PDA

View Full Version : 733 MHz?



XyZspineZyX
12-01-2003, 09:51 PM
Will Raven shield work with a cpmputer with only 733 MHz?

XyZspineZyX
12-01-2003, 09:51 PM
Will Raven shield work with a cpmputer with only 733 MHz?

XyZspineZyX
12-01-2003, 09:57 PM
http://www.raven-shield.com/system_reqs.php Hope this helps.

http://wayoutwest.ugs1.com

XyZspineZyX
12-01-2003, 10:42 PM
Systems specs mean nothing. Dont go by them. This game is a huge resource hog. Your 733 mhz will run the game but it wont we smooth. It will most liky be choppy or jerky. You will need 1700 MHZ min to play this game at a level that you can enjoy.

XyZspineZyX
12-01-2003, 11:56 PM
well actually, i have a 1500mhz (1.5ghz) pentium 4 and the game runs great! in the beginning of a mission it is a LITTLE jerky, but an upgrade to 512mb of ram will fix that. i set my game resolution to 800x600 and there was no jerky difference. the graphics card also helps. i have an ati radeon 9000pro 128mb, but my current 256mb of memory is what's causing the jerkiness, not the speed of the processor. i know this for a fact because i shut down all unnecessary background programs that take up memory and that always helps (rarely are any of the programs using the processor).

nevertheless, a few hundred more mhz would be better than 733mhz.

XyZspineZyX
12-02-2003, 12:00 AM
background apps also use processor power, so you know. Shutting down background apps frees up your entire system, not just memory or processor, it also frees up your hard drive if they are writing to it, and it frees up sound card performance too if it's using that. Everything is using more than one aspect of your system, just so you know. this game is a processor hog, but you will be able to run it fine on a 1500 mhz pentium 4 or a 1800+ athlon. It also depends on the video card as well. But 733 mhz, I won't hold my breath. 600x400 resolution with low settings maybe, but you'll be shooting at pixels, not sprites.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid80/p1e620cd395c91d7e43083a19a0db6a20/fb058cbe.jpg

|OWNT|

XyZspineZyX
12-02-2003, 12:43 AM
you dotn need a 1.5 ghz or over. i can run it quite well on a 1 ghz p3. so hush up

http://webpages.charter.net/wavweb/Picture1.jpg

_____________________________________
http://www.pogies.com/nelokayaksusa/wwwhtml/contents/compt_int_c1.htm
My dream canoe/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif (link above)
i just need $2400/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

XyZspineZyX
12-02-2003, 02:16 AM
733 is pretty low, but playable. Single player anyway, probably not multi.

<embed src="http://mangoplatoon.thecombatzone.net/personal/ryan/Ryan.swf" width="300" height="100">
A Member of The Combat Zone Network Gaming Ladders and Staff
http://www.thecombatzone.net

XyZspineZyX
12-02-2003, 02:22 AM
thats true, I ran it quite well for a while on 1.3 P4 and a 32mb gf-2. Admittedly I did have a fair bit of RAM(640mb) but RAM is cheap.

<hr>

<MARQUEE BGCOLOR="#FG0000" LOOP="infinite"
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif <font size="6">[b]Any Time, Any Where, Your Pizza Will Be There /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
12-02-2003, 02:38 AM
I used to play it on a P3 733, my brother still plays it on a 733. It works...but I had 384mb of RAM so that helped too and a Radeon 9200 upgrade helped a bit too. You won't get super textures or visuals...but it can run fairly decently most of the time.

Depends on how well you run your system too...even the P4 3.2ghz won't run games properly if you've clogged the OS up with TSR's and crap.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/temp_sig.jpg
"Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few." - Winston Churchill

XyZspineZyX
12-02-2003, 05:20 AM
The first game I could not get to run on my original computer (which was a Pentium Pro 200) was Ghost Recon. In fact, the only reason I really built a new box was so I could play that (and future) game(s). http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

<TABLE ALIGN=LEFT BORDER=0 CELLPADDING=5 CELLSPACING=5 RULES=NONE COLS=2 WIDTH=80%>
<TR><TD>http://mywebpages.comcast.net/jakal30/nightsig.gif </TD>
<TD><font color=white size=-2>"...the Goddess could not spend all Her time persuading the
Kings and Queens of the world of the idiocy of war. Therefore
She invented tacticians..." - Diane Duane</font></TD></TR>
</TABLE>