PDA

View Full Version : 56Ker wants to fly



S77th-Ryke
01-10-2004, 03:04 PM
Hi everyone

I'd like to fly online but I'm unfortunately on a 56K. I'm sure I can t be the only one out there. Is there a server on Hyperlobby that accepts laggy connections ?

Yeah I lag but I can still have fun 3 minutes out of 5.

I regret the fact that people with bad connections get asked to leave or worse get kicked out of most servers out there but I totally understand (not saying I wouldn't discriminate if I get HI-speed too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )
I shot down quite a few fighters despite my bad connection. Yes sometimes I m warping for minutes (don't waste ur ammo on the Klingon ship) but when I come back and manage to get on someone's 6 and shoot his ride out from under him, it is still very exciting.

Just trying to have fun out there without ruining the perfect day of some Hi speed connection user http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

So if there are some 56Kers out there please let me know.
I fly under the nick ryke on HL
(there s one for the blacklist http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

T.E.C.-MADMAX
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Asus P4S533 MB
Pentium IV 1.6A@2.4 GHZ
2X 512Mb DDR333 @ 4:5
MSI GeForce 4 TI 4400 @302/652
HD 80 Gig
X45
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b

S77th-Ryke
01-10-2004, 03:04 PM
Hi everyone

I'd like to fly online but I'm unfortunately on a 56K. I'm sure I can t be the only one out there. Is there a server on Hyperlobby that accepts laggy connections ?

Yeah I lag but I can still have fun 3 minutes out of 5.

I regret the fact that people with bad connections get asked to leave or worse get kicked out of most servers out there but I totally understand (not saying I wouldn't discriminate if I get HI-speed too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )
I shot down quite a few fighters despite my bad connection. Yes sometimes I m warping for minutes (don't waste ur ammo on the Klingon ship) but when I come back and manage to get on someone's 6 and shoot his ride out from under him, it is still very exciting.

Just trying to have fun out there without ruining the perfect day of some Hi speed connection user http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

So if there are some 56Kers out there please let me know.
I fly under the nick ryke on HL
(there s one for the blacklist http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

T.E.C.-MADMAX
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Asus P4S533 MB
Pentium IV 1.6A@2.4 GHZ
2X 512Mb DDR333 @ 4:5
MSI GeForce 4 TI 4400 @302/652
HD 80 Gig
X45
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b

mateo_sbi
01-10-2004, 06:37 PM
you guys pay what, $20 or $25 a month for dial-up? SBC/Yahoo DSL is like $25 a month for the first year and then it goes to $30 a month, still WELL worth it....there's also wireless DSL, satellite internet and cable...plenty of hi-speed options

56k is very quickly fading away

and NO i'm not a spokesman for SBC/Yahoo, but my friend has it and we had 5 people on his DSL connection playing online games and downloading and it's great.....slightly less great than my 5.5mb cable connection, but would be my second choice

-BoneZ-

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid67/p8d8d3d713885380afc2bbb9db339f1c1/fbc94798.jpg

VFA-195 Moses
01-10-2004, 06:41 PM
Most good servers are gonna be running at 28.8k. so you should be ok to join and fly with most just look at the servers.

go pickup hyperlobby
http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz

Then come have some fun

http://www.vfa105.com/images/moses195sig.jpg

JohnB79
01-10-2004, 06:46 PM
I'm on 56k aswell, solely because ADSL is not available where I am yet.

I did a few missions last night and everything seemed to run pretty well.

Only problem I had was when I was following one of my team mates to the runway, had a big of lag, during which time he had held short of the runway that I could not see, and I ran straight up his coit.

Both of us requiring punch out http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

JohnB

instigador
01-10-2004, 08:50 PM
There's nothing like RoadRunner Cable.............

I can download a 80 meg video in no time flat.. I'm so freaking happy with my 39 dollars a month on it...


;{

mateo_sbi
01-10-2004, 09:00 PM
i have comcast and i downloaded a 200mb file the other day in about 45 seconds at 378kb/s!!!

comcast is having alot of ping problems and if they don't get it fixed soon, i'm going to dsl, but lately it's been good...

$39 huh? i pay $45

-BoneZ-

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid67/p8d8d3d713885380afc2bbb9db339f1c1/fbc94798.jpg

LTKennedy
01-10-2004, 09:06 PM
I think people these days need to understand that if someones not on Cable or DSL.....its probably not due to the price. Alot of people simply cant get it due to location. I had DSL for 6 years then had to move just 3 miles out of town.....to far for DSL from any provider due to older lines. I got Sattelite (2way) to ease my pains but gaming on SAT is a no go due to crazy latency on the upswing. Dont get me wrong...its not slow, on a download from a good site I can hit 1400KBS ( average 300 to 400kbs) but it wont game worth a darn =(

Anyway...Im not complaining nor trying to put anyone in ther place. =) I feel your pain Dial ups....atleast you can play a laggy game...I cant even get that far lol.

