn off the onboard videocard...and Useless Spamer: I card is working fine, i think...when i turn it on it has a red light that shines bright and the fan turns on....its just that when i put it in the MONITOR stays Black..but the hardrive is on....PLEASE IF YOU HAVE INSTALLED A ATI CARD IN A COMPAQ PRESSARIO&gt;&gt;PLEASE GIVE ME THE STEPS...the card is new so i dont think its broken

gnogtr
07-23-2004, 04:14 PM
Well, that means that your agp slot is a dummy slot. If you can't turn off your onboard video card it's useless because the game won't play with any other card installed, so you'll have to get a new motherboard, but the problem with that is the fact it probably won't fit in your case. This is the reason you don't by Compaq/Hp/Gateway computers.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

Useless Spammer
07-23-2004, 05:00 PM
best bet is to build yr own - It is really very, very easy.

Don't feel too bad most of us made the mistake of buying pre-built machine at some point or other.

Athlon XP 2500+ (Barton)
MSI Geforce FX5200 @440Mhz
(a.k.a a **** graphics card)
Direct x 9b

'I'm giving you a warning. If you do it again, I'm kicking you'

&lt;img src="http://homepage.ntlworld.com/sa.cavanagh/coollogo_com_4082758.gif"&gt;

tru_flip56
07-23-2004, 09:11 PM
but it fits in the slot and everything...and the HP guy said that this card is compatible with this computer....

gnogtr
07-23-2004, 11:08 PM
It doesn't matter, if the game detects your onboard card it's going to continue to give you the GPF error because it's incompatable with your onboard card. A new motherboard isn't going to cost too much, but I have doubts that it'll fit in your current case, so you'll probably have to get a different case.

The only pre-built computer I've ever bought is my Alienware laptop, other than that I've always built my own systems. Heck, I even clean formatted my laptop because the Alienware OS caused my laptop to run hot believe it or not. I'll never buy a pre-built system. Period.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

tru_flip56
07-24-2004, 11:51 AM
ok that may be the case...but if there is anyone that has ever installed an ATI card on a Compaq then please tell me the steps you have taken,,,Thanks

gnogtr
07-24-2004, 02:04 PM
Well, somebody would have obviously replied by now, and the game won't work anyway, so it really doesn't matter.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

tru_flip56
07-26-2004, 06:21 PM
its still worth the try.....so if anyone can help me....this game should be compatible i have a 2800 AMD Anthlon XP Processor

friendly_skater
07-27-2004, 02:42 PM
Hi

I have HP Pavilion a250n and I bought and installed a Radeon 9600 XT taking out the old Geforce MX 440.

Works fine.

I simply installed it.

Uninstalled NVIDIA drivers, turned off comp, took out MX440, shoved in 9600XT, turned on comp, installed ATI drivers, updated to current drivers off the net, looking good on RVS, Splinter Cell 1 and 2, Farcry, pwns in Unreal 2004.

gnogtr
07-27-2004, 06:18 PM
Well, his problem is he doesn't have a take outable video card, his is integrated.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

tru_flip56
07-29-2004, 10:58 AM
yes, but when i contacted an hp expert he said that i cant just disable the card i have to disable all remain things that have to do with the card but i dont know which others are.....

gnogtr
07-29-2004, 11:38 AM
There are usually only two ways to disable it. The first is in the bios, and you said there was no way in there, and the other is a jumper. Look on your motherboard and see if you find a jumper that is labled "vga enable" and "vga disable" or something to that extent. It's possible to disable it in the hardware manager, but I don't know how well that will work because it'll still be in your dxdiag which the game reads. You're probably best spending $80 on a new motherboard...HP/Compaq sucks for computers, but they do make good printers/scanners.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

tru_flip56
08-01-2004, 09:56 PM
yeah that is very good advice but right now i spent all my money on the card....it isnt the game im having trouble with right now...its the freaking card which is annoying me..but i think uninstalling it would work but think its too risky...any help??

gnogtr
08-02-2004, 08:03 PM
What I gave you were ways on how to disable the onboard video card. I'm not sure your agp slot on your motherboard will take the card because I'm not sure your agp slot is real. More than likely you're going to have to get a new motherboard. Is it recognising the video card at all?

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

tru_flip56
08-02-2004, 11:50 PM
i dont really know....the harddrive turns on and i hear it starting and everything but its the monitor thats my problem....it juss doesnt wanna turn on..

gnogtr
08-03-2004, 03:16 PM
That means the 9600 is not getting any power, or your agp slot just doesn't work. I don't believe you have to hook that particular video card up to your powersupply, so I'm going for the agp thing. Get a new mobo, it'll be cheap. What kind of processor do you have? I'll recommed a good mobo that'll take your current hardware, also, is your ram DDR or RDram?

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

tru_flip56
08-05-2004, 01:55 PM
i have a 2800 AMD Antholon XP Processor

gnogtr
08-05-2004, 05:58 PM
Get an Asus A7V600, that's the best AMD board I've ever used or seen, and it's relativly cheap.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

jzorro
08-06-2004, 12:25 AM
My vote is for the Asus A7N8X. Excellent, stable board. There are several different versions of it depending on what features you do or do not want. Try at www.zipzoomfly.com (http://www.zipzoomfly.com) or www.newegg.com (http://www.newegg.com) .

