PDA

View Full Version : Questions regarding Building



fromsweden
01-30-2004, 06:37 PM
1. Can I add passive flights to a dogfight map?

I tried to create a map with two homebase objects red and blue. But I also Added a Flight of 4 B17 to bomb a building. They started in the air and I added some waypoint for them bomb and land. But when I tested it by running a server alone they were not there.

To put it in another way, I want to add flying bots to a dogfight scenario.

Is this possible?

2. When I set waypoints how shall I know what time or speed I must set for the different waypoints? Do I have to set a speed? (I am thinking that if I dont set the speed the plane will default to the normal cruise speed for that plane, the waypoint in the missions in the DCG seems to be this way, of course there are no useful info in the manual on this subject)

3. Is there anyway to convert a mission saved in the QMB to an ordinary coop Mission?
(This should be highly possible to do even for a 3rd party since all files are in puretext)

fromsweden
01-30-2004, 06:37 PM
1. Can I add passive flights to a dogfight map?

I tried to create a map with two homebase objects red and blue. But I also Added a Flight of 4 B17 to bomb a building. They started in the air and I added some waypoint for them bomb and land. But when I tested it by running a server alone they were not there.

To put it in another way, I want to add flying bots to a dogfight scenario.

Is this possible?

2. When I set waypoints how shall I know what time or speed I must set for the different waypoints? Do I have to set a speed? (I am thinking that if I dont set the speed the plane will default to the normal cruise speed for that plane, the waypoint in the missions in the DCG seems to be this way, of course there are no useful info in the manual on this subject)

3. Is there anyway to convert a mission saved in the QMB to an ordinary coop Mission?
(This should be highly possible to do even for a 3rd party since all files are in puretext)

RxMan
01-30-2004, 08:47 PM
Self flying (AI) planes are not allowed in dogfight missions. Well you can put them in, but they ain't there! Save the mission as a coop and they will be there, and they will fly.

The QMB does not save a mission anywhere that I am aware of, therefore you cannot use it outside of the QMB, and you must regenerate it each time. Down load the excellent UQMB from Mudmovers or numerous other sites and have essentially a QMB that populates bases, makes targets and flights and saves them as both DF and COOP automatically. Couldn't ask for more than that!

http://home.att.net/~jsgary/rxlogo.gif

home page http://www.cox-internet.com/johnsgary

Zeus-cat
01-30-2004, 08:58 PM
It doesn't appear that you can convert .quick files to regular mission files. I opened one, but it looked nothing like a regular mission file. The amount of work needed to convert it would be more than simply creating it in the FMB from scratch.

Zeus-cat

plumps_
01-31-2004, 12:45 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>2. When I set waypoints how shall I know what time or speed I must set for the different waypoints?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

There's no simple answer to this question. You have to try until everything happens the way it should. You can choose the time only for one waypoint, the others will be calculated by the program.


Quick missions can be saved as "xxx.quick" files in the "Quicks" folder, but these don't have the normal mission format. They only list the aircraft, map and conditions chosen. The real mission files are hidden in the secret code.

This is a quick mission I saved (and play repeatedly):

[states]
head (altitude=9,defence=0,map=1,our=false,situation=1, target=0,timeH=12,timeM=0,weather=0)
wing0 (fuel=100,numberOn=[4,true,true,true,true],pilot=[4,,,,],plane=Fw-190A-9,planes=4,regiment=g01,skill=2,skin=[4,,,,],weapon=r22mk108)
wing1 (fuel=100,numberOn=[4,true,true,true,true],pilot=[4,,,,],plane=Fw-190A-9,planes=4,regiment=g01,skill=1,skin=[4,,,,],weapon=default)
wing2 (fuel=100,numberOn=[4,true,true,true,true],pilot=[4,,,,],plane=BI-1,planes=0,regiment=g01,skill=1,skin=[4,,,,],weapon=default)
wing3 (fuel=100,numberOn=[4,true,true,true,true],pilot=[4,,,,],plane=BI-1,planes=0,regiment=g01,skill=1,skin=[4,,,,],weapon=default)
wing4 (fuel=100,numberOn=[4,true,true,true,true],pilot=[4,,,,],plane=DB-3F,planes=4,regiment=r01,skill=1,skin=[4,,,,],weapon=10fab100)
wing5 (fuel=100,numberOn=[4,true,true,true,true],pilot=[4,,,,],plane=Pe-3bis,planes=4,regiment=r01,skill=1,skin=[4,,,,],weapon=2fab1002fab50)
wing6 (fuel=100,numberOn=[4,true,true,true,true],pilot=[4,,,,],plane=Pe-3bis,planes=4,regiment=r01,skill=1,skin=[4,,,,],weapon=2fab1002fab50)
wing7 (fuel=100,numberOn=[4,true,true,true,true],pilot=[4,,,,],plane=La-5F,planes=4,regiment=r01,skill=1,skin=[4,,,,],weapon=default)

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

Tully__
01-31-2004, 01:56 AM
A QMB file only contains your start choices, not an actual mission file, so there is no way to convert it. It's not that hard to recreate it in FMB though if you watch where the enemy aircraft fly and avoid contact to work out what their course and objectives are.

=================================================

http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg (http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm)

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)


Salut
Tully