* looks up at the stars* " someday Im gonna make it big and move back into the city" * sighs* "then I'll show em"
LOL

AMDxp2700
XP pro
1gigDDR333
HD30gigHD160gigs
FX5900Ultra(52.16) DX9
SB5.1W/livedrive.LogitechZ-680
400watt ATX
X45

Capt_January
01-10-2004, 09:24 PM
It doesn't seem to matter how fast your connection is since servers will only allow you to connect at 28.8k. Anything faster and people start "warping" all over the map eventually crashing the server. I have dsl but have been connecting at 28.8k and was surprised to see that it's actually playable at this connection speed. If in a future patch they address the warping bug allowing people to connect at a faster rate I would imagine that connecting at 56k would be pretty good since 28k is playable....

Ed_the_sock
01-10-2004, 10:43 PM
I have wondered why cable/dsl have such better ping times than dialups. I understand the huge bandwidth increase, but not the ping times.

JohnB79
01-10-2004, 11:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Capt_January:
If in a future patch they address the warping bug allowing people to connect at a faster rate I would imagine that connecting at 56k would be pretty good since 28k is playable....<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it"

JohnB

warningtone
01-10-2004, 11:14 PM
sorry to say you will not be flying with 56k
dude get real

T.E.C.-Leader
01-10-2004, 11:29 PM
Hey guys, I live 30 secs from Madmax`s place and believe me : if broadband was available here, we wouldn`t waist our time on that freakin` 56gay dial-up... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Should come soon but we hear that since 1 year from the phone company so...I sure miss mom`s place for that! (Only for that though http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif)

T.E.C.-Leader
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Pentium IV 2.8C FSB800Mhz Hyper-Threading
ASUS P4C800-Deluxe (bios v1014)
2X 512Mb DDR400 (PC3200) Dual Channel
ASUS Radeon 9800XT/TVD 256Mb DDR (Asus v7.95 WHQL)
Maxtor 80G 7200RPM
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy XGamer
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b

Indy_BIA
01-10-2004, 11:34 PM
I feel for you guys without broad band. I remember that it took 1 year to get broad band and the people right across the @#)!@(#!@ street had it. I was @#($#@ ticked. I mean come on it's right across the street and i had to wait a year.

It seems odd for most but there are still areas that don't have broad band access. As a matter of fact 12 streets up from me is still not hooked up with high speed.

S77th-Ryke
01-10-2004, 11:58 PM
Thanks for all the feedback guys, just got back from T.E.C.-Leader's place... good Lomac good coffee http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

that s the only advantage of dial up you get to see your friends if you wanna play.
------------
mateo_sbi ------- thanks man for all the options but no good it s the local line to the central I guess not up to par yet... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

------------
Moses_195th ---- yeah sounds good but most will kick you the second time you go to warp 10
------------

JohnB79 ------ are you on HyperLobby ?

----------------

T.E.C.-MADMAX
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Asus P4S533 MB
Pentium IV 1.6A@2.4 GHZ
2X 512Mb DDR333 @ 4:5
MSI GeForce 4 TI 4400 @302/652
HD 80 Gig
X45
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b

S77th-Ryke
01-11-2004, 12:08 AM
Those posting their amazing download speeds... don't make me come up there and ***** slap you... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

---------------------
LTKennedy ---- thanks for the sympaty man ...you wouldn' happen to know where I could buy like 8 km of good cable ?
--------------

Capt_January--------- yeah it's surprising we can play good at those speeds... the problem is the ISP has trouble keeping even that slow connection stable with the ****ty hardware they have up on those poles... making my life miserable...

Ahh well gonna take LTKennedy 's trick sell the house move back to the city...

-------------
warningtone --------- lot s of people are doing very well on dial up... I m not one of them http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

---------------------

T.E.C.-MADMAX
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Asus P4S533 MB
Pentium IV 1.6A@2.4 GHZ
2X 512Mb DDR333 @ 4:5
MSI GeForce 4 TI 4400 @302/652
HD 80 Gig
X45
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b

StrikeWolf
01-11-2004, 04:11 AM
I,m the same..I live in a small village and just cant get Broadband http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif ..but everytime I,ve tried to play on Hyperlobby I,ve been kicked straight away before I,ve even really even been in the air ..

I can understand it ..but at least I,d make an easy target being a noob an all http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif


Wolfhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

POS http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif 1 gig Athlon ,256mb sdram,Herculues 9800SE .

Hertston
01-11-2004, 05:50 AM
Couple of points, that tend to get forgotten now that broadband is so much more widely available.

First, don't forget that there is "56k" and there is "56k". You SHOULD be able to get perfectly playable, steady connection to at least some servers, with reasonable pings. But you need a good modem (go read some reviews) and that invariably means buying one, not putting up with the internal winmodem garbage that ships with most machines. You also need a good ISP (read more reviews), so forget AOL for a start - the ultimate gaming nightmare. There are also a few "tweaks" you can do to improve things.