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

gnogtr
08-06-2004, 10:37 AM
I'm a big fan of the VIA chipset, I'm not sure what chipset that board jzorro is talking about, but I can gurantee all Asus boards are great. I've never had a problem out of them.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

monkey boy
08-06-2004, 07:00 PM
I suggest in future you don't buy a pre-bilt machine. However since you have the guys at this lik are your best bet;

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/siteHomeC?lc=en&lang=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=top

Don't ask me I'm a monkey

monkey boy
08-06-2004, 07:02 PM
gnotr

the via chipset never works well with the nvidea drivers so i wouldn't recommend it. I guess you use radeon so would be ok. I fancy trying Nforce next

Don't ask me I'm a monkey

jzorro
08-06-2004, 08:30 PM
The Asus A7N8X is their Nforce 2 platform. I have an earlier verion of the Deluxe, but there are other versions with fewer features available. Here is the official site: http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/socketa/a7n8x-e-d/overview.htm I use the onboard sound which is said to be between Audigy and Audigy2 in quality. Mine does not have the WiFI or gigabyte Lan. Does inlcude dual channel DDR.

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

gnogtr
08-07-2004, 06:16 PM
....Uh, he's using a Radeon 9600 XT, I do believe that's an ATI card, not Nvidia. The reason I recommed the VIA is because Nvidia chipset and ATI cards don't seem to want to like each other...

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

jzorro
08-07-2004, 11:26 PM
I am using a Radeon 9700 (non pro) with it.

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

gnogtr
08-07-2004, 11:36 PM
Why are we turning this into an argument? I just like the VIA chipset, and in most tests it's faster. If you like the Nvidia chipset, that's fine, but it just seems weird to use an ATI card with a Nvidia chipset because you'll have Nvidia/ATI drivers installed, which with video cards would cause cat fights. I just see it as the principal of the whole thing, if you use Nvidia, get Nvidia, but don't mix and match, there's less compatability problems there, and vice versa. The VIA chipset for the AMD 64 boards is quite a bit faster than then Nvidia Nforce 3, so once again I chose to stick with the VIA, it's really a preference.

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

jzorro
08-08-2004, 02:48 AM
Sorry, no argument was intended. I was just presenting another option that works well for me. The NForce2 boards were the ones most often used to benchmark the Athlon XP chips, including with ATI cards, so that is one reason why I chose it. It has been very stable and I have encountered no problems with it. As far as I have read, you are quite right about the Via chipsets being better performers with the AMD Athlon 64s. The motherboard drivers are different from the video card drivers aren't they? Via is not AMD so if there would be problems with ATI/NForce2, would there also be problems with ATI/Via? Both cards should work on either board. You do want to be careful about removing all the old drivers if you change an ATI card for an NVidea (or vice versa) on the same board or that can cause conflicts. All I can say is that I have had had no problems and I cannot comment on Via boards since I have never used them. I did not say that there was anything wrong. You do have more experience with different computers than I do and I respect your opinion and knowlege.

Hi. It's me. Today's code is
0526-5173-3373-886
Pandora Tomorrow.
Good until tomorrow.

gnogtr
08-08-2004, 10:26 AM
Well, the reason I said that about Nvidia/VIA is because ATI and Nvidia are totaly competitors, unlike ATI and VIA, and yes, chipset drivers are different from video drivers. Like I said, it's just the principal of the whole thing....

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>

monkey boy
08-09-2004, 12:21 PM
I agree with GnoGtr although I may not have been clear.

I'd go for NForce with Nvidea as I always have prblems getting VIA and Nvidea up and running for some reason.

I would however have no problem with VIA and ATI and i guess would avoid Nforce due to competition issues already mentioned.

To be honest (and don't shout me down) I even found the SIS chipset on an asrock board pretty dam stable and easy to set up.For this latter reason I'd always say go for a cheap board or a decent rather than middle of the road.

Don't ask me I'm a monkey

gnogtr
08-09-2004, 08:27 PM
I agree, but I've never used SIS before, so I can't say anything about them, all I know is the ALI chipset is the worst chipset to ever use, and that's probably why they went out of business, I believe...

<a><center>My system:

AMD 64 3400+ @ 2.31Ghz
1 gig of Corsair TwinX DDR PC3200 RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @450, mem @735
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0b
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
SB Audigy 2 ZS
LiteOn DVD+/-RW drive
Plexwriter CD-RW
Maxtor Diamond 9 160GB SATA hdd
Westerndigital 40 gig, 100 gig harddrives
Asus K8T800 mainboard
Creative 5.1 surround system
Swiftech liquid cooling system

Additional PC version help:

http://www.pcgamessource.com

<font color=ff0000>XIII/Splinter Cell Tech/Beyond Good and Evil Tech Mods</font color=ff0000></a>
Drop me an Email (gnogtr@yahoo.com)</center>