Second, dont overlook ISDN is broadband is not available. I used the BT (UK) service for a while (until my town finally reached the BB threshold) and it's terrific - gaming pings are only a little higher than BB (maybe 15-20%, no more) and there's a world of difference between even a rock-solid 64k and anything dial-up will give you.

S77th-Ryke
01-11-2004, 10:07 AM
StrikeWolf------------ man I sympatise.. we should start an all 56K server... now who will host us on broadband http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

--------

Hertston --------- your absolutely right... on and off I spent at least 1 month full time just trying to solve that issue... I m on a HSF modem I think they call it ..better than win modem but not as good as a real hardware witch I tried BTW, returned it since it did nothing more than the old softK56 I' using...

tried every tweak in the book from testing 100 drivers and ini strings... port settings and packet settings and even running bigger wire straight to the phone line inbox to the house... not saying I'm not open to new ideas tho http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

quote;
_________________________
Hertston said ; Second, dont overlook ISDN is broadband is not available. I used the BT (UK) service for a while (until my town finally reached the BB threshold) and it's terrific - gaming pings are only a little higher than BB (maybe 15-20%, no more) and there's a world of difference between even a rock-solid 64k and anything dial-up will give you.
_____________________________

what is BB ? = broadband ? BT ? and if I understand you correctly you mean I can dial in to a broadband ISP ? and get a better connection even if the phone lines here don't support HI-speed ?

T.E.C.-MADMAX
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Asus P4S533 MB
Pentium IV 1.6A@2.4 GHZ
2X 512Mb DDR333 @ 4:5
MSI GeForce 4 TI 4400 @302/652
HD 80 Gig
X45
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b
pushing yesterday's technology until it smells like something's burning just so I have a good reason to upgrade...

S77th-Ryke
01-11-2004, 01:39 PM
Any 56K ers up for a fight or coop tonite ?

T.E.C.-MADMAX
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Asus P4S533 MB
Pentium IV 1.6A@2.4 GHZ
2X 512Mb DDR333 @ 4:5
MSI GeForce 4 TI 4400 @302/652
HD 80 Gig
X45
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b
pushing yesterday's technology until it smells like something's burning just so I have a good reason to upgrade...

T.E.C.-Leader
01-11-2004, 02:56 PM
Hey MAD this is a SIG test as well as a BUMP for you...If it works, how do ya like it???

T.E.C.-Leader
http://www3.sympatico.ca/001informatique/tec/TECsig.jpg
My System Specs (http://www3.sympatico.ca/001informatique/tec/TECspecs.html)

S77th-Ryke
01-11-2004, 03:26 PM
T.E.C.-Leader------ VFN very fu**ing nice

now you've done it... I'm going to have to reinstall photoshop http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

I like the system specs too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

T.E.C.-MADMAX
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Asus P4S533 MB
Pentium IV 1.6A@2.4 GHZ
2X 512Mb DDR333 @ 4:5
MSI GeForce 4 TI 4400 @302/652
HD 80 Gig
X45
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b
pushing yesterday's technology until it smells like something's burning just so I have a good reason to upgrade...

Hertston
01-12-2004, 10:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>quote;
_________________________
Hertston said ; Second, dont overlook ISDN is broadband is not available. I used the BT (UK) service for a while (until my town finally reached the BB threshold) and it's terrific - gaming pings are only a little higher than BB (maybe 15-20%, no more) and there's a world of difference between even a rock-solid 64k and anything dial-up will give you.
_____________________________

what is BB ? = broadband ? BT ? and if I understand you correctly you mean I can dial in to a broadband ISP ? and get a better connection even if the phone lines here don't support HI-speed ?

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sorry, BB = broadband, BT = "British Telecom".. still by far the largest UK telecommunications company.

I was talking about ISDN, "Integrated Services Digital Network". It allows digital access using standard telephone lines and in the UK (I have no idea about the US) has something like 98% availability - broadband is around 75% ish currently.

You pay more than for a standard line , but get a solid 64k connection (that can be doubled using two lines - they always install two). Excellent pings compared to 56k as you have the digital line, but without the bandwith of broadband, so downloads are nowhere near as fast. Still easily double that of dial-up though... I used to get about 30 MB or so an hour whe downloading from Fileplanet.

S77th-Ryke
01-12-2004, 11:56 AM
Hertston thanks for the reply

I'look into it but from what they tell me at bell is that the local central doesn't have the technology yet for Hi-speed..

now does that mean that ISDN, "Integrated Services Digital Network is available well I can't wait to see

I'll keep you posted

T.E.C.-MADMAX
Tactical*Elite*Corps
Asus P4S533 MB
Pentium IV 1.6A@2.4 GHZ
2X 512Mb DDR333 @ 4:5
MSI GeForce 4 TI 4400 @302/652
HD 80 Gig
X45
Windows XP Professionnal SP1
DirectX v9.0b
pushing yesterday's technology until it smells like something's burning just so I have a good reason to upgrade...